YESSENOV SCHOLARSHIP: OPENING JANUARY

The competition for the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation scholarship programme will open on 25 January. This is the first such competition being held by the organisation in a long time. 17 best students of Kazakhstan will receive a monthly scholarship of KZT 27,000.00. Executive Director of the Foundation Aiganym Malisheva answered questions in connection with the upcoming competition.

How many students have been beneficiaries of the Yessenov Scholarship?
In the seven years (2013-2020) that we have held the competition, 100 young Kazakhstanis have become beneficiaries of the scholarship. We even have one case of a student from Satbayev University – Anar Seiitova, who was awarded the scholarship two years in a row.

Students of what major may take part in this year’s competition?
Before the foundation was established by Galimzhan Yessenov, the scholarship was awarded only to students of Satbayev University, but in 2015 it became a Republican.
Any student of a Kazakh university studying natural science or majoring in technical, medical and IT specialties may apply. Second and third-year bachelor’s students, first-year master’s students, or students in their first year of internship are encouraged to apply.

What is the procedure for submitting the application for participation?
All applications and related documents may be submitted online, just like last year. We are in the processing of finalising the application form, and it will be ready by 25 January on our website yessenovfoundation.org.

What will be the stages for the selection of the scholarship competition winners, and on what dates?
The first round will begin immediately after completion of the application process on 27 February. We will review all duly submitted applications and the foundation’s staff and experts invited by the fund will help us evaluate them by 9 March . The most important criteria will be academic performance, the applicant’s scientific potential, as well as activity in the specialty and in student life. We will also take the applicant’s volunteer experience into account. No more than 30 contestants will enter the second round. In the second round, we will evaluate personal qualities, including leadership skills, ability to work in a team, argumentation, ability to quickly analyse new information, organisational skills, and communication skills. We will also take the applicant’s knowledge of languages into account.

Will the second stage be conducted online?
Due to the ongoing pandemic, we have decided to conduct our second round of interviews online. This will be a one-on-one interview of the applicant for the Yessenov Scholarship with an employee of the Foundation.

Last year, due to the pandemic and our inability to send the scholarship winners abroad, two important competitions of the Foundation – scientific internships in the World laboratories and internships in IT startups in USA, were canceled. What awaits these competitions this year?
After consulting with experts, we came up with two options: either close the programme, or transform it into something new that fits with the requirements of the time and the available opportunities. It was important for us to export the culture of Silicon Valley startups, but without actually being there, this became impossible. The major hurdles include the impossibility of full immersion into the business environment, the absence of full interaction with professionals, and the inability to participate live in meetups and conferences to gain practical experience. It was also impossible to visit the headquarters of major industry players. All this is a direct result of the ongoing pandemic. The competition for scientific internships in the World laboratories also depends on the epidemiological situation, the opening of borders and the possibility of obtaining visas to the desired countries.

What other contests does the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation plan to hold in the first half of 2021?
In the first half of the year, we will only hold one competition for the scholarship programme.

When and how do you plan to start and work on sending the 19 winners of the 2020 internships in IT startups in USA and Research Internship programme?
We will invite the winners to start searching for their desired laboratories as early as January 2021. There are fears that the borders of most countries will still be closed to Kazakhstanis even by next summer; meanwhile, universities and laboratories will not be fully operational offline. Therefore, we are considering various alternatives to internships. All bodies around the world that are responsible for organising and conducting scientific research in laboratories are now following the same path.

In the eight years of work of the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation, the organisation has conducted 38 programmes/ projects, eight of which are being implemented on an ongoing basis. During this time, almost one and a half thousand young Kazakhstanis became direct beneficiaries of the Foundation. This year alone, there are 25 beneficiaries of the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation, 20 students of the Yessenov Data Lab Summer School for Young Scientists, four undergraduates and 160 Karaganda students and teachers participating in the English language programme.

28.12.20, Newsfeed

Seen by: 4,715

Другие новости

«СТИПЕНДИЯ ЕСЕНОВА»: СТАРТУЕМ В ЯНВАРЕ

25 января открывается конкурс стипендиальной программы научно-образовательного фонда им. Ш.Есенова. Это первый за долгое время конкурс, проводимый организацией. Ежемесячной стипендии Есенова в 27 000 тенге удостоятся 17 лучших студентов Казахстана. На вопросы в связи с предстоящим конкурсом ответила исполнительный директор фонда Айганым Малишева.

Сколько учащихся уже стали стипендиатами Есенова?
За семь лет (2013-2020), что мы проводили конкурс, обладателями стипендии стало 100 молодых казахстанцев. У нас даже есть один случай, когда студентка Satbayev University — Анар Сеитова — удостаивалась стипендии два года подряд.

Учащиеся каких специальностей могут принять участие в конкурсе этого года?
До учреждения фонда Галимжаном Есеновым, стипендия присуждалась только студентам Satbayev University, но уже в 2015г. она стала республиканской.
Соискателем может стать любой студент казахстанского вуза, обучающийся естественнонаучным, техническим, медицинским и IT специальностям. Подать заявку могут учащиеся 2-3 курсов бакалавриата, 1 курса магистратуры или 1 курса интернатуры.

 Как будет осуществляться подача заявки на участие в конкурсе?
Подать заявку и документы, как и в прошлом году, можно будет онлайн. Форма заявки будет разработана и заработает к 25 января на нашем сайте – yessenovfoundation.org.

Из каких этапов будет состоять  и в какие даты проходить отбор победителей стипендиального конкурса?
Первый тур начнется сразу по завершении приема заявок — 27 февраля. К 9 марта мы изучим все поступившие в срок заявки, оценим их с помощью сотрудников фонда и приглашенных фондом экспертов. Самыми важными критерями будут академическая успеваемость, научный потенциал соискателя, активность по специальности и в студенческой жизни, учтем мы и волонтерский опыт. Во второй тур пройдет не более 30 конкурсантов. В нем мы оценим личностные качества: лидерские навыки, умение работать в команде, аргументацию, способность оперативно анализировать новую информацию, организаторские способности, коммуникативность. Будем учитывать и знание языков.

Будет ли второй этап проходить онлайн?
В связи с продолжающейся пандемией мы приняли решение проводить собеседования второго тура в режиме онлайн. Это будет индивидуальное собеседование претендента на стипендию Есенова с сотрудником фонда.

В прошлом году из-за пандемии и невозможности отправить победителей за границу были отменены 2 важных конкурса фонда – научные стажировки в лабораториях мира и стажировки в IT стартапах США. Что ждет эти конкурсы в этом году?
По итогам консультаций с экспертами мы пришли к двум вариантам: либо закрытие программы, либо трансформация ее во что-то новое в соответствии с требованием времени и возможностями. Для нас было важным экспортировать культуру стартапов Кремниевой долины, но без пребывания там это невозможно сделать. Не добиться полного погружения в бизнес среду, не получить полноценного общения с профессионалами и опыта живого участия в митапах, конференциях, не посетить штаб-квартиры крупных компаний и т.д. Все это сейчас как раз невозможно из-за пандемии. Проведение конкурса на стажировки в научных лабораториях мира также зависит от эпидемиологической обстановки, открытия границ и возможности получить визы в нужные страны.

Какие еще конкурсы фонд Есенова планирует провести в первом полугодии 2021 года?
В первом полугодии мы проведем лишь конкурс стипендиальной программы.

Когда и как планируется начать и вести работу по отправке 19 победителей программы научных стажировок и стажировок в IT-стартапах США 2020 года?
Мы предложим победителям начать поиск лабораторий уже в январе 2021. Есть опасения, что даже к лету границы большинства стран для казахстанцев все еще будут закрыты, а университеты и лаборатории не будут работать в полную силу оффлайн. Поэтому рассматриваем различные варианты, которые смогут стать альтернативой стажировкам. По тому же пути сейчас идут все организации мира, задействованные в организации и проведении научных исследований в лабораториях.

За восемь лет работы фонда им. академика Ш.Есенова организация провела 38 программ/проектов, восемь из них реализуется на постоянной основе. За это время прямыми бенефициарами-грантополучателями фонда стали почти полторы тысячи молодых казахстанцев. Только в этом году среди них 25 обладателей стипендии Есенова, 20 студентов летней школы для молодых ученых Yessenov Data Lab, четыре магистранта и 160 карагандинских студентов и преподавателей — участников программы английского языка.

28.12.20, Новости

Просмотров: 5 039

Другие новости