17 FOR THE FIRST TIME

The Shakhmardan Yessenov Science and Education Foundation research internships program competition is now complete. Having united three laboratory-based scientific internship programs into one, for the first time the foundation is announcing 17 winners at once. The future scientists will spend the summer gaining experience and new skills in the best laboratories of the world. Since the foundation’s establishment in 2013, 79 students from Kazakhstan have been awarded scientific grants.

This year we received a record 238 applications for the program. It was extremely difficult to select the 40 strongest applications for the second round, as we received a large number of deserving applications. Students from KBTU, KazNMU, Nazarbayev University, KazNU, KarSU, ENU, and Satbayev University were invited to the second rounds in Almaty and Astana,” said the foundation’s project manager, Roumissa Bashaeva.

Among the winners this year, the biggest group comprised six students – studying biology and medicine. The list of winners also included physicists, chemists, mathematicians, a future specialist in electronic and computer engineering and even a student with a double specialization in computer science and mathematics. In addition to Astana and Almaty, students from Semey, Karaganda and Kostanay also won.

Aivar Abrashuly, a 2nd year student at Nazarbayev University shared his impressions of the competition with us:
“I am very glad that I managed to win a grant for a scientific internship. Honestly, I had mixed feelings after the second round. I was pleased with how I performed during the selection, but I still wasn’t sure I had succeeded because the level of other participants was also very high. Even if it was luck, I still managed to get to the final. I really appreciate the opportunity given to me and for my part I will try to prove myself in the best possible way during the internship”. Continuing last year’s trend, girls made-up the majority of winners of this year’s competition, taking 10 of the 17 grants.

Elina Darina – a 1st year graduate student at KarSU, who reflected in her essay on gender inequality in science, gave us her thought about the competition.
“I was very surprised by the large number of girls participating in the competition. I am extremely happy that the scientific work and projects of the girls are on the same level as the guys’ – not only in medicine and biology, but also in areas that are traditionally considered to be “male” (IT, physics, etc.).  I hope that thanks to such projects the number of women scientists in our country will grow and not only in terms of quantity, but in terms of quality too”.

The new winners of the competition will now arrange their visas and find out which laboratories they will be trained in. The universities where students from Kazakhstan have completed internships through the foundation’s scientific programs include Princeton, Harvard, Caltech, ETH, MIT, and Oxford, among others.

22.01.19, Foundation's news

Seen by: 513

Другие новости

ВПЕРВЫЕ ИХ 17

Научно-образовательный фонд им. академика Шахмардана Есенова завершил конкурс программы научных стажировок. Объединив три программы научных стажировок в лабораториях в одну единую — впервые фонд анонсирует сразу 17 победителей. Будущие ученые проведут лето получая опыт и новые навыки в лучших лабораториях мира. Таким образом с 2013 года (год основания фонда) — 79 казахстанских студентов вступили в клуб победителей научных грантов фонда.

— В этом году мы получили рекордные 238 заявки на участие в конкурсном отборе программы. Отобрать 40 самых сильных заявок для второго тура было очень непросто, так как мы получили большое количество очень достойных заявок. На второй тур в Алматы и Астане были приглашены студенты КБТУ, КазНМУ им. Асфендиярова, Nazarbayev University, КарГУ им. Е. А. Букетова, и Satbayev University, — рассказала менеджер проектов фонда Роумиса Башаева.

Среди победителей этого года больше всего — шестеро — изучающих биологию и медицину. В списке победителей также оказались физики, химики, математики, будущий специалист по электронной и компьютерной инженерии, и даже студент с двойной специализацией в компьютерных науках и математике. Помимо Астаны и Алматы, одержавшие победу в конкурсе, представляют такие города Казахстана, как Семей, Караганда, и Костанай.

Победитель конкурса, Айвар Абрашулы, студент 2 курса Nazarbayev University, поделился с нами своими впечатлениями.
— Я очень рад, что мне удалось выиграть грант научных стажировок. Честно говоря, у меня было двоякое чувство после второго тура. Я был доволен тем как показал себя на отборе. Но все равно сомневался   в успехе, ведь уровень остальных участников тоже был очень высоким. Пусть даже с долей везения, но мне все же удалось пройти в финал. Я очень ценю предоставленную мне возможность, и со своей стороны постараюсь проявить себя лучшим образом во время стажировки.

Продолжая тенденцию прошлого года, девушки составили доминирующую часть победителей конкурса этого года – отстояв за собой 10 из 17 грантов.

Элина Дарина – магистрант 1 курса КарГу им. Е. А. Букетова, которая в своем эссе задалась вопросом гендерного неравенства в науке — рассказала нам о своем впечатление о конкурсе.
— Меня очень удивило большое количество девушек, участвующих в конкурсе. Безумно радует, что научная работа и проекты девушек находятся на абсолютно том же уровне, что и у парней – и не только в медицине, биологии, но и в сферах, которые считаются традиционно «мужскими» (IT, физика и др.).  Надеюсь, что благодаря такого рода проектам число женщин-ученых в нашей стране будет расти, и не столько в плане количества, сколько в плане качества, — поделилась Элина.

Сейчас для победителей конкурса начался период подготовки виз и окончательного определения лабораторий, в которых им предстоит стажироваться. Среди университетов, в которых студенты из Казахстана прошли стажировки в рамках научных программ фонда, присутствуют такие вузы, как Принстонский, Гарвардский, Калтех, ETH, MIT, и Оксфордский университеты.

22.01.19, Новости фонда

Просмотров: 1 533

Другие новости