YDL2020 FOR YOUNG SCIENTISTS

On February 24, Yessenov Data Lab (YDL) starts accepting applications to the third summer school. The students will be 20 winners of the competition. This year, the Shakhmardan Yessenov Sciense and Education Foundation invites young scientists and students studying natural and technical sciences rather than IT-specialists.

IT community of Kazakhstan was deeply suprprised with the news that this year’s contest would be held without the participation of their representatives. As the Foundation explained, its experts analyzed the results of the first two schools and the market situation, concluding that it is more than saturated with similar schools for data analysts.

– We’ve held some research and found out that our young scientists need the skills of analysts today — that is the target group that we worked with before in a number of other programs, – said Toktar Yeskendirov, a recently appointed YDL program coordinator.

The Program Provisions will be published on the Foundation’s website 2 weeks before the start of the competition. No age restrictions will be established for participation. Most importantly, the skills that the school will give must be sought for in the market as a matter of fact for the grant applicant to carry out scientific activities, which should be covered in a short essay. Graduates of the school will gain programming skills in Python, data preprocessing and preparing them for subsequent analysis, data visualization, forecasting, understanding various training algorithms, the right choice of a research model, they will receive a fundamental understanding of the operation of neural networks.

– As part of the Yessenov Data Lab, these young people will also learn how to present the results of their research and perform self-presentation. The task of this year’s summer school, which will last for 5 weeks, is to provide young scientists with tools that they can use in future work. We are hopeful this will help our young scientists reach the same professional level as that of foreign colleagues, – Toktar added.

YDL Summer School will be held from June 15 to July 17 at al-Farabi KazNU. Acceptance of applications will close on March 15, the first round – by March 30, the final – by April 22. The Foundation will announce the winners of the competition by May 1. Before late February, the Foundation will identify partner companies and summer school teachers representing them. It should be noted that the lectures in the first two YDL schools were delivered by employees of EPAM Systems, Yandex, AGT International, E-lama.ru, Assaia, BigData Team and ClearScale.

31.01.20, Newsfeed

Seen by: 2,439

Другие новости

YDL2020 ДЛЯ МОЛОДЫХ УЧЕНЫХ

24 февраля стартует прием заявок в третью летнюю школу Yessenov Data Lab (YDL). Ее учениками станут 20 победителей конкурса. В этом году научно-образовательный фонд им. академика Ш.Есенова приглашает к участию не IT-специалистов, а молодых ученых и студентов, изучающих естественные и технические науки.

Шоком для казахстанской IT-общественности стало известие, что конкурс этого года пройдет без участия ее представителей. Как пояснили в фонде, его специалисты проанализировали результаты первых двух школ и ситуацию на рынке, придя к выводу, что он более чем насыщен аналогичными школами для аналитиков данных.

— Мы провели небольшое исследование и выяснили, что в навыках аналитиков сегодня нуждаются наши молодые ученые – та целевая группа, с которой мы работали и раньше по ряду других программ, — рассказал недавно назначенный координатор программы YDL Токтар Ескендиров.

Положение о программе будет опубликовано на сайте фонда за 2 недели до начала конкурса. Никаких ограничений по возрасту для участия не будет. Самое важное, что навыки, которые даст школа, должны быть действительно необходимы претенденту на грант для осуществления научной деятельности, о чем он должен будет написать небольшое эссе. Выпускники школы приобретут навыки программирования на языке Python, предварительной обработки данных и подготовки их для последующего анализа, визуализации данных, прогнозирования, понимания различных алгоритмов обучения, правильного выбора модели исследования, получат фундаментальное понимание работы нейронных сетей.

— В рамках Yessenov Data Lab ребята также научатся презентации результатов своих исследований и самопрезентации. Задача летней школы этого года, которая продлится 5 недель, — дать молодым ученым инструментарий, который они смогут применять в дальнейшей работе. Мы надеемся, это поможет нашим молодым ученым выйти на один профессиональный уровень с зарубежными коллегами, — добавил Токтар.

Летняя школа YDL пройдет с 15 июня по 17 июля в КазНУ им. аль-Фараби. Прием заявок завершится 15 марта, первый тур – к 30 марта, финальный – к 22 апреля.  Победителей конкурса фонд объявит к 1 мая. До конца февраля фонд определит компании-партнёры и представляющих их преподавателей летней школы. Напомним, в первых двух школах YDL преподавали сотрудники EPAM Systems, Yandex, AGT International, E-lama.ru, Assaia, BigData Team и ClearScale.

31.01.20, Новости

Просмотров: 946

Другие новости