Assel Yezhikova

Speciality: General Medicine. Internship: Tufts University, USA.

21, from Almaty, Asfendiyarov KazNMU, she did her summer research in Tafts university in 2015.

1. Why did your choice of profession fall on medicine?
The great Socrates said, all the professions in the world are from people and only three of the came from the gods. A judge, a teacher and a physician receive their gift from above. I chose the latter profession. The medical profession is in demand and requires full-time and generosity. Since I was a child I always admired people wearing white doctor’s overall/uniform, they were like superheroes to me. That’s how my hobby turned into my clear life position that is to help people.

2. How did you pass the selection for obtaining a grant?
The selection for summer internship in the U.S. took place in two stages. First we had to send all the documents together with an essay on the topic “I need a PhD in order to…”. Next was the interview. At this stage the main thing was not to panic and not get lost. I was able to demonstrate how I find a way of solving the problem, that I was offered. And I was very happy when it turned out that I entered the list of the grant recipients.

3. What interesting happened during the internship?
I did my three-month summer research internship in the student capital of the USA – Boston. There are dozens of universities, known throughout the world in the city. Their graduates become a political and scientific elite of the country. During the internship I met with the talented students of top universities. Competition among them is quite tough – all of them compete for the best scores, for a place in the best research teams. However the competition motivates them. I think many of Kazakhstan students lack a spirit of competition, self-confidence/faith in themself and a positive attitude.

4. What did you achieve personally during your internship?
It gave me a lot in terms of professional development. Now I have an idea of how things work in the best research laboratories. I will use my acquired knowledge and experience to achieve my main goal – entering PhD program at American University.

14.10.17, Success stories

Seen by: 950

Асель Ежикова

21 год, из Алматы, студентка КазНМУ им. Асфендиярова, летнюю научную стажировку прошла в Университете Тафтса в 2015 году.

1. Почему выбрали именно эту специальность в вузе?

Великий Сократ говорил: все профессии в мире – от людей и только три – от богов. Судья, педагог и врач получают свой дар свыше. Я выбрала последнюю профессию. Профессия врача требует ответственности, она востребованная и требует полной отдачи сил и душевной щедрости. Сколько себя помню, всегда восхищалась людьми в белых халатах, они для меня были супергероями.  Мое увлечение переросло в четкую жизненную позицию – помогать людям.

2. Как проходили конкурс на стажировку?

Отбор на летнюю стажировку в США проходил в два этапа. На первом мы должны были направить полный пакет документов вместе с эссе на тему «Мне необходима степень PhD, чтобы…». Далее было собеседование. На этом этапе главное не паниковать и не теряться. Мне удалось продемонстрировать, как я мыслю в процессе поиска путей решения задачи, которую мне предложили. Очень обрадовалась, когда выяснилось, что я вошла в заветный список финалистов.

3. Что интересного происходило во время стажировки?

Я проходила свою трехмесячную летнюю стажировку в студенческой столице США – Бостоне. Там находятся десятки вузов, известных на весь мир. Их выпускники становятся политической и научной элитой страны. За время стажировки я познакомилась с талантливыми студентами топовых вузов. Конкуренция среди таких студентов высока – все они соревнуются за лучшие оценки, за место в лучших исследовательских коллективах. Но соперничество их мотивирует. Думаю, многим нашим студентам как раз духа соперничества и не хватает, как веры в себя и позитивного настроя.

4. Итоги стажировки для вас лично?

Стажировка многое мне дала в плане профессионального развития. Теперь я имею представление о том, как все устроено в лучших лабораториях.  Я буду использовать приобретённые мною знания и опыт для достижения своей главной профессиональной цели — это поступление на программу PhD в американский вуз.

14.10.17, Истории успеха

Просмотров: 394