Mukhtar Sadykov

Specialty: Medicine. Internship: Yale University, US.

When he was a little boy, he asked many questions, wondering who we are and how we are arranged, he was a fan of encyclopedias for kids, finding simple answers to his questions there. Thus, gradually and steadily he has paved his path to the medical university, successfully winning an educational grant of the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation and went to Yale for an internship. Today he is researching the genome of coronavirus on the shore of the Red Sea.

Mukhtar, what do you choose: practice or science?
So far I have chosen science, because ambitions to discover, to study the unknown, to increase universal knowledge live inside me. But I don’t give up practicing either, the scope of my doctoral program is related, so I’ll return to my stethoscope.

What are your hobbies apart medicine? How do you relax?
I like court tennis, both playing and observing the incredible era of the big trio. VAMOS RAFA!

What was the strongest challenge in your life? Did you handle it and how?
Each period of life had its own difficult times. Speaking of the past 5 years, it was difficult for me to make a choice of my craft. After another 5 years, it will be clear whether I have handled this challenge.

Why do you think the Foundation experts have chosen you out of hundreds of scholarship applicants?
Both my CV and the interview played a significant role here. Besides, perhaps they saw the fire of Aries in me. The horoscope says that Aries never forget about their goals and, as a rule, sooner or later achieve what they want.

How was your internship, what did you do?
In the summer of 2019, I joined Professor Halene’s group, which focuses on blood cancers, in particular myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS). 70% of the time I was engaged in data analysis, the remaining time – conducted experiments. MDS is characterized by the fact that about half of its cases are associated with mutations in the genes responsible for creating new combinations. We studied the effects of these mutations in the cell. That summer, an old friend of mine, Alexander Pak, came to me. He was completing his PhD program in the United States, he had something to tell me, and I had a lot to ask him about. We had a great time.

What were your achievements as you came home?
In a nutshell: I gained a new experience, made new friends, met a professor, a true expert in the field, became a co-author of two scientific publications. We lifted the veil of secrecy over the role of mutations that are responsible for the MDS cell phenotype. Finally, I got the motivation to go to my PhD studies.

What’s next, Mukhtar?
A couple of days before the internship, I got married, so immediately after America I flew to my wife in Saudi Arabia. She is a biochemist, studying for a PhD degree at KAUST University. I also entered this university, I work in the group of Professor Pain. The subject of my doctoral studies is genome and transcriptome analysis. Now, just as across the globe, we have quarantine. We work from home on the most relevant topic today: I conduct a bioinformatic analysis of the coronavirus genome. This work will help to learn more about the origin of the mutations occurring in it and to find patterns.

15.04.20, Stories

Seen by: 573

Мухтар Садыков

Специализация: медицина. Стажировка: Йельский университет, США.

В детстве он задавал много вопросов, интересовался, кто мы такие и как устроены, был фанатом детских энциклопедий, находя там простые ответы на свои вопросы. Так медленно, но верно он проделал путь до медицинского университета, сумел выиграть грант фонда им. Ш.Есенова и отправился в Йель на стажировку. Сегодня он изучает геном коронавируса на берегу Красного моря.

Мухтар, что выбираете Вы: практику или науку?
Пока выбрал науку, потому что внутри живут амбиции открыть, изучить неизведанное, увеличить общечеловеческое знание. Но и практику не бросаю, сфера моей докторской программы смежная, так что я еще вернусь к своему стетоскопу.

Ну а кроме медицины, какие у Вас интересы? Как любите проводить свободное время?
Мне нравится большой теннис, как играть, так и следить за невероятной эрой большого трио. VAMOS RAFA!

Какой челлендж в жизни был для вас самым суровым? Преодолели ли Вы его и как?
В каждый период жизни были свои трудные времена. Если брать последние 5 лет, то для меня сложно было определиться с выбором своего ремесла. Еще через 5 лет будет понятно, преодолел ли я этот челлендж.

Почему, Вы считаете, эксперты фонда выбрали Вас из сотен претендентов на грант?
Здесь сыграли роль и резюме, и интервью. А кроме того, возможно, они увидели огонь Овна во мне. Гороскоп говорит, что Овны никогда не забывают про свои цели и, как правило, рано или поздно достигают желаемого.

Как проходила Ваша стажировка, чем занимались?
Летом 2019 я присоединился к группе профессора Халин, которая сфокусирована на раковых заболеваниях крови, в частности миелодиспластическом синдроме (МДС). 70% времени я занимался анализом данных, оставшееся время — проводил эксперименты. МДС характерен тем, что около половины его случаев связаны с мутациями в генах, ответственных за создание новых комбинаций. Мы изучали последствия этих мутаций в клетке. А еще тем же летом ко мне приехал старый друг, Александр Пак. Он заканчивает докторантуру в Штатах, ему было, что мне рассказать, а мне — о чем его спросить. Мы отлично провели время.

С какими результатами Вы уехали домой?
Если коротко: получил новый опыт, завел новых друзей, познакомился с профессором, настоящим экспертом в своей отрасли, стал соавтором двух научных публикаций. Мы приоткрыли завесу тайны над ролью мутаций, которые отвечают за клеточный фенотип МДС. И в итоге я получил мотивацию поступать на докторантуру.

Что дальше, Мухтар?
За пару дней до стажировки я женился, поэтому сразу после Америки полетел к своей супруге в Саудовскую Аравию. Она биохимик, учится по программе докторантуры в университете KAUST. В этот университет поступил и я, работаю в группе профессора Пейна. Тема моей докторантуры – анализ генома и транскриптома. Сейчас у нас, как и во всем мире, карантин. Работаем из дома по самой актуальной на сегодня теме: провожу биоинформатический анализ генома коронавируса. Работа эта поможет узнать больше о происхождении происходящих в нем мутаций и найти закономерности.

15.04.20, Истории

Просмотров: 571