4 STUDENTS TO REPRESENT KAZAKHSTAN AT THE IESO IN CHINA

The selection for the national team of schoolchildren to participate in the IESO 2024 (International Olympiad on Earth Sciences) has been wrapped up in Astana. It will be held in Beijing in the summer, Kazakhstan will be represented by four high school students.

The national selection has been held since January 27th. 113 applicants from various high schools in the country were admitted to it. Among the most important selection criteria were: at least an Intermediate level of English proficiency, excellent knowledge in the field of geology, geophysics, meteorology, oceanography and astronomy, as well as leadership qualities and teamwork skills. The selection was carried out by representatives of the organizer, the Zhas Geolog foundation, as well as representatives of Nazarbayev University and the sponsor of the participation of the Kazakh team in the IESO, the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation.

After an online test in English for knowledge of geology, geophysics, meteorology, oceanography and astronomy, which took place on the Moodle platform, 8 students with the maximum points were selected for the final. The second round was realized on February 7 online through the Microsoft Teams platform. After an interview with the finalists (also in English), four participants were selected to represent Kazakhstan at IESO 2024.

Zhanat Ismailova, Director of the Zhas Geolog: We are sure that the guys will not only honorably represent our country on the international stage, but also gain tremendous experience for themselves. Participation in the IESO will broaden their horizons, help them make friends with similar interests in other countries, influence their choice of future profession and develop their soft skills.

Aigerim Sultan, program coordinator of the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation: We have been supporting the participation of the Kazakh team since 2017, we took a break only for the period of the pandemic, when the IESO was held online. This year we are glad that we will be able to finance the field trip of the children, where they, together with their peers from around the world, will be able to demonstrate their knowledge.

The winners of the national selection were: Bekarys Tashmukhanbet (77 points), Esther Amrakulova (76), Alim Anuar (75) and Aitole Nurakhan (73). All, with the exception of Pavlodar resident Alim Anuar, are students of various schools in Almaty. From February to July of this year, the staff of the Zhas Geolog Foundation will conduct online preparations for the Olympiad with the finalists. Professors and undergraduates of the Nazarbayev University’s School of Mining and Geosciences will participate in the process as well.

Esther Amrakulova, a 14-year-old 9th grade student, is interested in geology and seismology, she studies Spanish in addition to English: Geology attracts me because with the help of it I will be able to better understand the process of formation of the Earth. And seismology means that through the analysis of earthquakes and the internal structures of the planet, it is possible to enhance the safety of people during natural disasters.

Anuar Alim, another winner of the competition, is fond of speedcubing (assembling a Rubik’s cube and similar speed puzzles): It helps to develop the brain, memory, logic, reaction and fine motor skills and is a healthy alternative to gadgets. Of the sciences, I like paleontology the most – because of my love for dinosaurs. As a child, I watched many documentaries about them, became interested and began to read about them. I think I will study them in the future.

The International Olympiad of Schoolchildren in Earth Sciences will be held from August 8 to 16 in Beijing, China.

9.02.24, Newsfeed

Seen by: 172

Другие новости

4 ШКОЛЬНИКА ПРЕДСТАВЯТ КАЗАХСТАН НА ОЛИМПИАДЕ IESO В КИТАЕ

В Астане завершился отбор в национальную команду школьников для участия в Международной олимпиаде по наукам о Земле IESO (Inernational Earth Science Olympiad) 2024. Она пройдет летом в Пекине, Казахстан на ней представят четверо старшеклассников.

Конкурс проходил с 27 января. К нему было допущено 113 претендентов различных средних школ страны. Среди наиболее важных критериев отбора были: знание английского на уровне не ниже Intermediate, отличные знания в области геологии, геофизики, метеорологии, океанографии и астрономии, а также лидерские качества и умение работать в команде. Отбор проводили представители организатора – фонда «Жас геолог», а также представители Nazarbayev University и спонсора участия команды Казахстана в IESO – Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation.

После онлайн теста на английском языке на знание геологии, геофизики, метеорологии, океанографии и астрономии – он проходил на платформе Moodle – в финал было отобрано 8 школьников с максимальным количеством баллов. Второй тур прошел 7 февраля в онлайн формате с использованием платформы Microsoft Teams. После проведенного с финалистами интервью (также на английском языке) было отобрано четыре участника, которые и представят Казахстан на IESO 2024.

– Мы уверены, что ребята не только с честью представят нашу страну на международной арене, но и получат колоссальный опыт для себя. Участие в IESO расширит их кругозор, поможет завести друзей со схожими интересами в других странах, скажется на выборе будущей профессии и разовьет их мягкие навыки, – сообщила директор КФ «Жас геолог» Жанат Исмаилова.

– Мы поддерживаем участие казахстанской команды с 2017 года, перерыв делали лишь на период пандемии, когда IESO проходила в онлайн формате. В этом году мы рады, что сможем профинансировать поездку ребят на полевые занятия, где они вместе со своими сверстниками из разных стран мира смогут продемонстрировать свои знания, – уверена Айгерим Султан, координатор программ научно-образовательного фонда им. академика Шахмардана Есенова.

Победителями национального отбора стали: Бекарыс Ташмуханбет (77 баллов), Эстер Амракулова (76), Алим Ануар (75) и Айтоле Нурахан (73). Все, за исключением павлодарца Алима Ануара – учащиеся различных школ Алматы. С февраля и по июль этого года сотрудники фонда «Жас геолог» будут вести с финалистами подготовку к олимпиаде в онлайн формате с участием профессоров и магистрантов Школы горного дела Nazarbayev University.

14-летняя ученица 9 класса Эстер Амракулова интересуется геологией и сейсмологией, кроме английского изучает и испанский.
– Геология привлекает меня тем, что с помощью этой науки я смогу глубже понять процесс формирования нашей Земли. А сейсмология – тем, что через анализ землетрясений и внутренних структур планеты можно усилить безопасность людей во время природных катастроф, – поделилась Эстер.

Другой из победителей конкурса – Ануар Алим – увлекается спидкубингом, сборкой кубика Рубика и похожих головоломок на скорость.
– Это помогает развивать мозг, память, логику, реакцию и мелкую моторику и является здоровой альтернативой гаджетам. Из наук мне больше всего нравится палеонтология – из-за любви к динозаврам. В детстве смотрел множество документальных фильмов о них, заинтересовался и начал читать о них. Думаю, в будущем буду их изучать, – сообщил Ануар.

Международная олимпиада школьников по наукам о Земле пройдёт с 8 по 16 августа в Пекине, КНР.

9.02.24, Новости

Просмотров: 2 081

Другие новости