YESSENOV FOUNDATION: 69% OF STUDENTS IMPROVED THEIR ENGLISH

The first semester of the English language program by Yessenov Foundation completed at the Kozybayev University in Petropavlovsk. Teachers Nathan Maher and Anthony Graham Durrant conducted tests and found that 111 students (69%) were able to improve their foreign language skills. Classes of the second semester will begin on January 23.

We asked Yessenov Foundation Program Coordinator Aigerim Sultan to comment on the results of the first half of the year.

– When the educational process began in October, the students were divided into groups according to the results of preliminary testing. Most of the participants – 88 – of Elementary and Pre-Intermediate levels, 73 are assigned to the Intermediate, Upper Intermediate and Advanced levels. However, if a student or teacher participated in the program felt that classes were difficult or, on the contrary, easy, they had the right to transfer to a group of another level during the first three weeks of the program. Six participants left the program for various reasons, – A. Sultan said.

As for the progress, according to the representative of the foundation, it was shown by the majority of students. For example, Advanced level students demonstrated an improvement in knowledge from 3 to 20%, and Elementary level students – from 3 to 15%. However, 13 participants of the program worsened their indicators during the time that passed between autumn and winter testing, albeit slightly – from 3 to 7%.

– At the end of December, all participants passed the exam – writing task and grammar test. According to the results, the dynamics is positive. For some students (mainly those with low indicators), we recommend shifting the group and after the holidays we will make the necessary moves. I think the classes will be more effective for these students since then,” said Anthony Durrant, a teacher of the program. – Also at the end of January, those 26 students who, for good reasons, could not pass the exam earlier, will pass it, – he added.

Kozybayev University won the competition of regional universities held by the Yessenov Foundation in 2022, and received the right to conduct the foundation’s English language program with its students for two years. According to the program implemented by Yessenov Foundationin partnership with Bonas MacFarlane Kazakhstan, currently 98 students and 63 teachers of the North Kazakhstan university are studying. The Foundation provides with free tuition all 161 students and teachers that participate in the program. 90 minutes classes are held twice a week. After the winter holidays, they will resume and last until May 2023. New students will be selected at the university for the next academic year.

Earlier the winners of the English Language Program competition were the Yessenov University, Korkyt Ata Kyzylorda University and Karaganda Medical University. Since 2020, the program is carried out online. Since its launch in 2013, 825 Kazakhstanis have already improved their English through participation in it.

23.01.23, Newsfeed, Newsfeed

Seen by: 141

Другие новости

YESSENOV FOUNDATION: 69% СТУДЕНТОВ УЛУЧШИЛИ АНГЛИЙСКИЙ

В Северо-Казахстанском университете им. М.Козыбаева (Kozybayev University) в Петропавловске завершился первый семестр программы английского языка. Преподаватели Натан Махер и Энтони Грэм Дюррант провели тесты и выяснили, что 111 учащихся (69%) смогли улучшить свои знания иностранного. Занятия второго семестра начнутся 23 января.

Прокомментировать результаты первого полугодия мы попросили координатора программ Yessenov Foundation Айгерим Султан.

– Когда в октябре начался учебный процесс, учащихся разбили на группы в соответствии с результатами предварительного тестирования. Большая часть участников – 88 – уровней Elementary и Pre-Intermediate, 73 отнесены к уровням: Intermediate, Upper Intermediate и Advanced. Однако, если студент или преподаватель чувствовал, что занятия даются тяжело или напротив – легко, у него было право перевестись в группу другого уровня в течение первых трёх недель программы. Шесть участников покинули программу по различным причинам, – рассказала А.Султан.

Что касается прогресса, по словам представительницы фонда, его показало большинство учащихся обоих преподавателей. К примеру, обучающиеся уровня Advanced продемонстрировали улучшение знаний от 3 до 20%, а студенты уровня Elementary – от 3 до 15%. Однако, 13 участников программы ухудшили свои показатели за время, прошедшее между осенним и зимним тестированием, хоть и незначительно – от 3 до 7%.

– В конце декабря все участники сдали промежуточный экзамен: writing task и grammar test. По результатам динамика положительная. Некоторым студентам (в основном тем, у кого низкие показатели) мы рекомендуем поменять группу и после каникул сделаем необходимые перемещения. Думается, занятия пойдут для этих ребят более эффективно, – сообщил преподаватель Энтони Дюррант. – Также в конце января экзамен сдадут те 26 студентов, которые по уважительным причинам не смогли этого сделать ранее, – добавил он.

Напомним, Kozybayev University выиграл в конкурсе региональных вузов, проведенных Yessenov Foundation в 2022 году, и получил право проводить программу английского языка фонда со своими студентами в течение двух лет. По программе, осуществляемой фондом им. академика Ш.Есенова в партнерстве с Bonas MacFarlane Kazakhstan, на данный момент обучается 98 студентов и 63 преподавателя североказахстанского вуза. Фонд оплачивает обучение всем обучающимся (161). Занятия проходят дважды в неделю по 90 минут. После зимних каникул они возобновятся и продлятся по май 2023 года. На следующий учебный год в университете будет проведен отбор новых студентов.

Победителями конкурса программы английского языка Yessenov Foundation в разные годы были КГУТИ им. Ш.Есенова (ныне – Yessenov University), Кызылординский университет им. Коркыт Ата и Медицинский университет Караганды. С 2020 года обучение по программе проходит онлайн. С момента ее старта в 2013 году свой английский язык через участие в ней уже улучшили 825 казахстанцев.

23.01.23, Новости, Новости

Просмотров: 143

Другие новости