YESSENOV LAUNCH PAD: PURSUING EDUCATION

The Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation starts accepting applications for the Yessenov Launch Pad Program on April 15. 10 winners of the contest will receive grants for additional training to develop both flexible, supra-professional (soft) skills and highly specialized, professional (hard) skills. Who can submit an application and how to do it? What is the contest’s procedure? And what are the benefits of winning the contest? Aigerym Sultan, Program Coordinator, explains.

Aigerym, who can participate in this contest, and what is the deadline for application submission?
We accept applications within a month from April 15 to May 16. As usual, applications are accepted online on our website. Citizens of Kazakhstan who are over 18 years of age can participate in the contest. They should be final and penultimate year undergraduates, master’s students, doctoral students or working professionals.

What specialties are we talking about?
Students and professionals in the field of natural sciences, mathematics, statistics, information and communication technologies, engineering, manufacturing and construction industries can apply to the Yessenov Launch Pad. The full list of specialties, application submission instructions and information on how the contest will be held, is available in the Program Provisions published on the website yessenovfoundation.org.

Who will have a better chance of winning the Foundation’s grant for additional training?
Candidates who will evidently demonstrate their intellectual potential, desire for self-improvement, relevance of the requested additional education for their career, responsibility and focusing on efficiency.

Many people still don’t clearly distinguish between hard skills and soft skills, but this is important for winning the competition, because the Yessenov Launch Pad Program aims at developing these particular skills…
You are right, once again another reminder is necessary. Hard skills are related to a particular professional field, speciality, while soft skills are supra-professional skills. Let me give some examples. First of all, it depends on speciality, but I would like to add the following. Foreign language and computer programs proficiency, copywriting, editing and proofing, fundamental knowledge of marketing, general literacy, driving skills – these are all hard skills. Punctuality, time management, critical thinking, resilience, self-discipline, creativity, flexibility are soft skills, abilities that help you work better, more effective and faster.

What is the procedure of the competition?
The contest will be traditionally held in 3 stages. Their content and time frame are described in detail in the Program Provisions. By May 28, we will complete the first stage – assessment of applications. Approximately 20 selected finalists will be invited for an interview which will be conducted by members of the Foundation’s Expert Council. We plan to make a decision and announce 10 winners by June 7. We will publish a list of them, as usual, on the website and social media.

Aigerym, what the Expert Council members will take into account in selecting the winner?
Professional skills, first of all. Then the ability to learn and quickly and efficiently assimilate and analyze new information, determination, adaptability, communication skills and the ability to find non-standard solutions in various situations, a well-reasoned position, emotional intelligence, and not only that.

What happens after the 10 winners are selected?
We will conclude an agreement with them. The winners are to search for a course (surely with our consulting assistance) and coordinate it with us. Our experts will evaluate the level of the selected courses. If we approve the courses, the funds will be transferred to the participant. So the Yessenov Launch Pad winner should receive training on requested additional education within the period specified in the agreement. Our coordination is needed in order to protect our winners from fraudulent, ineffective courses or those with a low level of education, lack of a clearly defined training program, etc.

Please give 2-3 examples of the Program winners success stories, when taking courses helped them in their future careers?
The program started in 2022, so there were only two contests. In the initial years we also allocated 10 grants, but, apparently, due to low awareness of the Program and its benefits, we selected 5 and 9 winners respectively. As a result, for two years there were 14 winners. The first year’s winner, Kuat Madeniyet, took the Data Engineer course from Yandex Practicum. Within two months since the start of the training he simultaneously received a job offer from two leading banks in Kazakhstan and accepted one of them. Aida Sagandykova took courses on Docker Containerization, algorithms and data structures from Okdara.School. She also received training to be a Node.js Developer from itProger. Having completed the last one, Aida also found an interesting job. Yerzhan Umirzakov completed Start ML course from Karpov Courses, got a grant for training and a PhD in statistics scholarship at Boston University. The winners of the second year of the Program continue their education in the chosen courses.

We wish you to successfully run the Third Yessenov Launch Pad contest!

 

 

9.04.24, Newsfeed

Seen by: 219

Другие новости

YESSENOV LAUNCH PAD: ОБРАЗОВАНИЕ ПРОДОЛЖАЕТСЯ

15 апреля Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation начинает приём заявок в программу Yessenov Launch Pad (в переводе «стартовая площадка»). 10 победителей конкурса получат грант на дополнительное обучение, как гибким, надпрофессиональным (soft skills), так и узкоспециализированным, профессиональным навыкам (hard skills). Кто может подать заявку, как это сделать, как будет проходить конкурс и какие выгоды сулит победа в этом конкурсе? Об этом расскажет координатор программы Айгерим Султан.

Айгерим, кто может участвовать в этом конкурсе и каковы даты приёма заявок?
Заявки мы принимаем с 15 апреля по 16 мая – месяц. Заявки принимаются как обычно онлайн на нашем веб-сайте. Участвовать в конкурсе могут граждане Казахстана старше 18 лет. Это могут быть студенты бакалавриата (только последнего и предпоследнего курсов), магистранты и докторанты и работающие специалисты.

О каких специальностях речь?
Подать заявку в Yessenov Launch Pad могут учащиеся и работающие в таких областях, как естественные науки, математика, статистика, информационно-коммуникационные технологии, инженерные, обрабатывающие и строительные отрасли – полный перечень, правила подачи заявки и информацию о том, как будет проходить конкурс, можно найти на сайте yessenovfoundation.org в Положении программы.

У кого будет больше шансов выиграть грант фонда на дополнительное обучение?
У кандидатов, которые доказательно продемонстрируют свой интеллектуальный потенциал, стремление к саморазвитию, актуальность приобретения запрашиваемого дополнительного образования для своей карьеры, свою ответственность и нацеленность на результат.

Многие и сегодня не различают чётко hard skills от soft skills, но это важно для победы в конкурсе, ведь именно на развитие этих навыков и направлена программа Yessenov Launch Pad…
Вы правы, не лишним будет ещё раз напомнить. К hard skills относятся навыки, которые непосредственно связаны с профессией, специальностью, к soft skills – надпрофессиональные навыки. Примеры. В первую очередь, это зависит от специальности, но могу назвать следующие. Владение иностранными языками, компьютерными программами, письмом и редактированием текстов, знание основ маркетинга, общая грамотность, умение управлять автомобилем – это всё hard skills; пунктуальность, тайм-менеджмент, критическое мышление, стрессоустойчивость, самодисциплина, креативность, гибкость – это soft skills, навыки, которые помогают делать вам вашу работу лучше, качественнее, быстрее.

Как будет проходить конкурс?
Традиционно – в несколько этапов. Их содержание и даты подробно расписаны в Положении программы. До 28 мая мы завершим первый этап – оценку заявок, примерно 20 отобранных финалистов пригласим на собеседование. Его проведут члены Экспертного совета фонда. К 7 июня планируем принять решение и объявить 10 победителей. Их список опубликуем, как обычно, на сайте и в соцсетях.

Что будет учитываться при выборе победителя членами экспертного совета, Айгерим?
Прежде всего, профессиональные навыки. Далее – способность обучаться и умение быстро и качественно усваивать и анализировать новую информацию, целеустремлённость, способность к адаптации, коммуникабельность и способность находить нестандартные решения в различных ситуациях, аргументированность позиции, эмоциональный интеллект, но не только.

Что произойдет дальше с 10 победителями?
Заключим с ними договор, у них будет обязанность найти курс (при нашей консультационной помощи, конечно) и согласовать с нами. Наши эксперты оценят уровень выбранных курсов и в случае положительного решения с нашей стороны, участнику перечисляются средства, и в указанные в договоре даты победитель Yessenov Launch Pad должен пройти обучение, получив запрошенное дополнительное образование. Согласование необходимо затем, чтобы избежать попадания наших победителей на мошеннические, неэффективные или курсы с низким уровнем преподавания, отсутствием чёткой программы обучения и т.д.

Приведите, пожалуйста, 2-3 примера успешных историй победителей программы, когда именно прохождение курсов помогло им в дальнейшем в профессии?
Программа стартовала в 2022 году, у нас прошло лишь 2 конкурса. В первые годы мы также выделяли по 10 грантов, но, видимо, в силу малой информированности о программе и о том, какие выгоды она в себе несёт, по итогам мы выбрали 5 и 9 победителей соответственно. В итоге за два года мы получили 14 победителей. Победитель первого года Куат Мадениет, проходил курс «Инженер данных» от «Яндекс Практикума» и уже через 2 месяца с начала учебы получил предложение о работе сразу от двух ведущих банков Казахстана, приняв одно из них. Аида Сагандыкова, проходила курсы по контейнеризации Docker, алгоритмам и структурам данных от «Okdara.School», а также по профессии разработчик NodeJS  – от «ItProger». После прохождения последнего курса Аида также нашла интересную для себя на работу. Ержан Умирзаков прошел курс Karpov Courses ML start, получил грант на обучение и также стипендию на прохождение программу докторантуры по статистике в Бостонском университете. Победители второго года программы ещё продолжают своё обучение по выбранным курсам.

Желаем успехов в проведении третьего конкурса Yessenov Launch Pad!

9.04.24, Новости

Просмотров: 596

Другие новости