YDL STARTS IN JULY. BUT HOW?

Academic Shakhmardan Yessenov Science and Education Foundation completed a two-month competition and selected 20 students of the Yessenov Data Lab (YDL) summer school for young scientists. The study starts in mid-July. Now, in connection with the situation around coronavirus, school organizers have to decide on the training mode: online or offline.

It was originally planned to hold a school in the classrooms of the Al-Farabi KazNU in the same way as it was in previous years in AlmaU. However, the third summer school faced the challenge of the COVID-19 pandemic. As a result, an emergency was declared across the nation, Almaty was quarantined, and the educational process of all universities in the country was transferred to a remote form.

“We have to make a choice between offline and online mode for conducting YDL,” says program coordinator Toktar Yeskendirov. – “Offline training has definitely more advantages. For example, a school student may ask a question as soon as it arises that lecturers only welcome. Offline, it’s also easy to show a teacher who is in doubt to get a comment while doing practical tasks.

In addition, there are difficulties with the organization of the arrival of nonresident students. Indeed, 13 out of 20 winners are located outside of Almaty, and flights between Kazakhstani cities are only being resumed with severe restrictions.

“We have an audience with all required infrastructure for holding a summer school. Young people will be able to study there at a sufficient distance from each other. Naturally, we would like to conduct YDL offline, but it will depend on the situation around coronavirus in the country and the decision of the Foundation,” explained Askar Hikmetov, the Vice-rector for Academic Affairs of the Al-Farabi KazNU.

In the first half of May, the foundation will decide on the training mode at YDL this year. Most likely this will happen after May 11, announced by the President of Kazakhstan as a possible deadline for quarantine cancellation in Almaty. This year 199 students, future scientists, qualified to study at YDL, whose goal in school is to master the skills of working with big data to process information obtained during scientific research. Scholarships for training were won by only 20. The teachers of this year’s school include Kuanysh Abeshev (dean of the School of Engineering Management, AlmaU), Aydos Sarsembayev (assistant professor, IITU) and Darkhan Aymaganov (product analyst, Arbuz.kz). Partner of the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation for the school – the Al-Farabi KazNU.

7.05.20, Newsfeed

Seen by: 1,086

Другие новости

YDL СТАРТУЕТ В ИЮЛЕ. НО КАК?

Научно-образовательный фонд им. академика Ш.Есенова завершил двухмесячный конкурс и выбрал 20 студентов летней школы для молодых ученых Yessenov Data Lab (YDL). Ее занятия начнутся в июле. Теперь в связи с ситуацией по коронавирусу организаторам школы предстоит сделать выбор формы обучения: онлайн или оффлайн.

Первоначально планировалось провести школу в аудиториях КазНУ им. аль-Фараби по той же схеме, как это проходило в прежние годы в AlmaU. Но третьей летней школе выпало испытание пандемией COVID-19. В результате в стране была объявлена чрезвычайная ситуация,  Алматы закрыт на карантин, а учебный процесс всех вузов страны перевели на дистанционную форму.

— Нам предстоит сделать выбор между оффлайн и онлайн форматом проведения YDL, — говорит координатор программы Токтар Ескендиров. — У оффлайн обучения, конечно, больше плюсов. К примеру, студент школы может задать вопрос сразу же, как только он возник, что лекторы только приветствуют. В оффлайне также легко во время выполнения практических заданий показать преподавателю прямо на дисплее ту строчку, которая вызывает сомнения, чтобы получить комментарий.

К тому же, существуют сложности и с организацией прилета иногородних студентов. Ведь, 13 победителей из 20 находятся за пределами Алматы, а авиасообщение восстанавливается с большими ограничениями и только со столицей страны.

— У нас готова аудитория со всей необходимой инфраструктурой для проведения летней школы. Ребята смогут там учиться на достаточном расстоянии друг от друга. Мы, конечно, хотели бы провести YDL оффлайн, но это будет зависеть от ситуации по коронавирусу в стране и решения фонда, — пояснил проректор по учебной работе КазНУ им. аль-Фараби Аскар Хикметов.

В первой половине мая фонд примет решение по форме обучения в YDL в этом году. Вероятнее всего это произойдет после 11 мая, объявленного президентом Казахстана как возможный срок отмены карантина в Алматы. На обучение в YDL в этом году претендовало 199 конкурсантов, будущих ученых, цель обучения которых в школе – овладение навыками работы с большими данными для обработки информации, полученной в ходе научных изысканий. Гранты на обучение выиграли только 20. Среди преподавателей школы этого года Куаныш Абешев (декан Школы инженерного менеджмента, AlmaU), Айдос Сарсембаев (ассистент-профессор, МУИТ) и Дархан Аймаганов (аналитик продукта, Arbuz.kz). Партнер Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation по проведению школы — КазНУ им. аль-Фараби.

7.05.20, Новости

Просмотров: 1 405

Другие новости