THE FIFTH YDL SCHOOL RECRUITES STUDENTS

Application submission to the Yessenov Data Lab Summer School for Kazakhstani data analysts and those who want to work in this field has opened on March 14. The training will be held from June 17 to July 13, 2024. 78 professionals have been trained since the program started in 2018. What makes this year’s YDL different from the previous ones? How difficult the selection will be for the grant applicants? What is the deadline for application submission and when will the names of the winners be announced? Grigoriy Lee, the program manager, answers our questions.

To begin with, who can submit an application to YDL?
The program of the Summer School for analysts will run for 4 weeks. Within the program we train the students in basic Big Data analysis skills to apply their knowledge to further work. Citizens of Kazakhstan who are over 18 years of age can submit an application. They could be current researchers, or students in technical and natural sciences – undergraduate, master’s and doctoral students of Kazakhstani higher education institutions.

Gregoriy, how many grants does the Yessenov Foundation allocate under this program, and how many winners will there be?
There will be 20 winners. The Expert Council will assign a score to each participant. The best 20 contestants with the highest scores will take part in the training course.

What are the requirements for contestants?
Everyone who wants to study at the YDL should be good at mathematics (basic knowledge of statistics and linear algebra), have strong analytical skills, interest and willingness to apply the acquired knowledge in practice, and show it to the experts of the Foundation. Of course, it is also important for the School participants to know the basics of programming. It doesn’t matter though which particular programming language the applicant knows. However, the School’s participant should have a good command of English, at least at the B1 level. If the contestant has any scientific papers published, it will be an advantage.

In 2018-2019 the YDL was held offline, then COVID happened, and the School was held online. What is the School’s format this year?
We decided to test the hybrid format. It will be three weeks of online training, then for the final fourth week – from July 8 to July 13 – we’ll invite all the students to Almaty. All the expenses – travel, accommodation (except students from Almaty) and meals – will be covered by the Foundation.

What characteristics the School student’s computer should have?
Each winner should have a personal laptop with characteristics sufficient for comfortable programming. Recommended parameters are as follows: CPU Intel Core Gen 7 and higher, Mac Silicon M1 and higher, RAM 6 GB and higher.

Gregoriy, when is the deadline for application submission?
Acceptance of applications closes on April 17 at 15.00. All the applications are accepted only online in the state or Russian languages. However, some of the documents attached to the application can be provided in their original languages (usually English, for example, a recommendation or an IELTS certificate).

What is the procedure of the contest and when will you announce the winners?
As usual, the contest will be held in 3 stages. At the first round, our employees and the invited experts will assess the received applications and select those that meet all the requirements of the Provisions. The second round – testing in mathematics and logic, and data analysis exam – will be held online. At the end of the contest there will be an interview with members of the Foundation’s Expert Council, which we will also conduct online. What will be assessed and taken into account during all the stages of the contest, is described in detail in the Program’s Provisions placed on the Foundation’s website. My contacts are there too. I will answer all the questions if there are any. We are planning to complete the selection and upload the list of winners – participants of the YDL 2024 Summer School for data analysts – no later than May 24, on the Foundation’s website too.

What does the YDL 2024 program consist of?
It has already been placed on the website along with the Program Provisions, where you can get answers to all questions. There is also an “Apply” button. The YDL classes will be held by our regular lecturers, theorists and practitioners: Timur Bakibayev, Ph.D. in Computer Science, Professor at AlmaU, and Kuanysh Abeshev, Ph.D. in Mathematics, Dean of the School of Digital Technologies at the same Kazakhstani University – AlmaU. They will teach courses on Python for Data and Data Classification, respectively. The invited lecturers who participate in the Summer School for the first time are: Kirill Yakunin, Ph.D. in Computing Systems and Software, ML Engineer at Metaculus (the U.S. company), Vladislav Yushchenko, M.Sc. Computer Science, Sr. Machine Learning Engineer at Cape Analytics (the U.S. company). Vladislav will also conduct the final, offline week of YDL training in Almaty.

We wish you a successful School’s contest and strong participants, Gregoriy!
Thank you.

20.03.24, Без рубрики, Newsfeed

Seen by: 74

Другие новости

ПЯТАЯ ШКОЛА YDL НАБИРАЕТ УЧАЩИХСЯ

14 марта начался приём заявок в летнюю школу Yessenov Data Lab для казахстанских аналитиков данных и планирующих работать в этой сфере. Обучение пройдет с 17 июня по 13 июля 2024 года. Программа существует с 2018 и за это время выпустила уже 78 специалистов. Что отличает YDL этого года от предшествующих? Насколько трудным для претендентов на грант будет отбор? Когда завершится приём заявок и когда объявят имена победителей? Григорий Ли, менеджер программы, отвечает на наши вопросы.

Начнем с того, кто сможет подать заявку в YDL?
Программа летней школы для аналитиков рассчитана на 4 недели. В ней мы обучаем базовым навыкам анализа больших данных с целью последующего применения знаний учащимися в дальнейшей работе. Поэтому прежде всего она для действующих специалистов сферы и молодых ученых, которым эти знания необходимы для работы, например, для анализа результатов собственных научных экспериментов. Подать заявку могут граждане Казахстана старше 18 лет. Они могут быть уже работающими научными сотрудниками, либо учащимися – студентами бакалавриата, магистратуры, докторантуры технических и естественно-научных специальностей казахстанских вузов.

Григорий, сколько грантов выделяет Yessenov Foundation по этой программе, сколько победителей будет?
Их будет 20. Экспертная комиссия присвоит каждому конкурсанту рейтинг. Лучшие 20 по рейтингу и приступят к обучению.

Какие требования вы предъявляете к конкурсантам?
Все, кто хочет учится в YDL, должен хорошо знать математику (основы статистики и линейной алгебры), обладать сильными аналитическими способностями, иметь интерес и желание применять полученные знания на практике и продемонстрировать это экспертам фонда.  Разумеется важно, чтобы участники школы знали и основы программирования. Причём, какой именно язык программирования знает аппликант, не важно, а вот английским языком студенту школы нужно владеть хотя бы на уровне B1. Наличие научных публикаций будет для конкурсанта преимуществом.

В 2018-2019 гг. YDL проходила оффлайн, потом случился ковид, и школа проводилась оффлайн. Каков её формат в этом году?
Мы решили протестировать гибридный формат. Три недели пройдет онлайн, на четвертую, финальную – с 8 по 13 июля – мы соберём всех учащихся летней школы в Алматы. Все получат полное обеспечение за счёт фонда на ту неделю: проезд, проживание (кроме алматинцев) и питание.

Какого уровня компьютер должен иметь учащийся школы?
Каждый из победителей должен иметь в своём распоряжении ноутбук с характеристиками, достаточными для осуществления комфортного программирования. Наши рекомендации: CPU Intel Core Gen 7 и выше, Mac Silicon M1 и выше, RAM (ОЗУ) 6 Гб и выше.

Григорий, каков дедлайн для подачи заявки?
17 апреля
в 15.00 мы завершим приём. Все заявки принимаются только онлайн на государственном, либо русском языках. В то же время некоторые из прилагаемых к заявке документов можно предоставить на языке оригинала (как правило, речь об английском, например, рекомендация или сертификат IELTS).

Как пройдет конкурс и когда объявите победителей?
Конкурс, как обычно, пройдет в 3 этапа. На первом наши сотрудники и привлечённые эксперты оценят принятые заявки, отберут те, что соответствуют всем требованиям положения. Второй тур – тестирование по математике и логике и экзамен по анализу данных – пройдёт онлайн. В финале конкурса состоится собеседование с членами Экспертного совета фонда, его мы также проведём онлайн. Что будет оцениваться и приниматься во внимание во время всех частей конкурса, подробно описано в положении программы на сайте фонда. В нем же можно найти мои контакты и связаться, если вопросы, всё же, останутся. Мы планируем завершить отбор и опубликовать на сайте фонда список победителей – участников летней школы для аналитиков данных YDL 2024 – не позднее 24 мая.

Какова программа YDL 2024?
Она уже опубликована на сайте вместе с положением программы, где можно получить ответы на все вопросы. Там же находится и кнопка «подать заявку». Среди преподавателей YDL в этом году наши постоянные лекторы, теоретики и практики: доктор информатики, профессор AlmaU Тимур Бакибаев и доктор математики, декан Школы цифровых технологий того же казахстанского университета Куаныш Абешев. Они будут преподавать темы «Python для данных» и «Классификация данных» соответственно. Среди приглашенных лекторов, которые участвуют в работе летней школы впервые – докторант в области вычислительной техники доктор вычислительной техники и программного обеспечения, инженер по машинному обучению американской компании Metaculus Кирилл Якунин, магистр информатики и старший разработчик машинного обучения также компании из США Cape Analytics Владислав Ющенко. Владислав и проведет последнюю, оффлайн неделю обучения YDL в Алматы.

Желаем успешно провести конкурс, сильных вам участников, Григорий!
Спасибо.

20.03.24, Без рубрики, Новости

Просмотров: 634

Другие новости