Bekarys Nurtay

Specialization: robotics and mechatronics. Internship: National University of Singapore.

Bekarys is from Atyrau, he is 21 and he is passionate about robotics. In a hard fight the guy won a grant from the Shakhmardan Yessenov Science and education Foundation and spent three months in one of the modern robotic laboratories of Singapore.

What is Soft Robotics? This is the topic of your internship in Singapore.
This is the so-called “soft robotics”. It deals with materials similar to those found in living organisms. In my case, it was a robot-ramp and exoskeleton (auxiliary mechanism for the elbow joint).

Where and how did you get interested in robotics?
I can’t say for sure, but I remember exactly what happened when I was in the 10th grade. I was in friendly relations with one of teachers back then. We were talking about space projects and he suggested me to make a robot that collects space debris. That sounded ambitious. The teacher’s confidence prompted me to start studying this industry.

Tell us, what was interesting for you personally at the competition when you fought for the Foundation grant?
When we interviewed each other – it was the most interesting for me. There were many deep questions, which contestants made out themselves, even more interesting were the answers. And, of course, a contest to test your horizons. I just saw the questions and already realized how my horizons lack wideness yet. 🙂

Tell us about your internship at the Singapore Advanced Robotics Centre?
My supervisors are Professor Marcelo H Ang Jr and Dr. Raye Yeow Chen Hua. I worked on two projects in the field of soft robotics. I’ve been assigned a mentor. What I did? He prepared the power drive of the robot arm movements in the elbow joint and helped the mentor with his project to assemble and test the manta-robot, printed on a 3D printer and cut out the details. I also collected experimental data (my robot was swimming at a speed of 9 m/min). But not less important for me was the fact that I felt the atmosphere of this work, real scientific researchers and in one of the best laboratories in the world in its field.

For me it was the first experience abroad. For the first time I went alone to a completely unfamiliar country. I had a culture shock at first. And it was hard to make new friends, but gradually I became friends with the laboratory staff and other trainees. By the way, I am fond of street dancing and even attended several dance workshops in the city and participated in dance battles. Dancing helped me to get acquainted with many interesting people and brought some variety to the working routine.

What have you achieved?
During the internship I learned how to use a laser machine for cutting parts and 3D printers Upbox! and Lulzbot and basic three-dimensional printing skills. I learned how to work in the program for three-dimensional design called SolidWorks. Deepened my knowledge in mechanical design. By the end of the internship, I had made four prototypes of the exoskeleton drive, but the work on the project continues in order to achieve greater flexibility and strength of the robot arm.

How do you apply that knowledge today and what’s next?
Now I’m in my third year of studying and what I learned during my internship was useful to me in the mechanical design classes, which were mandatory for us at the faculty of robotics. The internship gave me experience in manufacturing soft robotic drives. Soft Robotics sphere in Kazakhstan is undeveloped and my knowledge opens up great opportunities for its development in our country. At the moment, I have already started my own project for the production of exoskeletons on a 3D printer. There are still thoughts to enter the master’s or doctoral studies in other laboratories of the world, for example, in Harvard BioDesign Lab, where I can continue to develop and do what I like.

4.03.19, Success stories

Seen by: 375

Бекарыс Нуртай

Специализация: робототехника и мехатроника. Стажировка: Национальный университет Сингапура.

Бекарыс родом из Атырау, ему 21, и он увлечен робототехникой. В нелегкой борьбе парень выиграл грант от фонда им. Шахмардана Есенова и оказался на три месяца в одной из крутых робототехнических лабораторий Сингапура.

Что за зверь такой: Soft Robotics? Это тема Вашей стажировки в Сингапуре.
Это так называемая «мягкая робототехника». Она имеет дело с материалами, схожими с теми, что присутствуют в живых организмах. В моем случае это были робот-скат и экзоскелет (вспомогательный механизм для локтевого сустава).

А откуда и как у Вас возник интерес к робототехнике?
Не могу точно сказать, но помню, что случилось это в 10 классе. Я тогда был в дружеских отношениях с одним из учителей. Мы как-то разговорились о космических проектах, и он предложил мне сделать робота, собирающего космический мусор. Прозвучало это амбициозно. Такая уверенность учителя и подтолкнула меня начать изучать эту отрасль.

Расскажите, что интересного для Вас лично было на конкурсе, когда Вы боролись за грант фонда?
Когда мы брали интервью друг у друга – это было самым интересным. Прозвучало много глубоких вопросов, придуманных самими конкурсантами, еще интереснее были ответы на них. И, конечно, конкурс на проверку кругозора. Я только увидел вопросы, а уже понял, насколько мой кругозор НЕ широк. 🙂

Расскажите о том, как прошла стажировка в сингапурском Advanced Robotics Centre?
Моими руководителями были профессор Марсело Эйч Эн и доктор Рэй Ю Чен Хуа. Я работал над двумя проектами в сфере «мягкой робототехники». Мне назначили и ментора. Чем я занимался? Готовил силовой привод движений руки робота в локтевом суставе и помогал ментору с его проектом по сборке и тестированию манта-робота (манта – вид скатов), печатал на 3D-принтере и вырезал детали. Я также собирал экспериментальные данные (робот у меня плавал со скоростью 9 м/мин.). Но не менее важно было для меня то, что я прочувствовал атмосферу настоящей работы, реальных научных исследователей, причем в одной из лучших лаборатории мира в своей сфере.

Для меня это был первый опыт за рубежом. Я впервые выехал один в совершенно не знакомую страну. Был культурный шок. Поначалу было тяжело заводить новые знакомства, но постепенно я cдружился с работниками лаборатории и другими стажёрами. Кстати, я увлекаюсь уличными танцами и даже посетил несколько танцевальных мастер-классов в городе и участвовал в баттлах. Танцы помогли познакомиться со многими интересными людьми и разбавили рабочую рутину.

Чего Вы добились?
За время стажировки я научился основным навыкам трехмерной печати, пользоваться лазерным станком для резки деталей  и 3D-принтерами Upbox! и Lulzbot. Теперь я умею работать в программе для трехмерного дизайна SolidWorks. Углубил свои знания в механическом дизайне. К концу стажировки изготовил четыре прототипа привода экзоскелета, но работы по проекту продолжаются с тем, чтобы добиться большей гибкости и силы руки робота.

Как применяете те знания сегодня и что дальше?
Сейчас я на третьем курсе, и то, что я узнал во время стажировки, пригодилось мне на занятиях по механическому дизайну, которые были обязательными у нас на факультете робототехники. Стажировка дала мне опыт в изготовлении мягких роботизированных приводов. Сфера Soft Robotics в Казахстане неразвита, и мои знания открывают большие возможности для ее развития у нас. На данный момент уже начал собственный проект по изготовлению экзоскелетов на 3D-принтере. Еще есть мысли поступить на магистратуру или докторантуру в другие лаборатории мира, например, в Harvard BioDesign Lab, где я смогу продолжить развиваться и заниматься тем, что мне нравится.

4.03.19, Истории успеха

Просмотров: 377