Aslan Tabyldiyev

Specialization: Chemical Engineering. Master’s degree: University of California, Berkeley, USA.

In the spring of 2017, Aslan Tabyldiev from Atyrau learned that he had won a grant from the Shakhmardan Yessenov Science and Education Foundation to study for a Masters abroad. Today, the 24-year-old Kazakh has the difficult competition, a year of study at the University in Berkeley and return home behind him. It’s time to understand what will happen next.

Tell me about your studies, Aslan.
I continued my education in chemical engineering. The goal of my program is to become a highly qualified specialist in the field of transforming technical innovations into commercially successful products. Within chemical engineering, I specialised in microelectronics and power systems. I studied the manufacturing processes of microchips and optimization of different types of energy systems. Now I know how to create and promote a new products in the field of chemical engineering, various microchip designs, I understand how integrated circuits function, and how machine learning is used in energy.

Was there a practical element in addition to the theory?
Naturally. For two months I worked in the university laboratory, where I created my own devices on a silicon plate and tested them for efficiency. In fact, what I studied there is used by international companies like Intel, Micron, Microchip, etc. My final project is consulting for a large company that produces equipment for microchips — Lam Research. Its market capitalization of more than $ 26 billion. The team that I was part of worked for four months to study the new MicroLED technology for use in smartwatches, augmented and virtual reality products, and laptops. So I got a huge amount of knowledge, both theoretical and practical.

What did you leave the States with, what did you bring home?
As for my studies, I take home a master’s degree, having graduated with honors. I was in the top 5 graduate students in engineering. As part of the project with Lam Research, our team studied and analyzed in detail the potential market for this product, we assessed all possible technological and market risks, and made a plan to reduce them. Our team also worked on the technical aspect of the project. The technology is quite complex and has problems with mass production. Therefore, we proposed our own solution. It was highly appreciated by the Technical Director of the company, who took the results of our project into development.

What’s next, Aslan?
Having got back to Kazakhstan I’m thinking about working here where my knowledge can be applied. I already have two offers to work in large oil and gas companies as an engineer. And I would like to do a job that would require my skills in machine learning in the field of energy. Unfortunately, this is not yet possible in our country. I also plan to do a PhD.

11.07.19, Success stories

Seen by: 381

Аслан Табылдиев

Специализация: химическая инженерия. Магистратура: Калифорнийский университет в Беркли, США.

Весной 2017 года Аслан Табылдиев из Атырау узнал, что выиграл грант научно-образовательного фонда им. академика Есенова на обучение в зарубежной магистратуре. Сегодня у 24-летнего казахстанца позади сложный конкурс, год обучения в университете в Беркли и возвращение на родину. Самое время понять, что же будет дальше.

Расскажите об учебе, Аслан.
Я продолжил обучение по специальности химическая инженерия. Цель моей программы — стать высококвалифицированным специалистом в области трансформации технических инноваций в коммерчески успешные продукты. И в рамках химической инженерии я выбрал микроэлектронику и системы энергоснабжения. Я изучил технологические процессы изготовления микрочипов и оптимизации различных видов энергетических систем. Теперь умею создавать и продвигать новый продукт в сфере химической инженерии, различные схемы микрочипов, понимаю, как функционируют интегральные микросхемы, и как применяется машинное обучение в энергетике.

Кроме теории была и практика?
Разумеется. Два месяца я работал в лаборатории университета, где создавал собственные устройства на кремниевой пластине и тестировал их на работоспособность. По сути, то, что я изучил там, используют международные компании Intel, Micron, Microchip и т. д. Мой финальный проект — консультация крупной компании, производящей оборудование для микрочипов — Lam Research. Ее капитализация более 26 миллиардов долларов. Команда, в состав которой я входил, четыре месяца работала над изучением новой технологии MicroLED с целью применения в умных часах, в продуктах с дополненной и виртуальной реальностью, и ноутбуках. Так что я получил огромный багаж знаний, как теоретических, так и практических.

С чем Вы уехали из Штатов, какие результаты привезли домой?
Что касается учебы, то привез домой степень магистра, закончил с отличием. Я вошел в Топ 5 магистрантов в сфере инженерии. В рамках проекта с Lam Research наша команда детально изучила и проанализировала потенциальный рынок для этого продукта, мы оценили все возможные технологические, рыночные риски и составили план по их снижению. Мы работали и над техническим аспектом проекта. Технология довольно-таки сложная и имеет проблемы при массивном производстве. Поэтому мы предложили свой метод решения. Его высоко оценил технический директор компании, взяв результаты нашего проекта в разработку.

Что дальше, Аслан?
Я вернулся в Казахстан и думаю поработать здесь, где мои знания могли бы быть применены. У меня уже есть два предложения на работу в крупных нефтегазовых компаниях в качестве инженера. А еще я хотел бы заниматься работой, которая бы востребовала мои навыки в области машинного обучения в сфере энергетики. Но это пока, к сожалению, невозможно в нашей стране. В моих планах также докторантура.

11.07.19, Истории

Просмотров: 1 171