Temirlan Shilibai

Specialization: Biology. Internship: Cornell University, USA.

The 22-year-old Almaty resident, studying the programming language Python, also has time to keep up with the latest Netflix premiers, and keep up on his reading. He recently read “Do No Harm” by British neurosurgeon Henry Marsh, which he recommends to everyone.  Temirlan chose to attend one of the Ivy League universities founded in the XIX century — Cornell, for the scientific training which his Yessenov Foundation grant enable him to pursue. Now the future biologist has gone to Ithaca (state of New York) to study the stem cells of mice.

What was difficult for you in the Foundation’s grand competition?
The most difficult thing was coping with nerves – the rules and requirements of the competition are quite simple, but because of this you do not know how you will be evaluated, what to expect and so before the announcement of the results I was on tenterhooks.

You are a biologist, but went on an internship at the College of Veterinary Medicine. What did you do there?
When I was looking for a laboratory, I looked only at the University and did not pay attention to a particular department – the main thing that it was interesting to me was the topic of research, whether studied in a veterinary laboratory or not didn’t matter to me. When I arrived at the laboratory itself, the staff told me that the system of division into departments of Biology here is very flexible. You can be registered in the Department of Molecular Biology, and work in the Veterinary College. And Yes — our study was conducted on mice, so the location of the laboratory in the Veterinary College was for a reason.

Temir, could you please tell us more about your research during the internship?
In the summer of 2018, I became an Intern at Alexander Nikitin’s laboratory. Nikitin is the Director of stem cell research at Cornell, and I was incredibly glad he accepted me. The internship was based on the results of the research of Tudorita Tumbar‘s friendly laboratory.  Dr. Tumbar investigates the stem cells of the hair follicles of mice, and one of her discoveries was genes that can be used as labels for different lines of stem cells. I had to determine if these genes could also be stem cell labels in the reproductive and digestive system. To put it simply: I examined the organs of genetically modified mice under a fluorescent microscope. The microscope is not simple: it can be used to see only the cells needed for the study. After some time in the laboratory, I learned that my supervisor is engaged in the study of organoids. These are the same cells, but they grow so that they become more like a real organ. I was very interested in working with organoids, and I asked to go on this project, too.

What has been achieved and what practical benefits will the study bring?
Such projects are not over in three months (the length of my internship), they go for years. Accordingly, it is difficult to answer your question. However, I found some very interesting details that will definitely help the Nikitin group in the ongoing study. Both in the first and in the second project. We have also proven that organoids can be used for stem cell research, which can greatly reduce the amount of mice used in research.

What did you see in the States besides the lab?
I’ve been to the Niagara Falls, and several times went to New York city, and I’ve been up and down Ithaca, where Cornell University is – it’s the nicest town.

What’s next Temirlan?
I graduated with a bachelor’s degree, and now, as planned, entered the doctoral program at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. To be honest, I do not know what exactly I want to do in my Ph.D. At University, I really enjoyed researching proteins that are involved in DNA repair, at Cornell University it was interesting to study stem cells, and recently I became interested in 3D protein structure. But one thing I know for sure – I will definitely get a doctorate in Biology.

13.08.19, Success stories

Seen by: 1,116

Темирлан Шиликбай

Специализация: биология. Стажировка: Корнеллский университет, США.

22-летний алматинец, изучающий язык программирования Python, не отстает от модных премьер Netflix и находит время для чтения. Прочитанную недавно «Не навреди» британского нейрохирурга Генри Марша он советует всем. Для научной стажировки по гранту фонда им. академика Ш.Есенова Темирлан выбрал один из основанных в XIX веке университетов Лиги плюща — Корнеллский. И вот будущий биолог уже отправился в Итаку (штат Нью-Йорк), чтобы изучать стволовые клетки мышей.

Что сложного было для Вас в конкурсе фонда на грант?
Самое сложное было совладать со своими нервами – правила и требования конкурса довольно простые, но из-за этого ты и не знаешь, как тебя будут оценивать, чего ждать и поэтому до оглашения результатов я все время сидел, как на иголках.

Вы биолог, но отправились на стажировку в колледж ветеринарной медицины. С чем это связано?
Когда я искал лабораторию, я смотрел только на университет и не обращал внимания на конкретный департамент – главное, чтобы это была интересная мне тема исследований, изучают ли ее в ветеринарной лаборатории или нет, было не важно. Когда я приехал в саму лабораторию, сотрудники сказали мне, что система деления на департаменты биологии здесь очень гибкая. Можно быть зарегистрированным в департаменте молекулярной биологии, а работать в ветеринарном колледже. И да — наше исследование проводилось на мышах, поэтому расположение лаборатории в ветеринарном колледже было неспроста.

Темир, расскажите, пожалуйста, подробнее об исследовании в рамках стажировки?
На лето 2018 года я стал стажером лаборатории Александра Никитина. Никитин – директор по исследованиям стволовых клеток в Корнелле, и я был невероятно рад, что он принял меня. Стажировка основывалась на результатах исследований дружеской лаборатории Тудориты Тумбар.  Доктор Тумбар исследует стволовые клетки волосяных фолликул мышей, и одним из ее открытий были гены, которые могут использоваться как метки разных линий стволовых клеток. Я должен был определить, могут ли эти гены быть метками стволовых клеток в органах репродуктивной и пищеварительной систем. Сказать просто: я исследовал органы генномодифицированных мышей под флуоресцентным микроскопом. Микроскоп непростой: с его помощью видны лишь нужные для исследования клетки. Через некоторое время работы в лаборатории я узнал, что мой супервайзер занимается исследованием органоидов. Это те же самые клетки, но растят так, что они становятся больше похожими на настоящий орган. Мне стало дико интересно поработать с органоидами, и я напросился в этот проект тоже.

Чего удалось добиться по итогам и какую практическую пользу принесет исследование?
Такие проекты идут не три месяца (которые длилась моя стажировка), они идут годы. Соответственно сложно ответить на Ваш вопрос. Тем не менее, я обнаружил очень интересные детали, которые однозначно помогут группе Никитина в продолжающемся исследовании. Как в первом, так и во втором проектах. Мы также доказали, что органоиды можно использовать для исследований стволовых клеток, что может очень сильно снизить количество используемых в исследованиях мышей.

Что успели посмотреть в Штатах, кроме лаборатории?
Я побывал на Ниагарском водопаде и несколько раз — в Нью-Йорке, вдоль и поперек обходил Итаку – милейший городок, где находится Корнеллский университет.

Куда теперь, Темирлан?
Я закончил бакалавриат, и теперь, как и планировал, поступил на докторантуру в Иллинойсский университет в Урбане-Шампейне. Если честно, я пока не знаю, чем конкретно хочу заниматься на Ph.D. В университете мне очень нравилось исследовать белки, которые участвуют в репарации ДНК, в Корнеллском Универститете было интересно изучать стволовые клетки, а недавно я заинтересовался 3D структурой белков. Но одно я знаю точно – я получу степень доктора в биологии.

13.08.19, Истории

Просмотров: 1 399