115 SPECIAL NEEDS CHILDREN ARE SET UP FOR SCHOOL

Volunteer and triathlete Sergei Levadniy covered 13.3 km swimming, 147,7 km running and 630 km by bike (a total of 791 km) within 7 days. He made a commitment to make the Half Ironman distance every day and fulfilled it. With the help of “7 for 7” campaign, a resident of the Kazakhstan metropolis helped more than 100 children with special needs to get ready for school.

— I have long been challenging myself in sports, but I wanted to combine a personal goal with a socially significant one. I addressed my colleagues from the Shakhmardan Yessenov foundation and together we came up with the “7 for 7” project. The dates were set for the end of summer so we decided to help children with serious diagnoses from a low-income families, – explained the coordinator of the Komanda SOS volunteer coordination centre Sergey Levadniy.

Consulting and media support of the campaign was provided by the Almaty Triathlon Federation. According to the federation’s chief, Galimzhan Yessenov, who just recently successfully completed the Ironman distance in Denmark, “not every experienced athlete would fulfill such obligation taken up by Sergey, but this 23-year-old did it, and most importantly he reminded people that helping is amazing, especially when it comes to children with special needs, whose parents are not able to prepare them for school.”

Simultaneously with the beginning of the sports part of the campaign, the collection of school essentials (backpacks, notebooks, pencil cases, pens, etc.) was announced. Concerned Kazakhstan citizens responded to the campaign  And Almaty residents Alexandra Komleva, Galina Kiriyan and Aliya Zhadrayeva organized the fund raising and purchase of school kits. Several Kazakhstan and foreign companies also responded. Thanks to the responsiveness of the citizens, school essentials were collected for more than 115 children with cerebral palsy, hearing impairment, Down syndrome, autism and mental disorders — all from financially disadvantaged families. Throughtout the day of the news publication, the school kits were being handed over to the schoolchildren.

Irina Zhukovskaya, a mom of a 15-year-old daughter Nastya with Down syndrome, said:
— I work in a rehabilitation center. Most of my earnings go out for doctors and procedures.  Now we have a lot of children with disabilities in our society. We do out best to have our kids included in the society, not keep them apart and campaigns such as this surely help us in doing so. The matter, in fact, is not in the school essentials, not in the gift but in the fact that a stranger took care of your child. It’s nice to know we have good-hearted people in our cruel world. It’s nice and it’s important.

According to the Director of the Almaty branch of Special Olympics Galina Ilyina, “most of these children from 6 to 15 years are brought up by single parents, there are orphans living with relatives-guardians among them, most are studying in special remedial boarding schools, some others are home-schooled”. It is noteworthy that many of the children, despite their limited physical abilities, go in for sports.

29.08.18, Foundation's news

Seen by: 481

Другие новости

115 ОСОБЫХ ДЕТЕЙ ГОТОВЫ К ШКОЛЕ

Волонтер и триатлет Сергей Левадний за 7 дней преодолел 13,3 км вплавь, 147,7 км бегом и 630 км на велосипеде (в общей сложности 791 км). Он взял на себя обязательство каждый день совершать дистанцию формата половина Ironman и выполнил его. Акцией «7 за 7» житель казахстанского мегаполиса  организовал подготовку к школе более 100 детей с особыми потребностями.

— Я давно собирался бросить себе спортивный вызов, но хотел соединить личную цель с общественно значимой. Я обратился к моим коллегам из научно-образовательного фонда им. академика Ш.Есенова, и вместе мы придумали проект «7 за 7». Даты проведения назначили на конец лета. Решили помочь ребятам с серьезными диагнозами, живущим в семьях со скромным достатком, — поделился координатор центра волонтеров Komanda SOS при фонде Есенова Сергей Левадний.

Консультационную и информационную поддержку акции осуществляла Алматинская федерация триатлона. По словам ее руководителя Галимжана Есенова, который сам недавно успешно преодолел дистанцию Ironman в Дании, «такие обязательства, которые взял на себя Сергей, выполнит не каждый опытный спортсмен, а этот 23-летний парень смог, и главное он напомнил людям, что помогать это потрясающе, особенно когда речь о детях с особыми потребностями, чьи родители не имеют возможности подготовить их к школе».

Одновременно с началом спортивной части акции, был объявлен сбор школьных наборов (рюкзаков, тетрадей, пеналов, ручек и т.д.). На акцию отреагировали неравнодушные казахстанцы. А алматинцы Александра Комлева, Галина Кириян, Алия Жадраева организовали сбор средств и закуп школьных наборов. Откликнулось и несколько казахстанских и зарубежных компаний. Благодаря отзывчивости горожан, были собраны наборы для более чем 115 детей с ДЦП, нарушениями слуха, синдромом Дауна, аутизмом и ментальными нарушениями из малообеспеченных семей. Сегодня наборы переданы школьникам.

Ирина Жуковская, воспитывающая 15-летнюю дочь Настю с синдромом Дауна, рассказала:
— Я работаю в реабилитационном центре. Большая часть средств у меня уходит на платных врачей и процедуры.  Сейчас у нас в обществе очень много детей с ограниченными возможностями. Мы стараемся не отгораживать их, а вводить в социум, и такие акции помогают нам в этом. Дело, ведь, не в самом школьном наборе, не в подарке, а в том, что какой-то незнакомый человек позаботился о твоем ребенке. Приятно, что находятся сердечные люди в нашем жестоком мире. Это радость и это важно.

Как сообщила директор алматинского филиала Special Olympics Галина Ильина, «большая часть этих детей в возрасте от 6 до 15 лет воспитывается одним родителем, есть среди них сироты, живущие с родственниками-опекунами, большинство учится в специальных коррекционных школах-интернатах, кто-то обучается на дому». Примечательно, что многие из детей, несмотря на свои ограниченные физические возможности, занимаются спортом.

29.08.18, Новости фонда

Просмотров: 479

Другие новости