English program at KU: outcomes of the year

On May 26, the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation wrapped up its first year of study as part of the English language program at Kozybayev University in Petropavlovsk. 152 students managed to move to the next level of language proficiency. Aigerim Sultan, the program coordinator of the charitable foundation, will tell you more about how the program was carried out and with what results it ended the year.

The program took place online with native speakers. Who are among those 152 students who participated in it?
These are 88 students of the university and 64 of its teachers. The first year of the program started on October 4, 2022 and ended on May 26.

How much has the level of foreign language proficiency among the participants of the program increased?
In general, we can say that all of them have improved their knowledge of English by at least one level. That is, if at the beginning of the year the students had a level A2 (Pre-Intermediate), then by the end, provided deep involvement – they’re usually able to obtain B1 (Intermediate).

Did all of the students who started the program in the fall reach the “finish line”?
Not at all. Fifteen people, for a variety of reasons – from the inability to master the program (it was difficult for them to study with a native speaker) to workload at work – dropped out. There were also students who, for example, went abroad for an exchange or transferred to another university. This mainly concerns the participants of the A1 and C1 levels program (A2 level among teachers). New students took places of the dropped out students. At the beginning of the academic year, based on the results of testing, we created a reserve list of participants who did not pass to the program. We use them to replace those who have dropped out, and we did it before the second semester.

The teacher of the English language program of the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation Antony Durrant – who taught teachers – shared his view on the outcomes of the first year:
– The participants of the program have increased vocabulary, improved written and spoken language. And our most advanced students have had a good practice preparing for IELTS. Based on the results of testing and attendance, we selected the 25 best students (13 teachers and 12 students) to take the IELTS exam for a grant from the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation.

The selected students passed IELTS on July 15 and 16 in offline mode. Testing was conducted at Kozybayev University by specialists of the British Council. According to the results of the exam, six participants received grades from 7.0 to 8.0, four – a score of 6.5, and nine people passed the test for 6.0. These points give the right to apply for bachelor’s degree and even for master’s and doctoral studies in almost any specialty at any foreign university where training is conducted in English.

A colleague of A.Durant – Nathan Maher, who worked with students added:
– Overall, it was a wonderful experience. Most of the students were polite, sincere and kind-hearted. And despite the limitations of the online format, I am impressed by their personality and character: they are sincere, kind and purposeful people. Almost everyone managed to reach a new level of language proficiency. Our goal has been achieved.

One of the participants of the program, a student of the Mechanical Engineering Timur Sagdenov, shares his impressions:
– This is a great way to improve your spoken and written English. The main thing is to take the initiative and try to use the language as much as possible. I liked that the teacher listened to me attentively, and then corrected and gave recommendations. It was the same with checking homework. I really liked that there are no grades in the training, so there was no pressure.

The teacher of two faculties of the university at once (mathematics and natural sciences and chemistry and chemical technologies) Darina Maldybayeva added to what Timur said:
– I was familiar with the IELTS format, because I took it in 2021 and received 6.5. After studying in the program, I passed it already at 7.5, which I am very happy about.

 The Kozybayev University student Zhanibek Adilbek summarized:
– Even if a participant of the program is not able improve his knowledge in the field of grammar and writing, he will get an excellent practice of speaking, and this is already a great development for understanding the language. The fact that the teachers were native speakers is cool, so we could better learn not only the language, but also the culture of another nation.

The second year of the English program at Kozybayev University starts in the fall. New students and teachers of this Kazakh regional university will continue to improve their English level together with Antony Durant and Nathan Maher. Applications will be accepted at the University on September 4, and classes will begin on October 2. Recall that Kozybayev University is the fourth regional university of Kazakhstan, which won the competition of the English language program of the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation and received the right to implement it at the expense of the foundation for 2 years. The program is conducted with the assistance of the Bonas MacFarlane Education Kazakhstan.

3.08.23, Newsfeed, Newsfeed

Seen by: 311

Другие новости

Программа английского в KU: итоги года

26 мая Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation завершил первый год обучения в рамках программы английского языка в Kozybayev University (KU) в Петропавловске. 152 учащихся сумели перейти на следующий уровень владения языком. Подробнее о том, как проходила программа и с какими промежуточными результатами она завершилась, расскажет координатор программ благотворительного фонда Айгерим Султан.

Обучение проходило онлайн с носителями языка. Какие группы учащихся входят в число 152, прошедших его?
Это 88 студентов данного вуза и 64 преподавателя. Первый год программы стартовал 4 октября 2022 года и закончился 26 мая.

Насколько повысился уровень владения иностранным языком у участников программы?
В общем можно говорить о том, что все они повысили свои знания английского языка не менее чем на один уровень. Т.е. если в начале года студент имел уровень A2 (Pre-Intermediate), то к концу при условии качественной подготовки – уже B1 (Intermediate).

Все ли из начинавших программу осенью учащихся дошли до «финиша»?
Нет, 15 человек, по самым разным причинам – от невозможности освоить программу (им было трудно с носителем языка) до загруженности в работе – отчислились. Были и студенты, которые, к примеру, уезжали по обмену за рубеж или переводились в другой университет. Речь в основном об участниках программы уровней А1 и C1 (и преподавателей уровня А2). На места выбывших учащихся пришли новые. Еще в начале учебного года по результатам тестирования мы создали резервный список участников, которые не прошли в программу. Ими мы и заменяем выбывших до середины учебного года.

Преподаватель программы английского языка Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation Энтони Дюрант (Antony Durrant, вёл группы преподавателей) поделился своим взглядом на итоги первого года:
– У участников программы увеличился словарный запас, улучшилась письменная и разговорная речь. А наши самые продвинутые студенты прошли хорошую практику, готовясь к IELTS. По результатам тестирования и посещаемости мы выбрали 25 лучших слушателей (13 преподавателей и 12 студентов) для сдачи экзамена IELTS на грант фонда им. Шахмардана Есенова, 96-летие со дня рождения которого отмечается 5 августа.

Отобранные студенты сдали IELTS 15 и 16 июля в офлайн режиме. Тестирование провели в Kozybayev University специалисты Британского Совета (British Council). По результатам экзамена по двое получили оценки 7, 7.5 и 8.0 (всего – 6 человек), четверо – бал 6.5, и девять человек сдали тест на 6.0. Эти баллы дают право на поступление на бакалавриат и даже на магистратуру и докторантуру практически на любую специальность в любой зарубежный университет, где обучение ведётся на английском.

Коллега Э. Дюранта – Нэйтан Махер (Nathan Maher), работавший со студентами добавил:
– В целом, это был замечательный опыт. Студенты в большинстве своем были вежливы, искренни и добросердечны. И, несмотря на ограничения онлайн-формата, я впечатлен личностью и характером каждого: они искренние, добрые и целеустремлённые люди. Почти всем удалось выйти на новый уровень владения языком. Наша цель достигнута.

Один из участников программы студент специальности «Машиностроение» Тимур Сагденов так высказался о своих результатах:
– Это отличный способ подтянуть навык разговорного и письменного английского. Главное – проявлять инициативу и пытаться как можно больше использовать язык. Мне понравилось, что преподаватель внимательно выслушивал меня, а после корректировал и давал рекомендации. Тоже было и с проверкой домашних заданий. Очень понравилось, что в обучении нет оценок, поэтому не было и прессинга.

Преподаватель сразу двух факультетов вуза (математики и естественных наук и химии и химических технологий) Дарина Малдыбаева дополнила Тимура:
– Мне был знаком формат IELTS, т.к. сдавала его в 2021 году, получила 6.5. После обучения в программе я сдала его уже на 7.5, чему очень рада.

Студент KU Жанибек Адильбек резюмировал:
– Если даже участник программы не сможет улучшить свои знания в области грамматики и письма,  он получит отличную практику разговорной речи, а это уже большое развитие для понимания языка. То, что преподают носители языка, – это классно, так можно лучше узнать не только язык, но и культуру другого народа.

Второй год программы английского в Kozybayev University стартует осенью. Новые студенты и преподаватели этого казахстанского вуза продолжат улучшать свой уровень английского вместе с Энтони Дюрантом  и Нэйтаном Махером. 4 сентября в Kozybayev University начнется приём заявок, а уже 2 октября – занятия. Напомним, Kozybayev University – четвёртый региональный вуз Казахстана, победивший в конкурсе программы английского языка Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation и получивший право осуществлять её за счёт фонда в течение 2 лет. Программа проводится при содействии Bonas MacFarlane Education Kazakhstan.

3.08.23, Новости, Новости

Просмотров: 1 093

Другие новости