Yulia Sabirova

Specialty: mathematical and computer modeling. The recipient of the Yessenov Scholarship.

The second-year Master’s student of the Al-Farabi Kazakh National University is 23 years old. In the spring of 2021, Yulia Sabirova was among the 17 winners of the scholarship competition of the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation. She told us in this interview about how she decided to study mathematics and won a scholarship of a Kazakh academician, and why yoga occupies such an important place in her life.

What is the reason for your choice of specialty?
You won’t believe it, but since childhood I have liked mathematics and technical disciplines in general. When the moment of choice came, I realized that I wanted to study where I could combine my interest in mathematics with programming. This opportunity was promised by the specialty “mathematical and computer modeling”. Experts in this field describe the processes around us and develop practical recommendations. For six years of study, I have never regretted the choice.

Where do such specialists usually find a use for their education?
Since the range of our knowledge is wide, graduates work in the banking sector and IT companies (analysts, specialists, project managers, database engineers, etc.). And those who prefer web development become frontend developers, software developers, 1C programmers or create startups and devote themselves to 3D modeling. There are also postgraduates, PhD students and those who go to teach.

Why did you decide to apply for the Yessenov Scholarship?
I learned about the competition from a colleague and decided to take a chance. I didn’t expect much when applied, so I was doubly glad that I made it to the final, and then I won. Once again, I was convinced how important it is to try and use all the opportunities that arise. Even a negative result is a result and a tremendous experience.

Yulia, how did the competition go for you?
I enjoyed writing a motivation essay. There I shared my thoughts about science and what I can do for its development. It helped to structure my chaotic thoughts and analyze what I have already done. In the final interview, I was asked a variety of questions. Too bad it was online. I really wanted to get to know and make friends with other applicants, the best students of the country. But the interviewers created comfortable and friendly atmosphere during our communication.

Why did you win and what are your life hacks?
The competition was aimed at students engaged in scientific research, and I was just conducting them as part of a group of the department of our university. Regarding recommendations to future participants, here they are: be sincere, open and don’t worry! When you are asked about your achievements in an interview, do not hesitate to share them, tell everything in detail.

What do you strive for the next year or two?
Since the beginning of the pandemic, long-term plans have become irrelevant, so I will answer with a reservation “when circumstances allow”. This year I will complete my master’s degree and would like to enroll in PhD, combining it with teaching at the university. I will also continue to work as a part of a research group in the university.

How do you like to spend time after study?
Any mental work must be balanced by physical activities. I chose yoga, I try to devote 30-60 minutes for every day practice. Yoga can rightfully be considered a body science, it is an ideal way to make your body fit, strong, flexible and stress-resistant. I also like hiking in the mountains, ice skating and swimming. It gives me strength to move on, relaxes as does communication with my family. I want to express my gratitude to the family. It is extremely important for every person to have a reliable rear, support and motivation, and in this regard I am lucky: I owe all my achievements to my family and parents, only thanks to their love it became possible.

16.12.21, Stories

Seen by: 151

Юлия Сабирова

Специальность: математическое и компьютерное моделирование. Обладательница стипендии Есенова.

Второкурснице магистратуры КазНУ им. аль-Фараби 23 года. Весной 2021 года Юлия Сабирова оказалась в числе 17 победителей стипендиального конкурса Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation. О том, как она решила заниматься математикой и выиграла стипендию казахстанского академика, и почему в ее жизни такое важное место занимает йога, она рассказала нам в этом интервью.

С чем связан Ваш выбор специальности?
Не поверите, но мне с детства нравилась математика и вообще технические дисциплины. Когда наступил момент выбора, поняла, что хочу учиться там, где смогу совместить интерес к математике с программированием. Эту возможность обещала специальность «математическое и компьютерное моделирование». Специалисты в этой области описывают окружающие нас процессы и вырабатывают практические рекомендации. За шесть лет обучения ни разу не пожалела о выборе.

Где и кем обычно работают люди с такой специальностью?
Поскольку спектр наших знаний широк, выпускники работают в банковской сфере и IT-компаниях (аналитиками, специалистами, менеджерами проектов, инженерами баз данных и т.д.). А те, кто предпочитает веб-разработку, становятся фронтенд разработчиками, разработчиками программного обеспечения, 1С-программистами или создают стартапы и посвящают себя 3D-моделированию. Есть среди людей нашей специальности и магистранты, и те, кто идет преподавать.

Почему решили подать заявку на стипендию Есенова?
О конкурсе узнала от коллеги и решила рискнуть. Подавала заявку без особых ожиданий, потому была вдвойне рада, что прошла в финал, а затем и выиграла. В который раз убедилась, насколько важно пробовать и использовать все возникающие возможности. Даже отрицательный результат — результат и колоссальный опыт.

Юля, как для Вас проходил конкурс?
Мне понравилось писать мотивационное письмо. В нем я поделилась мыслями о науке и о том, что смогу сделать для ее развития. Это помогло структурировать свои хаотичные мысли и проанализировать, что я уже сделала в жизни. В финале на интервью мне задавали самые разные вопросы. Жаль, что это было онлайн. Очень хотелось вживую познакомиться и подружиться с другими претендентами, лучшими студентами. Но интервьюеры создали комфортные условия и дружелюбную атмосферу во время общения.

 

Почему Вы победили и что можете посоветовать участникам конкурса?
Конкурс был направлен на студентов, занимающихся научными исследованиями, а я как раз их веду в составе группы кафедры нашего университета. Касательно рекомендаций будущим участникам, то вот они: будьте искренними, открытыми и не волнуйтесь! Когда на интервью Вас спросят о достижениях, не стесняйтесь ими поделиться, рассказывайте подробно.

Каковы Ваши планы на ближайшие год-два?
С начала пандемии долгосрочные планы стали неактуальной вещью, поэтому отвечу с оговоркой «когда позволят обстоятельства». В этом году завершу магистратуру и хотела бы поступить на докторантуру, совмещая ее с преподаванием в университете. Продолжу и работу в составе научно-исследовательской группы в КазНУ.

Как любите проводить свободное время?
Любой умственный труд должен уравновешиваться физическим. Я выбрала йогу, стараюсь ежедневно выделять практике 30-60 минут. Йогу по праву можно считать наукой о теле, это идеальный способ сделать свое тело подтянутым, сильным, гибким и выносливым. Также люблю походы в горы, покататься на коньках и поплавать. Дает силы двигаться дальше, расслабляет и наполняет меня общение с родными.  Хочу выразить благодарность семье. Каждому человеку крайне важно иметь надежный тыл, поддержку и мотивацию, и в этом плане я счастливчик: всем моим достижениям я обязана своей семье и родителям, только благодаря их любви это стало возможным.

16.12.21, Истории

Просмотров: 152