Berik Kaliullaev

Specialization: General medicine. Master’s degree: Paris (Tour), Barcelona, Edinburgh.

Berik is 26. He is from East Kazakhstan, graduated from the Asfendiyarov Kazakh National Medical University, won the scientific internship and master’s degree study programmes of the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation, and completed an internship at the University of Colorado. The young physician plans to continue his studies as a resident, specialising in a particular field. He also naturally has plans for doctoral studies. How did he end up studying abroad, and what useful things did the young Kazakh learn from almost a year and a half of studying at three European universities?

After completing your internship in the United States, you participated in the Oslo University Summer School on international health problems. What exactly have you studied there?
I studied for two months. I learned about the challenges facing global health today. The most important thing for me personally in that course was understanding how small our planet is and how a problem being experienced by one region can instantly become a global problem.

The foundation’s master’s programme has now been discontinued, and you are one of its last beneficiaries. What universities did you study at during the year, and what useful things did you learn?
I spent my first semester at the University of Tours, near Paris. I focused my studies on understanding the molecular basis of infectious diseases: how a pathogen interacts with a macroorganism, what mechanisms infectious agents use to “parasitise” in the body, and how the problem of antibiotic resistance can become a disaster. In January, I moved to Barcelona, where I studied zoonotic infections; before the pandemic, we attended lectures on coronaviruses. In March, we switched to online learning. A separate discipline was devoted to food safety and infectious diseases. One example is brucellosis, an urgent problem for Kazakhstan, which can be infected by eating dairy products and meat of a sick animal. A semester at Edinburgh, Scotland, consisted of applied subjects. These are essential for the development of scientific research skills: biostatistics, the use of laboratory animals, research methods in biomedicine. So a year flew by, or rather a year and a half, in a nutshell.

Besides science, what else did you find interesting while studying in these countries?
I managed to live in three countries at once, each of them with its own unique and distinctive culture. In France, I visited several castles in the Loire Valley. I was deeply impressed by their magnificence, beauty and, of course, history. For example, during the Second World War, the beautiful portico of the Château de Chenonceau was used as a bridge connecting the German occupation zone and the French free zone. In Barcelona, it was truly a revelation to learn that the Spaniards consider the Catalans to be a calculating and stingy people. The Catalans themselves, of course, do not agree with this. Edinburgh impressed with its unique architecture, harmoniously blending into the emerald-green hills of the surrounding landscape. This is perhaps the first city I have visited in my life where the air is so clean and there is no smog; what’s more, the water here is the purest. And yes, men and boys in Scotland wear kilts during special occasions and celebrations. If at our weddings, the focus is always on the bride in a magnificent fluffy white dress, then here, they concentrate on the groom, dressed in a uniquely-decorated kilt checkered to match the lucky lad’s ancestral clan.

As the winner of two challenging programmes of the foundation, what do you wish for 19-20 year olds?
I’d say it is not easy to give general advice, because everyone has their own path… The main thing is to dream and to set goals for yourself, and then, as they say, it’s all about the technique. It is also important to not despair if something fails to work out, as even a negative experience can be an experience that gives way to new opportunities.

 

17.12.20, Stories

Seen by: 603

Берик Калиуллаев

Специализация: общая медицина. Магистратура: Париж (Тур), Барселона, Эдинбург.

Берику 26, он из Восточного Казахстана, выпускник КазНМУ им. Асфендиярова, победитель программ научных стажировок и обучения в магистратуре фонда им. Есенова, прошел стажировку в университете Колорадо. Молодой медик планирует продолжить обучение в резидентуре, получить специализацию. Не оставляет и планов на докторантуру. Как прошло обучение за границей, и что полезного казахстанец вынес из почти полутора лет учебы в трех европейских университетах?

После прохождения стажировки в США вы учились в летней школе университета Осло, посвященной международным проблемам здравоохранения. Чему Вы там научились?
Учился два месяца. Узнал, с какими проблемами сталкивается глобальное здравоохранение сегодня. Самым важным для меня лично в том курсе было понимание того, насколько мала наша планета и как проблема одного региона может мгновенно стать глобальной проблемой.

Программы магистратуры в фонде сейчас уже нет, Вы один из ее последних участников. В каких университетах вы обучились за год и что полезного узнали?
Первый семестр я провёл в Университете города Тура недалеко от Парижа. Сосредоточился на изучении молекулярных основ инфекционных заболеваний: как патоген взаимодействует с макроорганизмом, какие механизмы используют инфекционные агенты для «паразитирования» в организме, как проблема устойчивости к антибиотикам может стать катастрофой. В январе переехал в Барселону, где изучал зоонозные инфекции; до начала пандемии были лекции и по коронавирусам. В марте мы перешли на онлайн обучение. Отдельная дисциплина была посвящена пищевой безопасности и инфекционным болезням. Один из примеров — бруцеллёз, актуальная проблема для Казахстана, им можно заразиться, употребляя молочные продукты и мясо больного животного. Семестр в шотландском Эдинбурге состоял из прикладных дисциплин. Они необходимы для развития навыков проведения научных исследований: биостатистика, использование лабораторных животных, методы исследования в биомедицине. Так пролетел год, точнее полтора, если очень коротко.

Что интересного кроме науки было во время обучения в этих странах?
Мне удалось пожить сразу в трёх странах, у каждой своя уникальная и самобытная культура. Во Франции посетил несколько замков долины реки Луары. Они поразили меня своим великолепием, красотой и, конечно, историей. К примеру, красивейшая галерея замка Шенонсо во время Второй мировой войны служила мостом между зоной немецкой оккупации и свободной французской зоной. В Барселоне открытием было узнать, что испанцы считают каталонцев людьми расчётливыми и скупыми. Сами каталонцы с этим, конечно, не согласны. Эдинбург поразил уникальной архитектурой, она гармонично вписывается в изумрудно-зелёные холмы местного ландшафта. Это, пожалуй, первый в моей жизни город, где такой чистый воздух и никакого смога, да и вода здесь чистейшая. И да, мужчины и мальчики в Шотландии носят килты во время торжественных мероприятий. Если на наших свадьбах в центре внимания всегда невеста в пышном белом платье, то здесь – жених, облачённый в килт с уникальным узором, клетки которого соответствует родовому клану.

Как победитель двух сложных программ фонда, что Вы можете пожелать 19-20-летним студентам?
Непросто давать общие советы, ведь у каждого свой путь… Главное – мечтать и ставить цели, а дальше, как говорится, дело техники. Важно также не отчаиваться, если что-то не получается, ведь даже негативный опыт – это опыт, который дарит новые возможности.

17.12.20, Истории

Просмотров: 977