THE WINNERS OF YLP: WHAT’S NEXT?

On May 25, the winners of the Yessenov Launch Pad, which is being held for the first time, became known. Launch Pad is a facility from which a rocket-powered space vehicle is launched, and the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation expects that all the winners will benefit from it and will receive additional IT training on the grant won. According to the organizer of the competition, this would give a serious boost to their professional development. What will happen next with the five winning IT specialists? This and other questions are answered by program coordinator Aigerim Sultan.

Why were 10 winners originally planned, but in the end there were just 5?
Because we received fewer applications than we expected – 39 to be precise. Less competition for each grant definitely means fewer grants, we have provided this opportunity in the program provisions. Point 5.6 says that the foundation independently makes decisions about applicants for grants. Our experts, led by a member of the Board of Trustees Eldar Akhmetgaliyev, selected 13 people to participate in the final. You agree that it wouldn’t be a real competition if there were 10 winners out of that number, don’t you?

What will happen next with the winners?
We have already held an individual meeting with everyone to explain how we are working further. Each of them is assigned a mentor. They were Eldar Akhmetgaliyev, a Stanford doctoral student and co-founder of Biodock Inc. Nurlybek Mursali and the well-proven winners of the previous years of the IT internship program — Master and head of the American POWr startup in Kazakhstan Aigul Imadildaeva, Master and Senior Data Scientist at Petrel AI Aigerim Sagandykova, and a doctoral student, analyst at the re:Point Aidos Sarsembayev. These days mentors and winners get to know each other. Mentors will help the guys choose the courses they really need and recommend opportunities that the guys may not be acknowledged of. After that, the winners will respond to our brief so that we can understand at what point in their development they are now. By the end of June, they will decide on courses for professional growth and will provide us with this information. We will study their choice in order to prevent the winner from getting into ineffective or questionable educational projects. And then the study will begin. We assume that this will be an online training, because the funds for the trip (flight cost, accommodation, meals etc.) will simply “eat up” the lion’s share of the grant. But we will also support them if they choose to study offline in Kazakhstan or abroad. The main thing is that training contributes to the development of hard or soft skills of the winners. The subjects of possible training were described in detail in the program provisions and published before the start of the competition.

And what if the grant holder doesn’t find courses in a month?
The search will continue, and every 2 months he or she will inform us about the results. In any case, the grant is valid for one year, i.e. until the end of May next year. So at the end of May 2023, we expect to receive financial and creative reports from the project participants on the courses completed, qualifications obtained and expenses made.

Please tell us about the winners.
Asset Daniyarov
, 29, works at the National Laboratory Astana, specializes in bioinformatics. Kuat Madeniet is 25, he is a bank employee, a data engineer. Aida Sagandykova is in her final year of bachelor’s degree at the Lomonosov Moscow State University branch in Kazakhstan, her major is applied mathematics and computer science. Ainur Kymbatova, 26, is working in a Kazakh company developing software. And 32-year-old Tulegen Akhmetov is a doctoral student at Nazarbayev University, specializing in robotics. We believe that these young people are worthy of the investments and will become the vanguard of the development of the IT industry in Kazakhstan in the coming years.

31.05.22, Newsfeed

Seen by: 481

Другие новости

ЧТО БУДЕТ С ПОБЕДИТЕЛЯМИ YLP?

25 мая стали известны победители впервые проведенного конкурса программы Yessenov Launch Pad. Launch Pad – это дословно стартовая площадка, Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation рассчитывает, что все победители воспользуются ей и на выигранный грант пройдут дополнительное обучение в сфере IT. По замыслу организатора конкурса, это даст серьезный толчок их профессиональному развитию. Что будет дальше с пятью выигравшими айтишниками? На этот и другие вопросы отвечает ее координатор Айгерим Султан.

Почему изначально планировали 10 победителей, а в итоге их оказалось 5?
Потому что мы получили гораздо меньше заявок, чем ожидали — 39. Меньше конкурс на место — меньше и победителей, эту возможность мы предусмотрели в положении программы. Пункт 5.6 говорит о том, что фонд самостоятельно принимает решения о претендентах на гранты. В финал наши эксперты во главе с членом Попечительского совета Эльдаром Ахметгалиевым отобрали 13 человек. Согласитесь, это был бы не конкурс, если бы 10 финалистов из 13 стали победителями.

Что будет дальше с выигравшими?
Мы уже провели с каждым индивидуальную встречу, чтобы пояснить, как работаем дальше. Каждому из них назначен ментор — советник и наставник в одном лице. Ими стали Эльдар Ахметгалиев, докторант Стэнфорда и сооснователь Biodock Inc. Нурлыбек Мурсали и отлично себя зарекомендовавшие победители прошлых лет программы IT стажировок в Кремниевой долине — магистр и руководитель американского стартапа POWr в Казахстане Айгуль Имадилдаева, магистр и Senior Data Scientist в компании Petrel AI Айгерим Сагандыкова и докторант, аналитик стартапа re:Point Айдос Сарсембаев. В эти дни менторы и победители знакомятся друг с другом. Менторы помогут ребятам выбрать именно те курсы, которые им необходимы, порекомендуют возможности, о которых ребята, возможно, не в курсе. После победители ответят на наш бриф, чтобы мы могли понять, в какой точке своего развития они сейчас. До конца июня они определяться с курсами для профессионального роста и предоставят эту информацию нам. Мы изучим их выбор, чтобы не допустить попадания победителя в неэффективные или сомнительные образовательные проекты. А после начнется учеба. Мы предполагаем, что это будет онлайн обучение, т.к. средства на поездку (перелет, проживание, питание) просто «съедят» львиную долю гранта. Но мы поддержим и, если они выберут офлайн обучение в Казахстане или за его пределами. Главное, чтобы обучение способствовало развитию hard или soft skills выигравших. Направления возможного обучения мы подробно изложили в Положении программы и опубликовали еще до начала конкурса.

Что, если обладатель гранта не сможет найти курсы за месяц?
Поиск продолжится, каждые 2 месяца он или она будут информировать нас о результатах. В любом случае грант действителен один год, т.е. до конца мая следующего года. Так что в конце мая 2023 года мы рассчитываем уже получить от участников проекта финансовый и творческий отчеты о пройденных курсах, полученных квалификациях и сделанных тратах.

Расскажите, пожалуйста, о победителях.
Асет Данияров, 29 лет, работает в National Laboratory Astana, специализируется на биоинформатике. Куату Мадениету 25, он сотрудник банка, инженер данных. Аида Сагандыкова на последнем курсе бакалавриата филиала МГУ им. Ломоносова в Казахстане, ее мейджор – прикладная математика и информатика. Айнур Кымбатовой 26, девушка трудится в казахстанской компании, разрабатывающей программное обеспечение. А 32-летний Тулеген Ахметов докторант Nazarbayev University, специализируется на робототехнике. Мы считаем, что эти молодые люди достойны вкладываемых в них инвестиций и станут авангардом развития IT отрасли в Казахстане в ближайшие годы.

31.05.22, Новости

Просмотров: 484

Другие новости