Aidana Bukharbayeva

Specialty: Oil and Gas. Recipient of the Yessenov Scholarship.

This summer, Aidana graduated with excellent grades from Satbayev University in Almaty. The last year of her bachelor’s degree she received the Yessenov Scholarship, since she won the Yessenov Foundation competition the year before. She chose an unbroken, unconventional topic for her thesis as she discovered the world of machine learning. The girl is already working in oil and gas enterprise  in Aktau. Aidana additionally managed to take accounting courses as she is constantly on the move. And how about you?

Why and how did you choose this specialty?
In a heated argument about my future, my parents and I came to a compromise: my parents choose a specialty, I choose a university. Their offer was influenced, of course, by the information about the high salaries and luxurious life of those working in the oil industry. But in the end, I’m happy, the choice was right. I clearly see my future and have already started the path of an engineer in the oil and gas industry.

How did you find out about the Yessenov Scholarship and why did you decide to take part in the competition?
I found out about the scholarship at one of SPE events (university community of petroleum engineers). To be honest, I wanted to apply a year earlier, but I considered my candidacy weak. During the year, I improved myself in different areas at maximum speed, then decided to apply and won.

What do you remember the most from the competition?
Not what, but who I remember the most — that is a question. And those are definitely, the holders of the previous year’s scholarship. Their stories, achievements, communication with them inspired, energized and motivated me.

Why do you think you were among the winners?
I was absolutely sure that I would successfully pass the first stage, because I had enough certificates, achievements, a well-written essay. At the interview — that’s the second stage of the competition, I was sincere. I explained to the jury my goals and motives for participating in the competition loud and clear.

What life hacks do you have for those who have such competitions yet to come?
It’s hard in training — it’s easy in battle. Take a lot of time to prepare, determine that you want to WIN, not just to participate and plan your steps to achieve this goal.

What did you do this summer?
I graduated from the university, received the long-awaited diploma with honors. The summer was busy: I studied and rested, spent a lot of time with my family, worried about the future. Now I am in Aktau and have already started working in a large company. My future has already arrived.

What do you remember from your childhood?
I spent it in the small village of Lesnoye, right near the border with Russia. My memories are preserved only in the form of rapid flashes, but I clearly remember my first bright orange bike and the moment when I learned to keep my balance, but not to turn the bike. (laughs)

Tell us more about your family.
Family is the most valuable thing I have. An incredibly strong mother — she is my role model. And dad, thanks to whom I feel protected. Parents work together: they provide transport services and maintain a small grocery store. I have two brothers: Kuanysh (he is a second-year student) and our baby-boy, a five-year-old Yernar. My family is my incredible support. They help to conquer new peaks and teach me, but they allow also to stumble and make own mistakes.

15.08.21, Stories

Seen by: 305

Айдана Бухарбаева

Специальность: нефтегазовое дело. Обладатель стипендии Есенова.

Этим летом Айдана окончила на отлично Satbayev University в Алматы. Последний год бакалавриата она получала стипендию академика Есенова, так как за год до этого выиграла в конкурсе Yessenov Foundation. Тему дипломной выбрала неизбитую, нетрадиционную – открыла для себя мир машинного обучения. Девушка уже работает по специальности в Актау, дополнительно успела пройти бухгалтерские курсы. Он постоянно в движении. А вы?

Почему и как Вы выбрали эту специальность?
В бурном споре о моем будущем мы с родителями пошли на компромисс: родители выбирают специальность, я — университет. На их предложение повлияла, конечно же, информация о высоких зарплатах и роскошной жизни работающих в нефтянке. Но в итоге я довольна, выбор был правильным. Я четко вижу своё будущее и уже начала путь инженера в нефтегазовой отрасли.

Как узнали о стипендии Есенова и почему решили принять участие в конкурсе?
Узнала на одном из мероприятий в организации SPE (университетское сообщество инженеров-нефтяников). Если честно, хотела подать заявку годом раньше, но посчитала свою кандидатуру слабой. За год прокачала себя в разных направлениях на максимальных оборотах, решилась подать заявку и победила.

Что запомнилось больше всего из конкурса?
Не что, а кто запомнился больше всего. Определённо, обладатели стипендии предыдущего года. Их истории, достижения, общение с ними вдохновило меня, зарядило энергией, смотивировало.

Почему, как считаете, Вы оказались среди победителей?
Была абсолютно уверена, что успешно пройду первый этап. У меня было достаточно сертификатов,  достижений, крепко написанное эссе. На интервью была искренней. Рассказала о своих целях и мотивах участия в конкурсе.

Что можете посоветовать тем, у кого такие победы еще впереди?
Тяжело в учении — легко в бою. Уделите много времени подготовке, определите, что хотите ПОБЕДИТЬ и распишите  шаги к достижению этой цели.

Чем занимались этим летом?
Закончила университет, получила долгожданный красный диплом. Лето было насыщенным: и училась, и отдыхала, проводила много времени с семьей, переживала о будущем. Сейчас я в Актау, уже приступила к работе в крупной компании. Будущее уже наступило.

Что помните из своего детства?
Я провела его в небольшом селе Лесное, прямо у границы с Россией. Воспоминания сохранились лишь в виде быстро мелькающих вспышек, но я отчётливо помню свой первый ярко оранжевый велосипед и тот момент, когда научилась держать равновесие, а поворачивать — еще нет. (смеется)

Расскажите, если можно, о вашей семье.
Семья — самое ценное, что у меня есть. Невероятно сильная мама — она мой пример во всём. И папа, благодаря которому чувствую себя защищённой. Родители работают вместе: оказывают транспортные услуги и содержат небольшой продуктовый магазин. У меня двое братишек: Куаныш (он студент второго курса) и наш малыш — пятилетний Ернар. Моя семья — моя неимоверная поддержка. Они помогают покорять новые вершины и учат, но позволяют спотыкаться и делать ошибки.

15.08.21, Истории

Просмотров: 306