YESSENOV DATA LAB FOR ANALYSTS

One of the most popular and well paid professions in the world today is a specialist in data analysis — a data scientist. Lack of professionals in this field amounts to about 190,000 people only in the USA. There is a growing demand for them in Kazakhstan as well. Responding to the challenges of time, Shakhmardan Yessenov Science and education Foundation together with Almaty Management University (AlmaU) has launched the enrolment  to the summer school of Yessenov Data Lab, which will train 20 local specialists from Kazakhstan in  this field.

YESSENOV DATA LAB FOR ANALYSTS

— We have carried out a market research and realized that existing programs (for example, Kaspi Laboratory) do not cover even the demand of the Kazakhstani market. Therefore, in partnership with the leading business University in the country we have decided to open our summer laboratory, — said the program Manager of the Yessenov Foundation Ilzira Aldagarova. — The purpose of the program is to train analysts, promote the use of data analysis in science and stimulate research activities in this area, the use of data analysis skills in Kazakhstani organizations and companies, – she added.

According to the project initiators, the school will not be a summer recreational camp: during 8 weeks, participants will learn how to collect, process and visualize data, to study large amounts of data containing disparate information, and on the basis thereof  to optimize existing business processes and to make decisions. During the lessons, participants will be  recognizing images, working with natural language (NLP), solving problems on the Kaggle.com. The last 2 weeks of this school course participants will devote to solving project problems, which will be a kind of exam. Participants completeingthe course successfully will receive a Data Science specialist certificate.

Leading experts in this field will lecture at the school. Negotiations are underway with Dmitry Kotovenko (AGT International, Frankfurt), Marina Gorlova(Yandex.Money, St. Petersburg), Mikhail Lipkovich and Dmitry Russanov (EPAM Systems, St. Petersburg), as well as AlmaU professors Kuanysh Abeshevand Timur Bakibayev (received their PhDs in the United States and Germany).

The Foundation has already started the receipt of applications to participate in this competition. Both students and employed professionals with strong analytical thinking will be able to participate in the competition. The Expert Board, that will decide the fate of 20 grants, first of all, will pay attention to the analytical skills of applicants, their knowledge of fundamental principles of statistics and algebra. Candidates with programming experience, technical education and knowledge of English not lower than of Intermediate level (IELTS 6.5/ TOEFL 90) will be preferable. Candidates can apply in any language (state language, Russian, English).

The competition will be held in 3 stages. The programme regulations and the application are published on the Foundation’s website.

— After evaluation of received applications, we will have the second round in April – an exam in logics, programming, knowledge of fundamental principles of statistics and algebra. The main emphasis will be on the evaluation of logical thinking of candidates. The exams will be taken at our University in Almaty and at trusted exam centers all over Kazakhstan. We will inform everyone admitted to participate in the second round about the dates and addresses of such centers, — said Professor of Almaty Management University Timur Bakibayev.

During the third round, which will be completed by mid-May, all applicants will be interviewed by the Expert Board’s members. The names of all 20 winners of the grant competition — students of the first summer school Yessenov Data Lab — will be disclosed by the end of May. All the flight costs on the territory of Kazakhstan, as well as accommodation and meals will be covered for those winners of the competition who live outside Almaty. The term “Big Data” appeared in 2008, and the profession of a “Data Scientist” is officially registered as an academic and cross-industry discipline at the beginning of 2010. The need for a profession is caused  by the fact that today we are talking about extremely large amounts of data that need to be processed and  standard means of mathematical statistics cannot cope with them anymore.

6.03.18, Foundation's news

Seen by: 1,414

Другие новости

YESSENOV DATA LAB ДЛЯ АНАЛИТИКОВ

Одна из самых востребованных и высокооплачиваемых профессий в мире сегодня — специалист по анализу данных (Data Scientist). Нехватка профессионалов в ней уже сегодня только в США составляет около 190 тысяч человек. Растет спрос на них и в Казахстане. Отвечая вызовам времени, научно-образовательный фонд им. Ш.Есенова совместно с Almaty Management University (AlmaU) открыл набор в летнюю школу Yessenov Data Lab, которая подготовит для Казахстана 20 специалистов в этом направлении.

 — Мы изучили рынок и поняли, что существующие программы (например, Laboratory Kaspi) не покрывают спрос даже казахстанского рынка. Поэтому мы в партнерстве с ведущим бизнес-вузом страны решили открыть  свою летнюю лабораторию, — рассказала менеджер программ фонда им. Есенова Ильзира Алдагарова. — Цель программы – подготовка аналитиков, содействие применению анализа данных в науке и стимулирование исследовательской деятельности в этой сфере, применение навыков анализа данных в казахстанских организациях и компаниях, — добавила она.

По словам инициаторов проекта, школа не будет летним лагерем отдыха: за 8 недель участники научатся собирать, обрабатывать и визуализировать данные, изучать большие массивы данных, содержащие разрозненную информацию, и на основе этого оптимизировать существующие бизнес-процессы и принимать решения. Во время занятий участники будут распознавать образы, работать с естественным языком (NLP), решать задачи на портале Kaggle. Последние 2 недели школы участники посвятят решению проектных задач, что будет своего рода экзаменом. Участники, успешно завершившие курс, получат сертификат специалиста Data Science.

Лекторами школы станут ведущие специалисты в этой области. Ведутся переговоры с Дмитрием Котовенко (AGT International, Frankfurt), Мариной Горловой (Yandex.Money, Санкт-Петербург), Михаилом Липковичем и Дмитрием Русановым (EPAM Systems, Санкт-Петербург), а также профессорами AlmaU Куанышем Абешевым и Тимуром Бакибаевым (получили степень PhD в США и Германии).

Фонд уже открыл прием заявок на конкурс, участвовать в котором смогут как студенты, так и действующие специалисты с сильным аналитическим мышлением. Экспертный совет, который и решит судьбу 20 грантов, в первую очередь будет обращать внимание на аналитические способности претендентов, их знания основ статистики и алгебры. Преимущество будет отдано претендентам с опытом программирования, получившим техническую специальность и владеющим английским на уровне Intermediate (6.5 IELTS/ 90 TOEFL). Кандидаты могут подавать заявки на любом языке (государственном, русском, английском).

Конкурс пройдет в 3 этапа. Положение о программе и заявка опубликованы на сайте фонда.

— После оценки полученных заявок, в апреле мы проведем второй тур – экзамен на логику, программирование, знание основ статистики и алгебры. Основной упор будет сделан на оценку логического мышления у конкурсантов. Экзамены будут приниматься в нашем университете в Алматы и в доверенных центрах сдачи экзаменов по Казахстану. Даты и адреса центров мы сообщим всем, прошедшим во второй тур, — рассказал профессор Almaty Management University Тимур Бакибаев.

На третьем туре, который завершится до середины мая, пройдет собеседование всех претендентов с Экспертным советом фонда. Имена всех 20 победителей конкурса, студентов первой летней школы Yessenov Data Lab, станут известны к концу мая. Победителям конкурса, живущим за пределами Алматы, будут покрыты все расходы на перелет по территории Казахстана, а также проживание и питание. Сам термин «Big Data» появился в 2008 году, а профессия «Data Scientist» официально зарегистрирована как академическая и межотраслевая дисциплина в начале 2010. Необходимость возникновения профессии продиктована тем, что сегодня речь уже идет о слишком больших массивах данных, которые необходимо обрабатывать, с чем стандартные средства математической статистики не справляются.

6.03.18, Новости фонда

Просмотров: 790

Другие новости