THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE PROGRAM FINISHES AT KOZYBAYEV UNIVERSITY

The two-year English Language Program that the Yessenov Foundation has been implementing since 2013 at regional universities in Kazakhstan, has been completed in Petropavlovsk. In 2022-2024, the charitable Foundation conducted it at Kozybayev University. Having improved their English language skills, 301 students and teachers successfully completed the Program. The 50 best North Kazakhstan students and teachers passed IELTS at the expense of the Foundation.

Aigerym Sultan, the Program manager, tells about the procedure and the results of the Program implementation.
Kozybayev University
, which is located in Petropavlovsk, won the English Language Program competition held by the Shakhmardan Yessenov Science & Education Foundation in spring 2022. 18 universities participated in the competition at that time. In the framework of the Program, students and teachers of the winning university, who have passed the preliminary selection, take two classes with certified native English-speaking teachers every week of the academic year. At the end of each academic year, the best of them pass IELTS at the expense of the Yessenov Foundation.

Aigerym, how many students and teachers took part in the Program at Kozybayev University?
In the first year, 93 bachelors as well as 74 teachers and master’s students were enrolled in the Program, and in the second year, 77 and 105 people respectively. I.e., a total of 349 people participated in the Program, 301 of them reached, as they say, the final. Challenging program, difficulties in understanding native English speakers, heavy academic or professional workload caused the outflow of students.

Could the first year program participant also be selected for the second year of the study?
Yes, the first year program participants could continue their study. There were quite a lot of them.

How was the training going?
Classes were held online twice a week for 90 minutes. The courses were conducted by native speakers and professional teachers. The curriculum included many practical activities. Participants developed both oral and written forms of speech.

How did you measure changes in the Program participants’ English proficiency levels, and what were the results?
To assess the participants’ progress, the Program tutors administered grammar tests and speaking exams twice a year. The results showed that all the participants improved their English language skills by at least one level. That is, if at the beginning of the academic year a student was at the A2 level (Pre-Intermediate), by the end it was already the B1 level (Intermediate). The Program participants improved their vocabulary as well as their written and spoken languages. The most advanced students of the English Language Program of the Yessenov Foundation at Kozybayev University got a good practice preparing for IELTS. As a result of the training, in two years 28 participants moved to a C2 level, 44 to C1, 62 to B2 and 101 people to a B1 level.

After talking to Aigerym, we asked for feedback from the Program participants.

Dariya Tulegenova, a 4th year student of general medicine:
– Audio lessons, video footage and interactive tasks made the learning process interesting and dynamic. The teacher was always willing to overcome language learning challenges. Now I feel more confident in speaking and understanding English.

Temirlan Yessmagambet, a 1st year student of management information systems:
– The upside is that the teacher was responsive, and there was a good material for preparing for IELTS. The downside is that it was an online lesson and after a while interest faded.

Chingiz Dauletbayev, intern, general practitioner:
– In two years I improved my level from Elementary to Upper Intermediate. There is no language environment in our city, and the Yessenov Foundation helped solve this problem. I got the opportunity to communicate with a native speaker, developed my listening skills, and improved my vocabulary. It would be great if more class time was spent on writing.

Dilyara Seydakhmetova, the University librarian:
– I didn’t have time to study English before because of my workload, but thanks to the Program at our University, I not only took up the language, but was also able to pass IELTS. Thanks to our teacher Anthony.

Gulnur Mazhitova, master’s degree, senior lecturer at the Department of Geography and Ecology:
– The course was interesting. Since the teacher was a native speaker, we heard and remembered the correct pronunciation, intonation, and stress. He paid much attention to dialogue with us. But sometimes there were problems with the quality of the teacher’s Internet connection. Nevertheless, after studying in the Program I definitely understand English better.

And now back to our conversation with Aigerym Sultan, the Yessenov Foundation English Language Program Manager. We asked her some more questions.

Aigerym, how many students were selected to take IELTS? What was the procedure? How did they pass the exam?
According to the test results and total attendance over two years (25 people were selected at the end of each year), we selected the 50 best course participants to take the IELTS exams under a grant from the Foundation. The choice was made by the teachers Nathan Maher and Anthony Durrant. 60% was determined by the final test, 20% by attendance, 10% by homework, 10% by student involvement in the process. IELTS exams were conducted by the British Council on June 16 and 17. They were held offline at the Kozybayev University. The highest scores – 7.5 and 8 – were received by the first year students Mikhail Vereshchagin and Nikon Veremeychik, and teachers Albina Bunina, Darina Maldybayeva, Tatiana Shirina. Another four students in the program scored 7. These are very high figures.

Where will the Yessenov Foundation English Language Program be held in 2024-2026?
We are implementing it at Daulet Serikbayev East Kazakhstan Technical University. It won the competition that we held this spring. The university was the best among 11 higher education institutions in Kazakhstan that submitted applications. We expect that over the next two years, about 320 students and teachers at the university will be able to improve their English language proficiency due to the Foundation’s program. According to the tradition, the 50 best participants will take IELTS at our expense. We plan to hold the next competition for the English Language Program in spring 2026 in order to choose a regional university that can take advantage of its benefits.

How many students and teachers, and what universities have already benefited from the Program over more than 10 years of its implementation?
697 undergraduate students, and 484 teachers and master’s students, i.e. a total of 1181 people from four regional Kazakhstani universities. We are talking about such higher educational institutions of Kazakhstan as the Yessenov University in Aktau, the Korkyt Ata Kyzylorda University, Karaganda Medical University and now, Manash Kozybayev North Kazakhstan University in Petropavlovsk. A university in East Kazakhstan region became the fifth participant in the Program.

In your opinion, why do regional universities require the Yessenov Foundation English Language Program?
Nowadays, the better command of English you have, the better specialist you are. It makes you are more aware of the latest trends. And since the problem is acute in the regions, we are implementing the Program exclusively at regional universities in Kazakhstan.

Thank you for the interview, Aigerym.

2.07.24, Newsfeed, Newsfeed

Seen by: 65

Другие новости

В KOZYBAYEV UNIVERSITY ЗАВЕРШИЛАСЬ ПРОГРАММА АНГЛИЙСКОГО

Завершилась двухлетняя программа английского языка, которую Yessenov Foundation проводит с 2013 года в региональных университетах Казахстана. В 2022-2024 гг. благотворительный фонд реализовывал её в Kozybayev University. 301 студент и преподаватель успешно завершил обучение по программе, улучшив свои знания английского. А 50 лучших северо-казахстанских студентов и преподавателей сдали IELTS за счет фонда. О том, как проходила и с какими результатами завершилась программа, расскажет её менеджер Айгерим Султан.

Расположенный в Петропавловске Kozybayev University выиграл конкурс программы английского языка научно-образовательного фонда им. академика Шахмардана Есенова весной 2022 года. Тогда в нём участвовало 18 вузов. Суть программы: каждую неделю учебного года студенты и преподаватели победившего университета, прошедшие предварительный отбор, проходят 2 занятия с сертифицированными преподавателями – носителями языка; по итогам каждого академического года лучшие из них сдают IELTS за счёт фонда Есенова.

Айгерим, сколько студентов и преподавателей приняло участие в программе в Kozybayev University?
В первый год по ней обучалось 93 бакалавра и 74 преподавателя и магистранта, а во второй – 77 и 105 человек соответственно. Т.е. в общей сложности 349 человек участвовали в программе, 301 из них дошёл, что называется, до финала. Отток студентов был связан со сложностью программы, трудностями постижения иностранного языка с его носителями и большой академической либо профессиональной загруженностью.

Мог ли участник программы первого года быть отобранным и для второго года обучения?
Да, участники первого года могли продолжать обучение. Было достаточно много таких ребят.

Как проходило обучение?
Занятия проходили в онлайн формате дважды в неделю по 90 минут. Курсы проводили носители языка, профессиональные преподаватели. Учебная программа включала много практических занятий. Участники развивали, как устную, так и письменную речь.

Как вы замеряли изменения уровня владения английским у участников программы и каковы результаты?
Чтобы оценить прогресс участников, дважды в течение учебного года преподаватели программы проводили тесты на знание грамматики и экзамен по разговорной речи (speaking). По результатам можно сказать, что все участники повысили свои знания английского языка не менее чем на один уровень. Т.е., если в начале года студент имел уровень A2 (Pre-Intermediate), то к концу уже B1 (Intermediate). У участников программы увеличился словарный запас, улучшилась письменная и разговорная речь. А самые продвинутые студенты программы английского языка фонда им. Шахмардана Есенова в Kozybayev University прошли хорошую практику, готовясь к IELTS. В итоге, за 2 года обучения 28 участников перешли на уровень C2, 44C1, 62B2 и 101 человек – на уровень B1.

Задав несколько вопросов Айгерим, мы спросили у участников программы, что они думают о ней.

Дария Тулегенова, 4 курс, общая медицина:
Аудиоуроки, видеоматериалы, интерактивные задания – всё это делало процесс обучения интересным и динамичным. Преподаватель всегда был готов объяснить сложные моменты. Я стала увереннее говорить и лучше понимать.

Темирлан Есмагамбет, 1 курс, информационные системы в управлении:
– Плюсы: отзывчивый преподаватель и хороший материал для подготовки к IELTS. Из минусов – формат уроков – онлайн, спустя время интерес угасает.

Чингиз Даулетбаев, интерн, врач общей практики:
– За 2 года я повысил свой уровень с Elementary до Upper Intermediate. В нашем городе нет языковой среды, и Yessenov Foundation помог решить эту проблему. Я получил возможность общаться с носителем языка, развивать свои навыки listening, пополнять словарный запас. Было бы здорово, если бы на writing уделили больше учебного времени.

Диляра Сейдахметова, библиотекарь университета:
– Я работаю, и раньше не находила времени на английский, но благодаря программе в нашем вузе не только занялась языком, но и смогла сдать IELTS. Спасибо нашему преподавателю Энтони.

Гульнур Мажитова, магистр, старший преподаватель кафедры «География и экология»:
– Курс был интересным. Так как преподавал носитель языка, мы слышали и запоминали правильное произношение, интонацию, ударения. Он уделял большое внимание диалогу с нами. Правда, были проблемы с качеством интернет-соединения у преподавателя. Но тем не менее, после обучения в программе я однозначно лучше понимаю английскую речь.

Вернувшись к менеджеру программы английского языка Yessenov Foundation Айгерим Султан, мы задали ей ещё несколько вопросов.

Айгерим, а сколько студентов, кем и как было отобрано для сдачи IELTS? Как они сдали экзамен?
По результатам тестирования и с учётом общей посещаемости за два года (в конце каждого года отбирается по 25 человек) мы выбрали 50 лучших слушателей курсов для сдачи экзаменов IELTS по гранту фонда. Выбор делали преподаватели – Нейтан Махер и Энтони Дюрант. 60% решал финальный тест, 20% – посещаемость, 10% – домашняя работа, 10% – вовлечённость учащихся в процесс. Экзамены IELTS 16 и 17 июня проводил British Council. Они состоялись в стенах Kozybayev University офлайн. Самые высокие баллы – 7.5 и 8 – на экзамене получили студенты-первокурсники Михаил Верещагин и Никон Веремейчик и преподаватели Альбина Бунина, Дарина Малдыбаева, Татьяна Ширина. Ещё четверо учащихся программы получили 7 баллов за экзамен. Это очень высокие показатели.

Где программа английского языка Yessenov Foundation пройдёт в 2024-2026 гг.?
Мы реализуем её в Восточно-Казахстанском техническом университете им. Д.Серикбаева. Он выиграл конкурс, который мы провели этой весной. Вуз оказался лучшим среди 11 учебных заведений Казахстана, подавших заявки. Как мы ожидаем, ок. 320 учащихся и преподавателей вуза смогут в ближайшие два года повысить свой уровень владения английским языком благодаря программе фонда. По традиции, 50 лучших участников сдадут IELTS за наш счёт. Следующий конкурс программы английского языка мы планируем провести весной 2026 года, чтобы определить региональный вуз, который сможет воспользоваться её преимуществами.

Сколько студентов и преподавателей каких университетов уже смогли ими воспользоваться за более чем 10 лет существования программы?
697 студентов бакалавриата и 484 преподавателя и магистранта, т.е. в общей сложности 1181 человек из 4 региональных казахстанских университетов. Речь о таких высших учебных заведениях Казахстана, как нынешний Yessenov University в Актау, Кызылординский университет им. Коркыт-ата, Карагандинский медицинский университет и вот теперь Северо-Казахстанский университет им. Козыбаева в Петропавловске. Вуз в Восточном Казахстане стал пятым участником программы.

Зачем, как Вы считаете, региональным вузам программа английского фонда Есенова?
Сегодня, чем лучше ты знаешь английский, тем лучше знаешь свою специальность и самые свежие тренды в ней. И поскольку проблема остра именно в регионах, мы реализуем программу исключительно в региональных университетах Казахстана.

Благодарим за интервью, Айгерим.

2.07.24, Новости, Новости

Просмотров: 169

Другие новости