PLAY CHESS — LEARN BETTER!

The Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation completed a study of Kazakhstani schoolchildren as part of the Chess at School pilot project. The project was held under the auspices of the Foundation in 2017-2020 in 18 schools in Almaty, Kyzylorda, Pavlodar city and the Pavlodar region. The results of the study demonstrated that pupils who studied chess during this time showed a higher level of intelligence, creativity and academic performance in comparison with their peers who did not study the game.

“In the pilot classes where chess was studied, and where it was not studied, 25 psychologists made measurements using 122 parameters for 1,852 pupils aged 6-9 years. They found that pupils playing chess had improved intelligence, creativity, decreased anxiety levels, and an increased level of verbal and logical thinking,” Coordinator of the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation programme Saltanat Nogaybalanova commented.

53.7% of the children who participated in the study were boys, 46.3% were girls, 13.1% of them were Russians, 79.1% were Kazakhs, and 7.8% were from other nationalities. 63.2% of the schoolchildren had Kazakh as their language of instruction.

“Psychologists identified a significant contrast between groups that studied chess (experiment) and those who did not study the subject (control). The former demonstrated a higher level of intelligence than the latter. Pupils from the first groups displayed a higher level of verbal and logical thinking, general knowledge and awareness, and a stronger ability to classify and generalise, identify patterns,” Saltanat Nogaybalanova added.

Another interesting aspect that psychologists discovered in the tested groups was a higher academic performance even in natural science subjects even though the load on these subjects was less than in the groups with pupils who did not study chess.

Pupils from the first groups displayed a higher level of productivity, originality of thinking, ability to detail, a richer vocabulary and a higher level of creativity. The results of the study conducted in Kazakhstan were sent to the National Institute of Biomedicine and Sports (Moscow, Russia) for analysis. Member of the Russian Psychological Society and the International Society of Sports Psychologists Olga Tiunova, Candidate of Pedagogical Sciences (PhD), Associate Professor, commented on the results,

“Children, both in classes that studied chess and in those where the subject was not taught, developed and received new knowledge, skills and competencies. However, over the course of three years, pupils engaged in chess showed higher performance in all respects. Moreover, after the summer holidays, children who participated in the Chess at School pilot project did not show any signs of deterioration. It can be assumed that chess classes help strengthen the relationship between intelligence and creative thinking, and form a cognitive structure that contributes to more effective and productive thinking.”

Kazakh psychologists who conducted the Chess at School project also noted that most parents of schoolchildren (more than 60% in the experimental classes and about 50% in the control classes) believe that chess should be included as a mandatory subject in the basic curriculum in elementary school. Many noted that their children’s academic performance in mathematics and subjects in the natural sciences, social sciences and the humanities has improved over the past year.

The goal of the Chess at School pilot project of the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation is to introduce chess in the curriculum as a subject that is taught as the school management and pupils’ parents choose. The results of the three-year pilot project shall be sent to the Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic of Kazakhstan, which will decide on the fate of the subject in the curriculum of secondary schools in the country.

3.07.20, Newsfeed

Seen by: 495

Другие новости

ИЗУЧАЕШЬ ШАХМАТЫ — УСПЕВАЕШЬ ЛУЧШЕ

Фонд им. академика Шахмардана Есенова завершил исследование казахстанских школьников в рамках пилотного проекта «Шахматы в школе». Он проходил под эгидой фонда в 2017-2020 гг. в 18 школах Алматы, Кызылорды, Павлодара и Павлодарской области. Исследование показало, что учащиеся, изучавшие шахматы все это время, по итогам продемонстрировали более высокий уровень интеллекта, креативности и успеваемости в сравнении со сверстниками, не обучавшимися игре.

— В пилотных классах, где изучались шахматы, и где – не изучались, 25 психологов произвели замеры по 122 параметрам у 1 852 школьников 6-9 лет. Они выяснили, что у занимающихся шахматами повысился уровень интеллекта, креативности, снизился уровень тревожности, повысился уровень словесно-логического мышления, — рассказала координатор программы Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation Салтанат Ногайбаланова.

53,7% принявших в опросе детей мальчики, 46,3% – девочки, 13,1% из них русские, 79,1% – казахи, 7,8% представляли другие национальности. Для 63,2% школьников языком обучения был казахский.

— Психологи выявили значимое различие между группами, изучавшими шахматы (экспериментальными), и теми, где предмет не изучался (контрольными). Первые продемонстрировали более высокий уровень интеллекта, чем вторые. У школьников из первых групп более высокий уровень словесно-логического мышления, общей осведомленности, сильнее способность к классификации и обобщению, выявлению закономерностей, — добавила С. Ногайбаланова.

Еще одним интересным моментом, который выявили психологи в экспериментальных группах, стала более высокая успеваемость даже по естественнонаучным дисциплинам, несмотря на то, что нагрузка по этим предметам была у них меньше, чем в группах, где учились ребята, не занимавшиеся шахматами.

Учащиеся из первых групп показали более высокий уровень продуктивности, оригинальности мышления, способности к детализации, более богатый словарный запас и высокий уровень креативности. Результаты, полученные в Казахстане отправили на экспертизу в Национальный институт биомедицины и спорта в Москве (Россия). Член Российского психологического общества и Международного общества спортивных психологов, кандидат педагогических наук (PhD), доцент Ольга Тиунова так прокомментировала результаты:

— Дети, как в классах, изучавших шахматы, так и в тех, где предмет не велся, развивались, получали новые знания, навыки и компетенции. Но на протяжении всех трёх лет школьники, занимающиеся шахматами, демонстрировали более высокие показатели по всем характеристикам. Более того, после летних каникул дети, участвовавшие в пилотном проекте «Шахматы в школе», не показали никаких «ухудшений». Можно предположить, что занятия шахматами способствуют укреплению взаимосвязи интеллекта и креативного мышления, формируют когнитивную структуру, которая способствует более эффективному и продуктивному мышлению.

Казахстанские психологи, участвовавшие в проекте «Шахматы в школе» также отметили, что большинство родителей школьников (более 60% в экспериментальных классах и ок. 50% в контрольных), считают, что предмет необходимо включить в базовую программу обучения в начальной школе. Многие отмечали, что за последний год улучшилась успеваемость их детей по математике и предметам естественнонаучного, общественно-научного и гуманитарного профиля.

Цель пилотного проекта «Шахматы в школе» фонда им. Есенова — внедрение шахмат в программу обучения как предмета, который преподается по выбору руководства школы и родителей учеников. Результаты трехлетнего пилота будут направлены в Министерство образования и науки РК, которое примет решение о судьбе предмета в учебной программе общеобразовательных школ страны.

Итоговые отчеты по программе «Шахматы в школе»

3.07.20, Новости

Просмотров: 483

Другие новости