TO BECOME AN IMMUNOLOGIST

Banu Ospanova was invited to complete a masters at Oxford. Just this year she successfully graduated from School of Science and Technology of the Biology Department at the Nazarbayev University.

A year ago, she won one of the Foundation’s grants to carry out scientific research at the Center for Infectious Medicine at Karolinska Institutet (Sweden). The school is one of the largest and strongest medical institutes of Europe. In March of this year, Banu received an invitation from the Nuffield Department of Surgical Sciences at Oxford University for the master’s degree program with a specialization in integrated immunology.

Operational Director of the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation Irina Grishchenko explains: “The Vice President for student affairs and international cooperation of Nazarbayev University Mrs. Dairova addressed us asking to consider sponsoring Banu’s study in England. We are a non-profit organization and we collected information to make a learned decision. Banu is one of the bright students, graduate of Nazarbayev University, and she received very flattering recommendations from her professor. The results of her scientific internship in 2015 were accepted for publication in a scientific journal at the end of this year. Training in magistracy is the transitional phase between undergraduate and medical school, where she plans to enroll in the future.”

While studying in the UK the Kazakh student will not only practice medicine, but also do research in the field of immunology and clinical research. “By the end of the first semester at Oxford they will give me a list of science projects to choose from. After making my choice of the project, I will meet my academic supervisor and start working in the laboratory. Now, while still in Kazakhstan, I have been looking into the earlier scientific topics developed there and I found myself interested in the mechanisms of immune privilege (in other words – the lack of immune response or rejection) on the embryonic stem cells. The more we learn about this, the more it will enable us to make substantial progress in transplantology and regenerative medicine. My plans for the next year are to work in the medical clinic and enhance my communication skills with patients” – Banu Ospanova shared with us.

Upon completion of her education in Oxford, the promising young scientist plans to make a scientific publication. British University has allocated Banu with a small stipend sufficient to cover the costs of accommodation and meals. Thus, in September, our grantee will be starting her studies in England that will be completed in autumn of 2017.

1.08.16, Newsfeed

Seen by: 885

Другие новости

СТАТЬ ИММУНОЛОГОМ В ОКСФОРДЕ

Выпускница Nazarbayev University Бану Оспанова получила приглашение пройти магистратуру в Оксфорде. В этом году она успешно закончила школу наук и технологий факультета биологии этого университета.

Год назад Бану прошла на грант научно-образовательного фонда им. Академика Ш. Есенова стажировку в центре инфекционной медицины Karolinska Institutet (Швеция). Учебное заведение является одним из крупнейших и сильнейших медицинских вузов Европы. В марте этого года Бану получила приглашение от Nuffield Department of Surgical Sciences Оксфордского университета для обучения по программе магистратуры со специализацией в интегрированной иммунологии.

Операционный директор фонда Ирина Грищенко поясняет: «Вице-президент по студенческим делам и международному сотрудничеству Nazarbayev University К. Даирова обратилась в фонд и предложила нам стать спонсорами обучения Оспановой в Англии. Наша некоммерческая организация изучила информацию и приняла положительное решение. Бану – одна из лучших студенток, теперь – выпускниц – университета, она получила весьма лестную характеристику от своего профессора в Nazarbayev University. По итогам стажировки в 2015 году ее работу приняли к публикации, что произойдет в научном журнале в конце 2016 года. Обучение на магистратуре является для нее переходным этапом между бакалавриатом и медицинской школой, куда она планирует поступить в будущем».

Во время обучения казахстанская студентка сможет не только заниматься медициной, но и исследованиями в области иммунологии, а также клиническими исследованиями. «К концу первого семестра в Оксфорде мне предоставят список научных проектов на выбор. Выбрав проект для работы, я ознакомлюсь со своими научными кураторами и начну работу в лаборатории. Но уже сейчас, еще находясь в Казахстане, я знакомлюсь с ранее разработанным там научными темами. Меня очень заинтересовало изучение механизмов иммунной привилегии (проще говоря – отсутствие иммунной реакции или отторжения) в эмбриональных стволовых клетках. Узнав больше об этом, мы сможем серьезно продвинуться в сфере трансплантологии и регенеративной медицины. В моих планах на ближайший учебный год работа в медицинской клинике и развитие своих навыков коммуникаций с пациентами», – поделилась с нами Бану Оспанова.

По завершении обучения девушка рассчитывает сделать научные публикации. Оксфордский университет выделил Оспановой небольшую стипендию, которой будет достаточно для покрытия расходов на проживание и питание. Таким образом, в сентябре наш грантополучатель приступит к учебе в Англии, которая завершится осенью 2017 года.

1.08.16, Новости

Просмотров: 961

Другие новости