Jamilya Nugmanova

Specialty: general medicine. Internship: University of Innsbruck, Institute of Molecular Biology, Austria.

Intern of the Asfendiyarov Kazakh National medical university Jamilya Nugmanova won the competition of the Yessenov Foundation’s research internships program a year ago and did her research in Austria with the grant that she received. She is 24 and hails from Kostanay. Young scientist loves singing since childhood, is now fond of archery. In her career, she strives to combine science with medical practice. A Kazakhstani shared with us the story of her victory, the process of the internship and her plans.

How was the competition for you? Why do you think you won?
I participated in such a competition for the first time and, while submitting documents, I strongly doubted that I would win. The format of the competition was unusual, especially the questions of the group interview, where it was necessary to solve a non-standard task in a team with other participants. I remember then I decided that whatever the outcome, I would behave as naturally as possible. It’s great that in addition to academic indicators, personal qualities and motivation were evaluated by the foundation’s specialists, which most likely played a role in my victory.

Jamilya, tell us about the internship.
I worked in the laboratory of Professor Dr. Frank Edenhofer at the Institute of Molecular Biology. In addition I was also supervised by PostDoc Katharina Günther. Since I am interested in neuroscience, I was offered to become part of a project studying mucopolysaccharidosis. To date, there are no drugs that can completely cure patients of this hereditary disease. But there are methods that are undergoing clinical trials – gene therapy, enzyme replacement therapy, etc. As part of our project, we modeled the disease and studied the possible therapy. We have reprogrammed the somatic cells of healthy people and patients with the disease into stem cells. I observed the growth and morphology of cells, conducted research, analyzes, and created 3D models of the disease. Scientists from different countries of the world worked in our team. Everyone had the right to vote and was always happy to help, we taught each other.

What was the benefit of the internship for you?
This was my first experience working in a laboratory. I have mastered the basic skills of working with stem cells: transplanting, dividing, changing the environment, analyzing the morphology and growth of the culture. She has mastered the methods of immunocytochemistry and flowcytometry. I independently developed the protocol of one experiment and for the first time in my professional life, I modeled brain organoids. The main result of our research was that successful reprogramming of cells into stem cells is possible. At the moment, the study is not over yet. Meetings were held in the laboratory every week, where employees presented the results of their work on various projects in the field of neurology, cardiology and hepatology. These meetings made it possible to keep abreast of current issues and research.

What were the difficulties?
You’re right, it wasn’t that easy. Before I received an invitation from the laboratory, I wrote to the professors for a long time, a lot and persistently. Although I understood that it was normal to receive refusals, it was difficult to accept. There was even a time when I was writing another letter and crying. It was only starting with the 99th letter that I began to receive the first offers for interviews, and later invitations. In total, I wrote about 160 letters. My advice to the future winners of the Shakhmardan Yesenov Foundation’s research internship competition is to have perseverance and patience. And when you receive several invitations at once, carefully weigh all the pros and cons of the laboratories and only then make a choice. My experience has shown that it is better to go to one laboratory, because during the internship period (3 months) you can have time to adapt, conduct experiments and get at least some results. Let me remind you that many scientific studies go on for years before they get the first positive results. Also, do not be afraid to say “no” to professors, because choosing a laboratory and a professor is a two-way process. The research process includes many stages. You need to be ready when you are introduced to any of them, to study all the previous materials yourself. Combining this and working in the laboratory requires a lot of effort.

How did you spend your time outside the laboratory?
We often had lunch together and treated each other to pies. Sometimes the team went to the Alps, to nature. At such meetings, I was able to get to know the laboratory staff in an informal setting and strengthen relations with everyone. I discovered that in addition to professional relationships, it is very important to do effective networking in a team. After all, when you feel comfortable in a team, you want to go to the office and work more efficiently. Besides the fact that the city I lived in was of fabulous beauty, its location was a pleasant bonus. Innsbruck is close to the borders with Germany, Switzerland and Italy, so I visited all these countries over the weekend. I also visited the concert of my favorite artist, saw Klimt’s famous painting “Kiss”, visited the house of Mozart, the birthplace of Romeo and Juliet, saw real Alpine cows, as in advertising, rode along the canals of Venice…

Jamilya, what are your plans for the next couple of years?
I am currently in my last year of medical school. After graduating from medical school, there are several options: master’s degree, residency, etc. I would like to combine the practical work of a doctor with scientific research. Therefore, I plan to apply for a master’s degree abroad, and in parallel I will take exams for admission to a residency in Kazakhstan. Time will tell what happens in the end.

Please tell us about your interests, hobbies, and activities in your free time.
I’ve loved singing since I was a kid. I prefer more melodic, lyrical songs, for example, there is always a place for Adele’s compositions in my repertoire. Recently, I discovered a new hobby – archery. The muscles of the back and arms are swinging, concentration is improving. Hitting the target, I feel like a true daughter of the Kazakh steppes.

15.01.24, Stories

Seen by: 109

Джамиля Нугманова

Специальность: общая медицина. Стажировка: Инсбрукский университет, Институт молекулярной биологии, Австрия.

Интерн КазНМУ им. Асфендиярова Джамиля Нугманова год назад победила в конкурсе программы научных стажировок Yessenov Foundation и на выигранный грант прошла стажировку в Австрии. Джамиле 24, она из Костаная, с детства любила петь, сейчас увлекается стрельбой из лука, а в профессии хочет совместить науку с врачебной практикой. Молодая казахстанка поделилась с нами историей своей победы, тем, как проходила стажировку и планами.

Как Вы считаете, почему Вы победили?
В подобном конкурсе я участвовала впервые и, подавая документы, сильно сомневалась в победе. Формат конкурса был необычным, особенно запомнились вопросы группового интервью, где было необходимо решить нестандартную задачу в команде с другими участниками. Помню тогда я решила, что каким бы ни был исход, буду вести себя максимально естественно. Здорово, что помимо академических показателей, оценивались личностные качества, мотивация, что, скорее всего, и сыграло роль в моей победе.

Джамиля, расскажите о стажировке.
Я работала в лаборатории профессора доктора Франка Эденхофера Института молекулярной биологии в городе Инсбрук. Кроме самого профессора меня курировала постдокторант Катарина Гюнтер. Так как я интересуюсь нейронауками, мне предложили стать частью проекта, изучающего мукополисахаридоз. На сегодняшний день нет лекарств, способных полностью излечить пациентов от этого наследственного заболевания. Но есть методы, которые проходят клинические исследования – генная терапия, заместительная ферментная терапия и др. В рамках нашего проекта мы моделировали заболевание и изучали проведение возможной терапии. Мы перепрограммировали соматические клетки здоровых людей и пациентов с заболеванием в стволовые. Я наблюдала за ростом и морфологией клеток, проводила исследования, анализы, создавала 3D модели заболевания. В нашем коллективе работали ученые из разных стран мира. Каждый имел право голоса и всегда с радостью был готов прийти на помощь, мы учили друг друга.

В чем была польза стажировки для Вас?
Это был мой первый опыт работы в лаборатории. Я освоила базовые навыки работы со стволовыми клетками: пересаживала, делила, меняла среду, анализировала морфологию и рост культуры. Освоила методы иммуноцитохимии и флоуцитометрии. Самостоятельно разработала протокол одного эксперимента, впервые смоделировала органоиды мозга. Главным итогом наших исследований стало то, что успешное перепрограммирование клеток в стволовые возможно. На данный момент исследование еще не окончено. В лаборатории каждую неделю проходили встречи, на которых сотрудники представляли результаты своей работы по разным проектам в области неврологии, кардиологии и гепатологии. Эти встречи позволяли быть в курсе актуальных проблем и исследований.

Какие были трудности?
Вы правы, не все было так легко. Прежде чем получить приглашение из лаборатории, я долго, много и упорно писала профессорам. Хоть и понимала, что получать отказы – это нормально, это было сложно принять. Было даже такое, что писала очередное письмо и плакала. Только начиная с 99 письма я стала получать первые предложения на интервью, а позднее и приглашения. В общей сложности я написала порядка 160 писем. Мой совет будущим победителям конкурса научных стажировок фонда им. Ш.Есенова – запастись упорством и терпением. А когда получите сразу несколько приглашений, тщательно взвесьте все плюсы и минусы лабораторий и только тогда делайте выбор. Мой опыт показал, что лучше ехать в одну лабораторию, т.к. за период стажировки (3 месяца) можно успеть адаптироваться, провести эксперименты и получить хоть какие-то результаты. Напомню, многие научные исследования идут годами, прежде чем получают первые позитивные результаты. Не бойтесь также говорить профессорам «нет», т.к. выбор лаборатории и профессора – процесс двусторонний. Процесс исследования включает множество этапов. Нужно быть готовым, когда тебя внедряют на каком-либо из них, самостоятельно изучить все предыдущие материалы. Совмещать это и работу в лаборатории требует немалых усилий.

Как проводили время вне лаборатории?
Мы устраивали совместные ланчи, угощали друг друга пирогами. Иногда командой выбирались в Альпы, на природу. На таких встречах я смогла в неформальной обстановке познакомиться с сотрудниками лаборатории, укрепить отношения со всеми. Открыла для себя, что помимо профессиональных очень важно выстраивать и хорошие личные взаимоотношения в команде. Ведь когда ты чувствуешь себя комфортно в коллективе, хочется идти в офис и работается эффективнее. Помимо того, что город, в котором я жила, был сказочной красоты, приятным бонусом стало его расположение. Инсбрук находится недалеко от границ с Германией, Швейцарией и Италией, так что я посетила все эти страны на выходных. Побывала также на концерте любимого исполнителя, увидела знаменитую картину Климта «Поцелуй», посетила дом Моцарта, родину Ромео и Джульетты, увидела настоящих альпийских коров, как в рекламе, покаталась по каналам Венеции…

Джамиля, какие у Вас планы на ближайшие пару лет?
Сейчас у меня последний год интернатуры. По окончании медицинской школы есть несколько вариантов: магистратура, резидентура и др. Я бы хотела совмещать практическую работу врача с научными исследованиями. Поэтому планирую подать документы на магистратуру за рубежом, параллельно буду сдавать экзамены на поступление в резидентуру в Казахстане. Что получится в итоге, покажет время.

Расскажите, пожалуйста, о Ваших интересах, хобби, занятиях в свободное время.
С детства люблю петь. Предпочитаю более мелодичные, лиричные песни, например в моем репертуаре всегда есть место для композиций Адель. С недавних пор, открыла для себя новое увлечение – стрельбу из лука. Качаются мышцы спины и рук, улучшается концентрация. Попадая в мишень, чувствую себя истинной дочерью казахских степей.

15.01.24, Истории

Просмотров: 1 793