Zhanybek Nazymbek

Specialization: General medicine. Winner of the Yessenov scholarship.

Zhanybek (22) is from Shymkent. He is now a fifth-year student at the Ahmet Yassawi University. Zhanybek headed the university’s student research society. He knows a little Turkish, and speaks Uzbek and English. He also focuses on self-development: he managed to raise his GPA to 3.2 within a year. In 2019, he won the prestigious Yessenov Scholarship.

The student participated in several scientific conferences in Tashkent, Karagandy, Almaty and Semey. Last year, as part of the annual medical forum, he also participated in a master class on radiological (X-ray) assessment of the effectiveness of therapy in oncology. The future doctor does not shy away from work. Up to his fourth year, he worked as a waiter in a recreation area, took odd jobs as a cell phone programmer and repair technician (he is well versed in cell phones since his school days, as he has always been fascinated by technology).

When and how did you decide to link your profession with medicine?
As far back as my second or third year at school. My grandma and mom helped me get my bearings. My family taught me to help those who need help, in whatever situation.

Was it difficult to win the Yessenov Scholarship contest?
It was something completely new to me. It was interesting to meet wonderful people and interesting peers. Despite the fact that we were all from different spheres, we managed to make friends. I still remember all the games that I participated in at that time as if it were yesterday. I even remember the competition date – March 31.

Did the scholarship help you in any way?
I spent the scholarship on my own needs. My vision deteriorated; I bought glasses. I sometimes supported my family financially, and bought books to read.

By the way, what have you read over the past year that you particularly liked?
The autobiography of neurosurgeon Paul Kalanithi “When Breath Becomes Air”. In it, he describes his life before and after his illness. While helping save other people’s lives, he could not have imagined that at 36, a disease – lung cancer, would come knocking at his door. Everything has changed, and here was the man lying in a hospital bed waiting for the test results… Nevertheless, the illness did not prevent him from continuing to work, perform operations, start to love his loved ones more, and even become a father. This is the book of a man whose last days were filled with life far more than death. The book also taught me to appreciate and value life, every moment, and to understand that it is NEVER too late to start something, and you DO NOT NEED to postpone something for later.

What are you interested in besides medicine, Zhanybek?
A lot. I like exploring and discovering something new. It’s like a hobby for me. For instance, I can do logistics on the railway, or can work as a signalman.

What is interesting in your life now, and what should we expect?
This year, I participated in the creation of a medical center in Shymkent. I plan to open an ophthalmology department there after graduating. And earlier this year, before the coronavirus pandemic, I won the competition for the German DAAD programme. Its winners are English-speaking students of world universities who get to visit Germany and there, work and study with professors and students of German universities, improve their English, as well as gain new knowledge and experience. Three German universities have expressed their readiness to accept us. Winning such a competition and getting an invitation is not easy even for specialist: associate professors, PhD holders, and highly-experienced professors. Unfortunately, due to the current situation in the world, the trip is still in question. Hopefully, we will be able to get through this. I wish you all good health in this difficult time for all of us.

9.07.20, Stories

Seen by: 614

Жаныбек Назимбек

Специализация: общая медицина. Обладатель стипендии Есенова.

Жаныбек (22) родом из Шымкента, теперь он уже пятикурсник международного казахско-турецкого университета имени Х.А.Ясави в Туркестане. Возглавлял студенческое научное общество своего вуза. Немного знает турецкий, говорит на узбекском и английском. Большое внимание уделяет саморазвитию: за год поднял свой GPA до 3.2. В 2019 году выиграл престижную стипендию академика Ш.Есенова.

Студент участвовал в нескольких научных конференциях в Ташкенте, Караганде, Алматы и Семее. А в прошлом году в рамках ежегодного медицинского форума участвовал в мастер-классе по рентгенологической оценке эффективности терапии в онкологии. Будущий медик не чурается работы. За первые четыре курса успел потрудиться официантом в зоне отдыха, занимался программированием и ремонтом сотовых телефонов (в них он неплохо разбирается еще со школы, т.к. всегда увлекался техникой).

Когда и как решили связать свою профессию с медициной?
Еще во 2-3 классе. Помогли сориентироваться мне бабушка и мама. Моя семья научила меня помогать тем, кому нужна помощь, несмотря ни на что.

Тяжело ли было пройти конкурс на стипендию Есенова?
Для меня он был чем-то совершенно новым. Было интересно познакомиться с прекрасными людьми, интересными сверстниками. Несмотря на то, что все мы были из разных сфер, мы успели подружиться. Все игры, в которых мне довелось тогда участвовать, до сих пор помню, как будто это было вчера. Даже дату конкурса запомнил — 31 марта.

Помогла ли Вам чем-то эта стипендия?
Стипендию тратил на свои нужды. Ухудшилось зрение – купил очки. Временами поддерживал финансово родных, покупал книжки для чтения.

Кстати, а что из прочитанного за последний год Вам особенно понравилось?
Автобиография нейрохирурга Пола Каланити «Когда дыхание растворяется в воздухе». В ней он описал свою жизнь до болезни и после. Спасая других, он и предположить не мог, что в 36 лет болезнь сама постучится к нему в дверь: рак легких. Все изменилось и вот он человек, лежащий на больничной койке в ожидании результатов анализов… Но болезнь не помешала ему продолжить работать, проводить операции, начать сильнее любить своих близких и даже стать отцом. Это книга человека, чьи последние дни были наполнены жизнью гораздо больше, чем смертью. Она научила и меня ценить жизнь, каждое ее мгновение и помогла понять, что НИКОГДА не поздно начать что-то, и не НУЖНО откладывать это на потом.

Чем кроме медицины Вы интересуетесь, Жаныбек?
Очень многим. Люблю изучать и открывать что-то новое. Это для меня как хобби. Например, могу заниматься логистикой на железной дороге, могу связистом работать.

Что интересного в Вашей жизни сейчас и что будет дальше?
В этом году участвовал в создании медицинского центра в Шымкенте. Когда закончу университет, планирую открыть в нем отделение офтальмологии. А в начале этого года еще до пандемии коронавируса я победил в конкурсе немецкой программы DAAD. Ее победители — студенты вузов мира, владеющие английским, посещают Германию, работают и учатся с профессорами и студентами немецких вузов, совершенствуют английский, получают новые знания и опыт. Три немецких университета выразили готовность принять нас. Победить в таком конкурсе и получить приглашение нелегко даже специалистам: доцентам, PhD докторам, профессорам с большим стажем. К сожалению, из-за нынешней ситуации в мире, поездка пока под вопросом. Даст бог, справимся с этим. Желаю всем крепкого здоровья в это нелегкое для нас всех время.

9.07.20, Истории

Просмотров: 593