Dias Ormaganbetov

Specialty: Geology and Exploration of Mineral Deposits. Yessenov Scholarship Recipient.

This Kazakh student is 20, he is finishing his 3rd year at the Kazakh British Technical University (KBTU). Why did Diaz choose geology with its unscheduled fieldwork and how does he see his life when he receives his bachelor’s degree? The winner of the scholarship competition of the Yessenov Foundation answered our questions.

Why geology and exploration, taking into account the development of renewable energy sources? Why, even knowing that, did you choose such a specialty?
Geological exploration covers not only energy resources (primarily hydrocarbons), but also metal and construction minerals. KBTU graduates work in various foreign mining companies dealing with precious, radioactive and rare earth metals. For example, storage of renewable energy requires batteries that consist of lithium and precious metals, and the composition of the solar panels themselves includes a number of ferrous, rare earth metals and silicon. So the demand for minerals will grow, and geology will remain relevant.

Where are you from, your most vivid childhood memories?
I was born in Almaty, and spent most of my childhood in its suburb — Kaskelen, with my grandmother, surrounded by my brothers and sisters. As a child, I often went to the mountains to admire the purity and beauty of nature. Who knows, it may have been since then that I began to take an interest in geology.

What do you like to do in your spare time?
My main hobby is hiking, I like to visit nature reserves, canyons, volcanoes, caves. The most amazing place in this regard for me remains the largest active volcano in Europe – Etna. I still remember the sounds of the eruption as I climbed over the ash and basalt to one of its craters.

How did you decide to participate in the competition for the Yessenov scholarship?
It was quite a spontaneous decision, I didn’t even know about the scholarship. The professors of my faculty told me about the competition and suggested to apply, because they knew what I am striving for. And when I learnt the information about the foundation, I was inspired by Shakhmardan Yessenov and realized that I had to try to conquer new heights. So I applied and won.

Why do you think you managed to win?
I think it helped to strive for the goals set. I always try something new and gain invaluable experience. I would like to advise my peers not to be afraid to participate in competitions like that, Olympiads and case championships, because even if you don’t win a prize, hence you still win, since you have learned a lot of new things. But how you will use the knowledge and experience gained will depend only on you. I wish you all good luck!

Who do you see yourself in 3-5 years?
Due to the pandemic, I study online. But the students of my department have access to all the necessary data, reference books and software to get high-quality distance education. By the end of the year, I will complete an internship in a foreign company in my specialty — mineral exploration. And as soon as I finish my bachelor’s degree, I’m going to continue with master’s studies in order to strengthen the knowledge in the field of geology and geophysics.

21.04.21, Stories

Seen by: 893

Диас Ормаганбетов

Специальность: геология и разведка месторождений полезных ископаемых. Обладатель стипендии Есенова.

Этому казахстанскому студенту 20 лет, он закачивает 3 курс в КБТУ. Почему Диас выбрал геологию с ее внеплановыми полевыми работами и какой он видит свою жизнь через год, когда завершит бакалавриат? Об этом победитель стипендиального конкурса научно-образовательного фонда им. Шахмардана Есенова рассказал нам сам.

Геология и разведка полезных ископаемых с учетом разработок возобновляемых источников энергии решительно теряет свою роль в мире. Почему, зная об этом, вы выбрали такую специальность?
Геологоразведка охватывает не только энергетические ресурсы (прежде всего углеводороды), а также металлические и строительные полезные ископаемые. Выпускники КБТУ работают в различных иностранных добывающих компаниях, занимающихся благородными, радиоактивными и редкоземельными металлами. К примеру, для хранения возобновляемой энергии требуются аккумуляторы, которые состоят из лития и благородных металлов, а в состав самих солнечных панелей входит ряд черных, редкоземельных металлов и кремний. Так что спрос на полезные ископаемые будет расти, а геология оставаться актуальной.

Откуда Вы родом, ваши самые яркие воспоминания из детства?
Я родился в Алматы, большую часть детства провел в его пригороде — Каскелене, у бабушки в окружении братьев и сестер. В детстве мы часто ходили в горы полюбоваться чистотой и красотой природы. Кто знает, возможно, именно с тех пор я и начал проявлять интерес к геологии.

Чем любите заниматься в свободное от учебы время?
Мое главное увлечение — это походы, люблю посещать природные заповедники, каньоны, вулканы, пещеры. Самым удивительным местом в этом плане для меня остается самый большой вулкан Европы – Этна. Я до сих пор помню звуки извержения вулкана, когда забирался по пеплу и базальту на один из его кратеров.

Как решили участвовать в конкурсе на стипендию Есенова?
Это было достаточно спонтанным решением, о стипендии я даже не знал. Преподаватели моего факультета рассказали и предложили подать заявку, ведь они знали, к чему я стремлюсь. А когда я изучил информацию о фонде, то вдохновился Шахмарданом Есеновичем и понял, что должен попробовать покорить новые высоты. Так и подал заявку. И выиграл.

Почему, как считаете, Вам удалось одержать победу?
Я думаю, помогло стремление к поставленным целям. Я всегда стараюсь пробовать себя в чем-то новом и получить бесценный опыт. Хочу посоветовать сверстникам не бояться участвовать в конкурсах, олимпиадах и кейс-чемпионатах, ведь даже если вы не займете призового места, вы все равно в выигрыше — узнали много нового. Но как вы будете пользоваться знаниями и полученным опытом, будет зависеть только от вас. Желаю всем удачи!

Кем видите себя через 3-5 лет?
В связи с пандемией, обучение проходит в онлайн формате. Но у студентов моего факультета есть доступ ко всем необходимым данным, справочникам и программному обеспечению для получения качественного дистанционного образования. До конца года я пройду стажировку в иностранной компании по своему профилю — геологоразведке полезных ископаемых. А как закончу бакалавриат, собираюсь продолжить обучение на магистратуре, чтобы укрепить свои знания в области геологии и геофизики.

21.04.21, Истории

Просмотров: 890