Nurgul Soltanbek

Specialty: nanomaterials and nanotechnology. The recipient of the Yessenov Scholarship.

Being a master’s student at Gumilev University‘s faculty of Physics and Technology, 24-year-old Nurgul Soltanbek studies nanomaterials and nanotechnology. In 2021, she became one of the 17 winners of the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation’s competition. Almost 500 applicants participated in it! A young Kazakhstani is a junior researcher. Today she shares her life hacks that will help you win the competition and find your favorite thing in life.

Why did you choose this particular specialty?
I studied nuclear physics during my undergraduate studies, and now – nanomaterials. The world does not stand still, and we must constantly grow in different directions. In addition, nanomaterials and nanotechnologies are used in many fields: nuclear physics, electronics, construction and others.

What does the specialty study, and who do they work after graduation?
This direction is relatively new in Kazakhstan. It examines materials at the molecular and atomic levels and creates objects from components with microscopic dimensions. We are talking about new materials or robots the size of a molecule. Graduates work in research institutes and companies of medical-technical, nuclear-physical and chemical-technological profile.

Why do you think you won?
I think I was able to present myself correctly. Self-confidence, sincerity, a desire for growth, a clear understanding of the goals and ways to achieve them helped me to stand out among other candidates. And I also believe that the love of what you do always leads to success.

Some life hacks for this year participants?
Be able to be flexible, develop, be active, try to do useful things for yourself and society, and your achievements will begin to speak for you. Be emotionally stable. Strive, believe, win!

What do you want to do and where to work when you graduate, Nurgul?
I plan to enroll in doctoral studies and simultaneously to work at a research center, to create new materials there. There is an idea to take an international internship as well. I would also really like to learn to swim.

What activities bring you joy?
I love listening to podcasts, singing, and reading comics. I play the ukulele, pick up the chords. Recently I learned to sew and knit. I love outdoor activities. My family and I often go to the countryside: skiing, cycling, or just on a picnic. Once a year we gather with friends in a new city where we have not been yet. Such trips create forces and motivation for new achievements.

Tell us a little about your family?
I am the youngest and the latest child in the family. I have very understanding parents, they support me in everything, for which I am very grateful to them. My family is my support.

17.03.22, Stories

Seen by: 915

Нургуль Солтанбек

Специальность: наноматериалы и нанотехнологии. Обладательница стипендии Есенова.

В ЕНУ им. Гумилёва 24-летняя Нургуль Солтанбек изучает наноматериалы и нанотехнологии на магистратуре физико-технического факультета. В 2021 году она стала одной из 17 победительниц стипендиального конкурса Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation. В состязании участвовало почти 500 претендентов! Молодая казахстанка — младший научный сотрудник. Сегодня она делится с вами лайфхаками, которые помогут выиграть в конкурсе и найти любимое дело.

Почему выбрали именно эту специальность?
На бакалавриате я изучала ядерную физику, сейчас — наноматериалы. Мир не стоит на месте, и мы должны постоянно расти в разных направлениях. К тому же, наноматериалы и нанотехнологии  применяются во многих областях: ядерной физике, электронике, строительстве и других.

Что изучает специальность, и кем работают по окончании обучения?
Эта направление относительно новое в Казахстане. Оно исследует материалы на молекулярном и атомном уровне и создаёт объекты из компонентов, обладающих микроскопическими размерами. Речь о новых материалах или роботах размером с молекулу. Выпускники работают в НИИ и компаниях медико-технического, ядерно-физического и химико-технологического профиля.

Почему, как думаете, победили?
Думаю, смогла правильно подать себя. Уверенность в себе, искренность, стремление к росту, четкое понимание своих целей и путей их достижения помогли выделиться среди других кандидатов. А еще я верю, что любовь к тому, чем занимаешься всегда ведет к успеху.

Какие-то лайфхаки для участников конкурса?
Умейте быть гибкими, развивайтесь, будьте активными, старайтесь сделать полезное для себя и общества, и ваши достижения начнут говорить за вас. Будьте эмоционально стабильными. Стремитесь, верьте, побеждайте!

Чем Вы хотите заниматься, где работать, когда окончите магистратуру, Нургуль?
Планирую поступить на докторантуру и параллельно работать в исследовательском центре, создавать там новые материалы. Есть идея пройти и международную стажировку. Еще  очень хотела бы научиться плавать.

Какие занятия приносят Вам радость в свободное время?
Безумно люблю слушать подкасты, петь, и читать комиксы. Играю на укулеле, подбираю аккорды. Недавно научилась шить и вязать. Люблю активный отдых. С семьей часто ездим загород: покататься на лыжах, на велосипедах, или просто на пикник. Раз в год с друзьями собираемся в новом городе, где мы еще не были. После таких поездок появляются силы и мотивация на новые достижения.

Расскажите немного о семье?
Я самый младший и поздний ребенок в семье. У меня очень понимающие родители, они во всем меня поддерживают, за что я им очень благодарна. Моя семья – моя опора.

17.03.22, Истории

Просмотров: 1 140