PUPILS FROM AKTOBE AND UST-KAMENOGORSK REPRESENTS KAZAKHSTAN IN KOREA

Final selection of high school students to the Kazakh national team for the international Olympiad in Earth Science IESO 2019 came to an end in Astana. It will be held in South Korea in late August.

In the capital of the country, final selection of senior pupils to the Kazakhstan national team for the IESO is finalized.

— Four Kazakh students will go to South Korea. Rustam Valeyev from Aktobe (Nazarbayev Intellectual Schools, NIS), Almas Iskendirov from Ust-Kamenogorsk (“Bilim” innovative lyceum), Amir Zholdasbekov from Astana (NIS), and his compatriot Aibike Zhagiparova (gymnasium №4), — shared the project coordinator of Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation Nursultan Nurmukhanov.

Interestingly, that the only girl in the team made an attempt to get enrolled to the national team last year, but poor English language skills did not allow her to do so. Having seriously improved her English over a year, Aibike has achieved the goal, and this year she will represent our country at the international competition.

— How were children able to pass to the final? Last year we notified many schools across the country of the competition, and they further carried out the selection later. They sent their best students to Astana, and 37 of them successfully proceeded to the final. The guys demonstrated deep knowledge in geology, astronomy, oceanology, and, of course, English. We have selected the four strongest students out of them, — said Zhanat Ismail, Director of the “Zhas geolog” foundation.

Further, the winners of the competition begin preparing for the Olympiad by solving tasks similar to those at the future competition. Professor of Geology Laurent Richard and candidate of geological and mineralogical Sciences and head of interest club “Zhas geolog” Aigul Baidauletova (both from Astana) will prepare Kazakh students. Classes will be held online twice a week.

— IESO is a well-known Olympiad, and participation in the event, winning the awards, are prestigious for the country and for children. This shows the level reached in Kazakhstan in the field of Earth Sciences. I took part in the final selection and I can say that the level of your guys is really high. I hope that this year your country will again have medals at the IESO, — Professor L. Richard shared.

Students selection round was arranged by the corporate foundation “Zhas geolog”, the general sponsor of the national Kazakhstan team at IESO is the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation. It should be noted that from the IESO in 2017 and 2018, Kazakhstan participants returned with 9 awards. It is interesting that the 13th Olympiad will be held this year in the same city, Daegu, where it was first held in 2007.

5.02.19, Foundation's news

Seen by: 276

Другие новости

ШКОЛЬНИКИ ИЗ АКТОБЕ И УСТЬ-КАМЕНОГОРСКА ПРЕДСТАВЯТ КАЗАХСТАН

В Астане завершился отбор старшеклассников в казахстанскую национальную команду на международную олимпиаду по наукам о Земле IESO 2019. Она пройдет в Южной Корее в конце августа.

В столице страны завершился финал отбора старшеклассников в казахстанскую национальную команду на международную олимпиаду IESO.

— В Корею отправится четверо казахстанских школьников. Рустам Валеев  из Актобе (Назарбаев Интеллектуальные школы, НИШ), Алмас Искендиров из Усть-Каменгорска (иновационный лицей»Білім»), Амир Жолдасбеков из Астаны (НИШ), и его землячка Айбике Жагипарова (гимназия №4), — поделился координатор проектов научно-образовательного фонда им. Ш.Есенова Нурсултан Нурмуханов.

Любопытно, что единственная в команде девушка пыталась пройти в сборную еще в прошлом году, но недостаточный уровень владения английским языком не позволил ей этого. Серьезно подтянув язык за год, Айбике добилась своего  и в этом году представит нашу страну на международном соревновании.

— Как дети попали на финал? Еще в прошлом году мы известили о конкурсе многие школы страны, которые провели у себя отбор. Они отправили своих лучших школьников в Астану, в финале их оказалось 37. Ребята продемонстрировали глубокие познания в геологии, астрономии, океанологии, и, разумеется, английском языке. Из них мы выбрали четверых самых-самых, — рассказала Жанат Исмаил, директор фонда «Жас геолог».

Далее у победителей конкурса начинается подготовка к олимпиаде — решение заданий, аналогичных тем, с которыми они встретятся на соревнованиях. Готовить казахстанских школьников будут профессор геологии Лоран Ришар и кандидат геолого-минералогических наук и руководитель кружка «Жас геолог» Айгуль Байдаулетова (оба из Астаны). Уроки будут проходить онлайн дважды в неделю.

— IESO — это хорошо известная олимпиада, и принимать в ней участие, тем более завоевывать награды, это престижно и для страны, и для детей. Это показывает, какого уровня достигли в Казахстане в области изучения наук о Земле. Я принимал участие в финальном отборе и могу сказать, что уровень ваших ребят действительно высок. Надеюсь, в этом году у вашей страны опять будут медали на IESO, — поделился своим мнением проф. Л.Ришар.

Отбор школьников организовал корпоративный фонд «Жас геолог», генеральным спонсором национальной казахстанской команды IESO является научно-образовательный фонд им. Ш.Есенова. Напомним, что с олимпиады IESO в 2017 и 2018 гг. казахстанцы привезли домой 9 наград. Интересно, что 13-я олимпиада пройдет в этом году в том же самом городе —Тэгу, —в котором она впервые состоялась в 2007 году.

5.02.19, Новости фонда

Просмотров: 1 487

Другие новости