Aivar Abrashuly

Specialization: physics. Internship: EPFL, Switzerland.

19-year-old Aivar is not one of those funkillers or nerds who touches a ball with a ten foot pole. He loves football since his childhood in Taraz. However, he began to tune into the beat of physics later, in the 7th grade of the Kazakh-Turkish lyceum. Taking part in the Olympiads, he did not notice how he became a student seriously studying this science. Later there was a win in the competition of Academician Sh. Yessenov foundation and a traineeship at the Federal Polytechnic School of Lausanne.

What was the competition for traineeship grant best remembered for?
Other competitors and their stories. Each of the participants deserved this grant, and I was interested to find out what motivates them to pursue science. At the beginning of the second round, I was a little bit excited because I had not participated in such competitions before. Nevertheless, when we started to solve team tasks, the excitement left me, and I was only thinking about how to solve those tasks.

What did you do during the traineeship?
I studied materials with a relatively new stage of substance. It is called topological insulators. My goal was to study the contribution of these insulators to the movement of acoustic waves (sound). I learned to use the COMSOL Multiphysics, which is widely used for analysis and simulation in physics research. I acquired wealth of experience and even managed to travel a bit around the country, since nature in Switzerland just obliged me to do this. By the way, I also did not forget about football. I went to Barcelona, ​​visited the famous Camp Nou football stadium, with what I am happy to the max. During the internship, I discovered a new hobby – hiking.

What did you manage to achieve at the internship, and what did you come short of?
The subject I studied turned out to be more complicated than I expected. During the traineeship, I was not able to complete the work to publish it. However, having returned to Kazakhstan, I put the finishing touches to my part of the project and now I am looking forward to good news from the colleagues from Lausanne. We hope that our article will be published in the near future. Another important point for me was that I received a good recommendation from Professor Romain Fleury.

What will happen next?
Now I am looking for companies to undertake my summer traineeship in 2020. I want to try myself in industry to choose what to take up – academic research or industry. I am preparing for the upcoming doctoral exams; I hope to enter a good university. Perhaps I will continue to study topology. And in my free time I prepare schoolchildren for Olympiads. I like to watch their progress – it is inspiring.

29.11.19, Stories

Seen by: 636

Айвар Абрашулы

Специализация: физика. Стажировка: EPFL, Швейцария.

­­19 летний Айвар не из тех зануд-ботаников, что за километр обходят мяч. Он обожает футбол со времен своего детства в Таразе.  А вот к физике начал проникаться позже, в 7 классе казахско-турецкого лицея. Через участие в олимпиадах он и не заметил, как стал студентом, серьезно изучающим эту науку. Позже была победа в конкурсе фонда им. академика Ш.Есенова и стажировка в Федеральной политехнической школе Лозанны.

Чем Вам запомнился конкурс на стажировочный грант?
Другими конкурсантами и их историями. Каждый из участников заслуживал этого гранта, и мне было интересно узнать, а что мотивирует их заниматься наукой. В начале второго тура я был немного взволнован, так как раньше не участвовал в подобных состязаниях. Но когда мы начали решать командные задания, волнение куда-то ушло, и я думал уже лишь о том, как решить те задачи.

Чем занимались на стажировке?
Изучал материалы с относительно новой фазой вещества. Она называется топологические изоляторы. Моя цель была изучить участие этих изоляторов в движении акустических волн (звука). Я учился пользоваться программой COMSOL Multiphysics, которая широко используется для анализа и проведения симуляций в исследованиях по физике. Получил много опыта и даже успел немного попутешествовать по стране, так как природа в Швейцарии просто обязывала меня это сделать. Про футбол я, кстати, тоже не забыл. Съездил в Барселону, побывал на знаменитом футбольном стадионе «Камп Ноу», чему рад безразмерно. Во время стажировки открыл для себя новое увлечение – хайкинг.

Чего удалось добиться на стажировке, а чего – нет?
Тема, которую я изучал, оказалась сложнее, чем я ожидал. За время стажировки мне не удалось завершить работу, чтобы она была опубликована. Но, вернувшись в Казахстан, я доделал свою часть проекта и теперь жду хороших новостей от коллег из Лозанны. Надеемся, что наша статья будет опубликована в ближайшее время. Еще одним важным для меня моментом стало то, что я получил хорошую рекомендацию от профессора Ромена Флери.

Что будет дальше?
Сейчас я ищу компании для своей летней стажировки в 2020 году. Хочу попробовать себя и в промышленности, чтобы выбрать, куда пойти: в академические исследования или индустрию. Готовлюсь к предстоящим экзаменам в докторантуру, надеюсь поступить в хороший университет. Возможно, буду продолжать изучать топологию. А в свободное время готовлю школьников к олимпиадам. Мне нравится наблюдать за их прогрессом, это вдохновляет.

29.11.19, Истории

Просмотров: 635