Yerassyl Diyas

Specialization: Software Engineer. Internship: POWr.

25-year-old Yerasyl modestly notes that his coolest achievements so far are graduation from the university in the capital and victory in the scholarship competition of the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation. We should add that the latter helped him undergo an internship at one of the American startups and seriously improve his level as a professional.

He likes outdoor activities, spends a lot of time for skiing and snowboarding in winter, and when he trained in California, he even tried surfing. Like most Almaty residents, he adores mountains, but makes a note: “I’m not a fan of climbing the mountains, I would better get to the top by helicopter and set up a camp there.”

How did you come to be involved in IT?
This happened at the university. In my first year at the Foundation, I thought I’d go to Civil Engeneering. I liked engineering TV programs – “Big, bigger the biggest”, etc., which described how the largest projects in the world (dams, bridges) were built. My friend with whom I shared the room – Anuar Serikov – was a cool programmer, and somehow he influenced me so that I suddenly decided to go in for computer science.

What discovery did you personally make during your internship?
Before my internship in Silicon Valley, I already managed to work in my startup in Kazakhstan. My work there was not much different from what I see here on every day. Indeed, today, thanks to the Internet, any individual in the world has access to information, and in general, everyone uses similar practices. However, there is one significant difference in the work, this is the opportunity for cooperation. We do not have them, but in the Valley and San Francisco there are simply a huge number of IT companies. This simplifies cooperation, it is easier to discuss problems and agree with them, because they are at arm’s length. For example, the guys from Paypal and Shopify came to us in POWr, as we were actively working with their platforms, and we discussed collaboration.

What did you do during your internship?
I worked in POWr.io, they are developing web plugins to create additional functionality on platforms for creating websites or online stores. The main customers of the company are small businesses; they cannot afford to hire programmers for constructing a site. In addition, most platforms have a limited set of functionality, and POWr.io creates more opportunities for users. The first 3 months I was involved in the development of the Front End part, handling the plug-in settings, correcting the flaws, introducing new functionality. After that I joined the server team, where I worked with internal systems, optimized the site and assembly, and corrected errors in the payment system.

Did you succeed?
Yes, I rewrote several plug-in settings, this improved the quality of the code without changing the functionality. Integrated several new platforms into our system. In general, all my projects were related to site optimization and server cost reduction. I got technical skills, learned how startups in the USA work.

What’s next?
When i returned to Almaty, I continue working with POWr remotely. Even before that, the company opened a small office in Almaty Tech Garden, last year it was expanded to 17 people, very soon we will hire a few more specialists, and we will recruit interns.

16.01.20, Stories

Seen by: 1,547

Ерасыл Дияс

Специализация: инженер программного обеспечения. Стажировка: стартап POWr.

25-летний Ерасыл скромно отмечает, что его самые крутые достижения пока это окончание университета в столице и победа в грантовом конкурсе Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation. Добавим, что последнее помогло ему пройти стажировку в одном из американских стартапов и серьезно повысить свой уровень, как профессионала.

Он любит активный отдых, зимой много катается на лыжах и сноуборде, а, когда стажировался в Калифорнии, даже попробовал серфинг. Как и большинство алматинцев, обожает горы, но тут же оговаривается: «Я не фанат процесса подъема в горы, мне бы на вертолете сразу наверх и разбить там лагерь».

Как же вышло, что Вы оказались в IT сфере?
Это произошло уже в вузе. В первый год обучения на Foundation думал, что пойду на Civil Engeneering (что-то вроде гражданского строительства). Увлекался передачами про инженерию — “Big, bigger the biggest” и др., где рассказывалось, как строились самые большие проекты в мире (дамбы, мосты). Мой друг, с которым я делил комнату, — Ануар Сериков — был крутым программистам, и он каким-то образом повлиял на меня так, что я внезапно решил пойти на компьютерные науки (Computer Science).

Какое открытие для себя лично Вы сделали во время стажировки?
До стажировки в Кремниевой долине я уже успел поработать в своем стартапе в Казахстане. И работа там не сильно отличалась от того, с чем я сталкивался и здесь ежедневно. Ведь сегодня благодаря интернету у любого человека в мире есть доступ к информации, и в целом все используют похожие практики. Но, есть одно существенное различие в работе, это возможности для сотрудничества. У нас их нет, в долине же и Сан-Франциско расположено просто огромное количество IT-компаний. Это упрощает кооперацию, легче обсуждать проблемы и договариваться с ними, ведь они на расстоянии вытянутой руки. К примеру, к нам в POWr приходили ребята из Paypal и Shopify, с платформами которых активно работаем, и мы обсуждали совместную работу.

Чем занимались на стажировке?
Я работал в компании POWr.io, они занимаются разработкой веб плагинов для создания  дополнительного функционала на платформах по созданию сайтов или интернет-магазинов. Основные  клиенты компании это малый бизнес, они не могут позволить себе нанять программистов для создания сайта. К тому же, большинство платформ имеет ограниченный набор функционала, а POWr.io создает для пользователей больше возможностей. Первые 3 месяца занимался разработкой  клиентской стороны (Front End), возился с настройками плагинов, исправлял недочеты, внедрял новый функционал. А после присоединился к команде серверной части, где работал над внутренними системами, оптимизировал сайт и сборку, исправлял ошибки в системе оплаты.

Успешно?
Да, переписал несколько настроек плагинов, это  улучшило качество кода без изменения функционала. Интегрировал в нашу систему несколько новых платформ. В целом все мои проекты были связаны с оптимизацией сайта и сокращением расходов по серверам. Приобрел технические навыки, узнал, как работают стартапы в США.

Что дальше?
Вернувшись в Алматы, продолжаю работать с POWr удаленно. Еще до этого компания открыла небольшой офис в Almaty Tech Garden, в прошлом году его расширили до 17  человек, совсем скоро наймем еще несколько специалистов, набираем стажеров.

16.01.20, Истории

Просмотров: 868