Yerkezhan Amerzhanova (Kalikanova)

Specialization: molecular medicine. Internship: European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Germany.

Yerkezhan, 26, is from Ust-Kamenogorsk, she graduated from the School of Medicine of the Nazarbayev University. From a little girl who once took care of the garden and ran in the sunflower fields, she grew up into a persistent, purposeful person. Only after the third attempt our heroine achieved victory in the competition for the research internships of the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation. And now she is waiting for her doctoral program in one of the most prestigious universities in the world – ETH Zurich – to begin.

How did you choose molecular medicine?
I became interested in research activities, but had experience only in synthetic biology (ecology and microbiology). I heard about the then new master’s degree program in the field of molecular medicine, and decided to enroll.

How did you find out about the grant competition of the Yessenov Foundation?
From my friends and decided to try after my second year. But I lacked experience and motivation. I didn’t pass then, but I didn’t give up and tried again after the 4th year. I made it to the final, I was close to winning, but the competition was tough, and I was worried: therefore I lost again. Nevertheless, I did not despair, and while studying for a master’s degree, I applied for the third time. At the business game in the final, I was completely immersed in the process, I was myself, and it was insanely interesting to me. So I won.

What does a person need to win?
Understanding why you need this grant. It also helped that I didn’t give up and learned to accept refusals, use experience from them and try again. You need to stock up on energy and self-confidence, be yourself and enjoy the process. It sounds corny, but not many people can actually do it.

How did the internship take place?
In one of the most famous in its field, the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) in Heidelberg, Germany. Fundamental research and training are conducted there, and many scientific discoveries have been made at EMBL. I worked in the group of Dr. Olivier Duss. Although I applied for a 3-month internship, I was invited for six months. The work there exceeded expectations. The atmosphere in the group was inspiring, the staff supported each other and shared their experiences. I could have a casual conversation with professors – world luminaries who were open to communication. I have improved my networking skills and I can confirm that the Germans are really such perfectionists as we imagine them to be. At the same time, they have a healthy work-life balance. This is what I would like to take into my life.

What have you achieved?
I studied the fundamental process in the cell – transcription – the copying of genetic information from DNA into RNA, which is then delivered to proteins that are responsible for most functions of organisms. I was engaged in pathogenic bacteria Mycobacterium tuberculosis (cause tuberculosis), which can help in the development of new approaches to the treatment of diseases in the era of antibiotic resistance. I studied new research methods of DNA in the laboratory of radioactivity. I presented my results at a scientific retreat in Switzerland and received feedback from experts. The results of the work will be published as part of a comprehensive study – I will be one of the authors. After the restrictions were lifted due to the pandemic, I was able to visit Berlin, Frankfurt and even Swedish Gothenburg. Plus, during the mentioned retreat, I visited an absolutely incredible place in the Swiss Alps, the beauty of which can be enjoyed endlessly.

What kind of life hacks will you share with future winners?
Start looking for a lab as early as possible and always have a plan “B”. Don’t be afraid to write and chat with experts in your field to find a place. Look for the professor carefully, as well as the laboratory: focus not on the prominence, but on what you plan to get from the internship. Give preference to dynamically growing institutions in order to be in constant contact with the supervisor and colleagues. This is what will ensure your professional growth. I advise you to communicate more often with the previous holders of grants from the foundation: they are always ready to help.

What are you interested in besides science, Yerkezhan?
Fashion. I like to observe and reflect my observations in understanding my own style. The role model in this sense for me is Princess Diana. I also play the guitar, and soon I will master the piano. I like to read fiction: books always help to distract and reboot. My favorite novel is “Burden of Human Passions” by Somerset Maugham. I love coffee, a day does not pass without a mug of freshly brewed drink – I learn it a lot and try different methods of brewing coffee.

20.08.22, Stories

Seen by: 867

Еркежан Амержанова (Каликанова)

Специализация: молекулярная медицина. Стажировка: Европейская лаборатория молекулярной биологии, Германия.

Еркежан из Усть-Каменогорска, она закончила магистратуру Школы медицины Nazarbayev University, ей 26. Из маленькой девочки, которая когда-то ухаживала за огородом и бегала в полях подсолнухов, она выросла в упорного целеустремленного человека. Лишь с третьего раза наша героиня добилась победы в конкурсе научных стажировок Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation. И теперь ее ждет докторантура в одном из престижнейших вузов мира – ETH Zurich.

Почему выбрали именно молекулярную медицину?
Заинтересовалась исследовательской деятельностью, но был опыт только в синтетической биологии (экология и микробиология). Услышала о новой тогда программе магистратуры в области молекулярной медицины, и решила поступать.

Как узнали о грантовом конкурсе фонда им. Ш.Есенова?
От своих друзей и решила попробовать после второго курса. Но опыта и мотивации было недостаточно. В первый раз не прошла, но не сдалась и попробовала снова после 4 курса. Прошла в финал, была близка к победе, но конкурс был тяжелым, и я переволновалась: опять проиграла. Не отчаивалась, и, учась на магистратуре, подала документы в третий раз. На деловой игре в финале я полностью погрузилась в процесс, была собой, и мне было безумно интересно. Так я победила.

Что нужно для победы?
Понимание, для чего вам этот грант. Также помогло, что я не сдавалась, научилась принимать отказы, извлекать из них опыт и пробовать снова. Нужно запастись энергией и уверенностью в своих силах, быть собой и наслаждаться процессом. Звучит банально, но не многие на самом деле могут это осуществить.

Как и где проходила стажировка?
В одной из самых известных в своей области Европейской лаборатории молекулярной биологии (EMBL) в Гейдельберге, Германия. Там проводятся фундаментальные исследования  и обучение, в EMBL было сделано много научных открытий. Работала в группе доктора Оливье Дусса. Хотя подавала заявку на 3-месячную стажировку, меня пригласили на полгода. Работа там превзошла ожидания. Атмосфера в группе была вдохновляющая, сотрудники поддерживали друг друга и делились опытом. Я могла непринужденно беседовать с профессорами – мировыми светилами, которые были открыты к общению. Подтянула навыки нетворкинга и подтверждаю: немцы действительно такие перфекционисты, как мы их представляем. При этом у них здоровый баланс между работой и личной жизнью. Это то, что я хотела бы взять в свою жизнь.

Чего добились?
Я изучала фундаментальный процесс в клетке – транскрипцию – копирование генетической информации из ДНК в РНК, которая затем доставляется в белки, что отвечают за большинство функций организмов. Занималась патогенными бактериями Mycobacterium tuberculosis (вызывают туберкулез), что сможет помочь в разработке новых подходов лечения заболеваний в эпоху устойчивости к антибиотикам. Изучила новые методы исследований: работу в лаборатории радиоактивности с ДНК. Свои результаты представила на научном ретрите в Швейцарии, получила обратную связь от экспертов. Результаты работы будут опубликованы в рамках всестороннего исследования – буду одним из авторов. После снятия ограничений из-за пандемии смогла посмотреть Берлин, Франкфурт-на-Майне и даже шведский Гетеборг. Плюс во время упомянутого ретрита побывала в совершенно невероятном месте Швейцарских Альп, красотой которого можно наслаждаться бесконечно.

Каким лайфхаком поделитесь с будущими победителями?
Начните поиск лаборатории как можно раньше и всегда имейте план «B». Не бойтесь писать и общаться с экспертами в вашей области, чтобы найти место. Профессора ищите внимательно, как и лабораторию: сосредоточьтесь не на известности фамилии, а на том, что планируете получить от стажировки. Отдавайте предпочтение динамично растущим учреждениям, чтобы быть в постоянном контакте с руководителем и коллегами. Именно это обеспечит вам профессиональный рост. Советую чаще общаться с обладателями грантов фонда прошлых лет: они всегда готовы поделиться опытом.

Чем увлекаетесь помимо науки, Еркежан?
Модой. Нравится наблюдать и отражать это в понимании собственного стиля. Образцом в этом смысле для меня является принцесса Диана. Играю на гитаре, скоро освою и фортепьяно. Люблю читать беллетристику: книги помогают отвлекаться и перезагружаться. Мой любимый роман «Бремя страстей человеческих» Сомерсета Моэма. Обожаю кофе, дня не проходит без кружки свежезаваренного. Много изучаю, узнаю и пробую разные методы заваривания кофе.

20.08.22, Истории

Просмотров: 869