Aidana Kurmasheva

Specialization: mobile and web development. Internship: Cleo Labs, USA.

Aidana is from quite a large Almaty family by today’s standards: she is one of four siblings. She’s 23. When she is not engage in development (and the work takes her 10 hours a day), she watches programs about traveling. She likes them even more than the trips themselves. However, in times of a pandemic, this is understandable. At the same time, the developer is looking for an idea to create her own startup. We are sure that one day it may happen, it’s all in her hands. In the meantime, she shares with you experience in an American startup.

Tell us about the startup where you were trained?
The startup I worked for is called Cleo. The main office is located in San Francisco, as well as startups of Yerassyl and Aigerym (also the winners of the IT internship program of the Yessenov Science and Education Foundation). This is a platform for parents, based on an application where the user receives pieces of advice from specialists in children’s health. We sell this feature to companies, and they provide access to our app to their employees as part of a social package. The startup has already received $ 27.5 million in investment and continues to grow.

What were you responsible for and how did you spend your time away from the office?
I was a full-stack developer (i.e., back-end and front-end development). I added new functionality to the app, worked on the control panel to make it more user-friendly, as well as worked on some other projects. Over the period of six months the company has changed a lot, even in terms of CEO. Our team has spent a lot of time together and I have made new friends in my life. In our free time, we managed to visit New York and Los Angeles. Every week we held some kind of event. We played volleyball, participated in a Halloween costume contest, or went to a startup conference (Denver Startup Week). We had a lot of fun at the annual corporate party.

It’s great that there was more than just work. What have You achieved professionally?
It’s important to me that I have become a full-stack developer by adding some front-end experience to my skills. The internship helped me learn and analyze how startups work from the inside. I saw how many processes in product development change flexibly and quickly, worked with very cool specialists from Uruguay, Argentina, and the United States and use their experience. At the end of the internship, I received an offer to stay and continue working with Cleo and accepted it.

What’s next?
I work with the startup further, already from Kazakhstan. I am close to the company’s mission, and, importantly, I like what I am doing now, so there are no plans to change anything in the near future. The only drawback: the time difference with the States, you have to work at night. This is inconvenient. I would like to follow the example of other startups and gather a team in Kazakhstan. But due to the situation in the world and in the market, it would be impossible in the near future. Like many other companies in the US, Cleo has had to reduce the staff to optimize costs. But the COVID-19 pandemic also gave the company an opportunity to think about new projects. That’s what we’re all working on right now.

27.05.20, Stories

Seen by: 868

Айдана Курмашева

Специализация: мобильная и веб-разработка. Стажировка: Cleo Labs, США.

Айдана из большой по нынешним меркам алматинской семьи: в ней четверо детей. Ей 23. Когда она не занята разработкой (а работа занимает у нее 10 часов в день), то смотрит передачи про путешествия. Они нравятся ей даже больше, чем сами путешествия. Впрочем, во времена пандемии это и понятно. Параллельно разработчица ищет идею для создания собственного стартапа. Уверены: когда-нибудь это может произойти, все в ее руках. А пока она делится с вами опытом работы в американском стартапе.

Расскажите про стартап, в котором стажировались?
Стартап, в котором я работала, называется Cleo. Главный офис находится в Сан-Франциско, как и стартапы Ерасыла и Айгерим (также победителей программы IT-стажировок фонда им. Есенова). Это  платформа  для  родителей, ее основа — приложение, в котором пользователь получает консультации от специалистов по детскому здравоохранению. Мы продаем эту возможность компаниям, а те предоставляют доступ в наше приложение своим сотрудникам, как часть социального пакета. Стартап уже получил 27,5 миллионов долларов инвестиций и продолжает расти.

За что Вы там отвечали и как проводили время вне офиса?
Я была full-stack разработчиком (это back-end и front-end разработка). Добавляла новый функционал в приложение, делала панель  управления  более  удобной для пользования, были и еще проекты. За полгода компания сильно изменилась, сменился даже СЕО. Наша команда проводила много времени вместе, и в моей жизни появились новые друзья. В свободное время мы успели побывать в Нью-Йорке и Лос-Анджелесе. Каждую неделю у нас проводились какие-либо мероприятия. То в волейбол играем,  то участвуем в соревновании костюмов на Хэллоуин, то едем на конференцию стартаперов (побывала на Denver Startup Week). Хорошо повеселились на ежегодном корпоративе.

Замечательно, что была не только работа. Чего Вам удалось добиться в профессиональном плане?
Для меня важно, что я стала full-stack разработчиком, добавив опыт front-end. Стажировка помогла мне узнать и  проанализировать то, как стартапы работают изнутри. Я увидела, как многие процессы в разработке продукта гибко и оперативно меняются, поработала с очень крутыми специалистами из Уругвая, Аргентины, США и использую их опыт. В конце стажировки получила предложение остаться и продолжить работать с Cleo и приняла его.

Что дальше?
Работаю со стартапом и дальше, уже из Казахстана. Мне близка миссия компании, и, что важно, нравится то, чем я сейчас занимаюсь, поэтому планов менять что-либо в ближайшее время нет. Единственный минус: разница во времени со Штатами, приходится работать в ночное время. Это неудобно. Хотелось бы последовать примеру других стартапов, и собрать команду в Казахстане. Но из-за ситуации в мире и на рынке, в ближайшее время это пока лишь мечта. Как и многие другие компании в США, Cleo вынужден был сократить сотрудников, чтобы оптимизировать расходы. Но пандемия COVID-19 дала компании и возможность подумать над новыми проектами. Над чем мы сейчас все и работаем.

27.05.20, Истории

Просмотров: 389