FIRST YEAR: DONE!

On May 28, the first year of training for students and teachers of the Karaganda Medical University (KMU) under the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation English Language Programme wrapped up. 165 people from this regional university were able to improve their language skills, including in the professional sphere. 

“157 people completed their training. 8 participants of the programme were unable to do this due to low attendance and failure to pass tests,” Programme Coordinator of the foundation Aigerim Sultan remarks. “In October when we first started, there were no students in the advanced and upper intermediate level groups, today, the British teachers Benjamin Green, Pauline Bezzant and Antony Durrant have helped 60 of their students to now speak the language at these levels.”

Doctoral students, master’s students, undergraduates and teachers were among the participants of the programme. The tests they took at the beginning of the year determined that most of them have a pre-intermediate or intermediate level of English proficiency. At the end of the year, they all moved up a notch. 17 people passed the upper intermediate test, while 32 KMU medical students improved their English to the advanced level. According to the university’s management, the institution received much positive feedback from students on its English language courses.

“We have another year of the programme ahead of us. Many people would like to continue their classes with native speakers. Everything was perfectly organized, and students had the opportunity to immerse themselves in the language right at their university. Many of the participants told me that they were finally able to cross the barrier and start speaking English. Their pronunciation has also improved,” KMU Vice-Rector for Strategic Development and Science Anar Turmukhambetova explains.

The results of the first year of the programme were achieved: students and teachers managed to move to the next level on the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages scale. Jointly with the Bonas McFarlane Kazakhstan, the foundation selected the 15 best students of the programme – teachers and PhD / master’s students, based on the test results. The Yessenov Foundation will finance to finance their IELTS exams as promised. As they are planning to enroll in a doctoral programme, many of them need a certificate.

The winners were selected based on the results of their final test; their attendance and homework were also taken into account. They are expected to take the IELTS exam at the end of June. One of the best students of the English programme was 37-year-old doctoral student and Director of the research center Dmitry Babenko. Dmitry also won a scholarship to study at the Yessenov Data Lab, a summer school for young data scientists, which begins in July.

In September, a new stream of Karaganda Medical University students will be selected for the second year of study under the foundation’s English Language Programme. Plans are underway to enroll 90 students, 70 teachers, undergraduates and doctoral students into the programme. Classes will begin in October. The Yessenov Foundation English Language Programme is offered at regional universities in Kazakhstan, and has already proven itself at Yessenov University in Aktau (2013-2016) and Korkyt Ata Kyzylorda State University (2017-2019). Last year, Karaganda Medical University won the grant for the programme in an open competition. The winning university conducts the programme for 2 years, at the end of which the best teachers and students get the opportunity to take IELTS exams for free

2.06.20, Newsfeed

Seen by: 1,205

Другие новости

FIRST YEAR: DONE!

28 мая завершился первый год обучения студентов и преподавателей Медицинского университета Караганды (МУК) в рамках программы английского языка Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation. 165 человек в этом региональном вузе смогли повысить свои знания языка, в том числе и в профессиональной сфере.  

— 157 человек полностью завершили обучение. 8 участников программы не смогли этого сделать из-за низкой посещаемости и несдачи тестов, — рассказывает координатор программы фонда Айгерим Султан. — Если в октябре, когда мы только начинали, в группах не было ни одного учащегося с уровнем advanced и upper intermediate, то сегодня британские преподаватели – Бенджамин Грин, Полин Беззан и Энтони Дюррант – добились того, что 60 их студентов теперь владеют языком на этих уровнях.

Среди участников программы были студенты-докторанты и магистранты, преподаватели. Тесты, сданные ими в начале года, определили, что у большинства уровень владения английским в рамках pre-intermediate либо intermediate. В конце года все они перешли на ступень выше. 17 человек сдали тест на upper intermediate, а 32 карагандинских студента-медика повысили свой английский до уровня advanced. Как сообщает руководство вуза, оно получило от обучающихся множество положительных отзывов о курсах английского.

— У нас впереди еще год программы. Желающих продолжить занятия с носителями языка много. Все было отлично организовано и учащиеся получили возможность погрузиться в язык прямо в своем университете. Многие говорили мне, что наконец-то смогли переступить барьер и начать говорить на английском. Улучшилось у них и произношение, — сообщила проректор по стратегическому развитию и науке МУК Анар Турмухамбетова.

Результаты первого года программы достигнуты: студенты и преподаватели перешли на следующий уровень по шкале общеевропейских компетенций владения иностранным языком. А по результатам тестирования фонд вместе с партнером программы Bonas McFarlane Kazakhstan отобрали 15 лучших студентов программы — это преподаватели, магистранты и докторанты. Фонд им. Есенова профинансирует им сдачу IELTS. Многим из них сертификат просто необходим, т.к. они планируют поступать в докторантуру.

Отбирали победителей с учетом результатов их финального теста, а также посещаемости занятий и выполнения домашних заданий. Как ожидается, экзамен IELTS пройдет для них в конце июня. Одним из лучших студентов в программе английского стал 37-летний докторант и директор научно-исследовательского центра Дмитрий Бабенко. Он также выиграл право на обучение в летней школе для молодых ученых–аналитиков данных Yessenov Data Lab, которая стартует в июле.

В сентябре в Медицинском университете Караганды пройдет отбор в программу английского языка на второй год обучения. Планируется, что в ней примет участие 90 студентов, 70 преподавателей, магистрантов и студентов докторантуры. Занятия начнутся в октябре. Программа английского языка фонда им. академика Ш.Есенова проводится в региональных вузах Казахстана и уже хорошо зарекомендовала себя в Yessenov University в Актау (2013-2016) и Кызылординском государственном университете им. Коркыт Ата (2017-2019). В прошлом году грант на проведение программы в открытом конкурсе выиграл Медицинский университет Караганды. Университет-победитель проводит программу в течение 2 лет, по окончании лучшие преподаватели и студенты получают возможность бесплатно сдать IELTS.

2.06.20, Новости

Просмотров: 1 588

Другие новости