Olzhas Aitbekov

Specialization: computer engineering. Internship: ‘Arka’ startup, USA.

Immediately after he graduated from the International IT University (Almaty), Olzhas managed to work in the Austrian company Axess AG and Kazakhstan’s Chocolife.me. Having heard about the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation competition for internships in American startups he applied, and became one of the 43 applicants competing for the right to work in the Silicon Valley. Where is the 23-year-old Kazakh now after winning the competition and spending six months in California?

When and how did you decide to become a developer? What are you passionate about besides IT?
I have always had good mathematical skills, but I came to programming relatively late, and only actively started to study it in the 11th grade of school. Before that, I even thought about seriously going into cooking! But I decided to do that as a hobby, something I don’t regret at all. In programming I liked non-standard ways of solving a variety of problems and the use of elements of mathematics and logic. I love to create new things and learning about technology, so I decided I wanted my life to be connected with these areas.

Tell us about the startup where you trained?
Arka
works on the customization of parcels and boxes for small and medium-sized businesses. Our clients are engaged in e-Commerce and sell goods online. To properly brand and decorate the boxes in which their goods will be delivered, they come to us. With the help of a 3D designer on our platform, they can change the size, material, quantity, and design and add the desired inscription in a couple of minutes.  The startup is small, only 7 people, and the office is a large apartment in the center of San Francisco. There is a very friendly team, and the most important thing is that it has the spirit of a developing startup.

Olzhas, what exactly did You do at Arka?
Literally everything. Development of the site and the user platform, optimization of algorithms for sorting and delivery of packaging to customers, working on servers, and working closely with designers on the models and the main site, and the development of the admin panel was also my responsibility. Sometimes we went to meetings and conferences, showing our product and attracting investors. Often I had to act as a manager and, of course, communicate with people who can positively affect the development of a startup.

What did you gain from doing the internship?
I grew as a professional. I strengthened my knowledge in project development, learned how to work with AWS (Amazon Web Services), Unity, GraphQL, Docker, and raised the level of algorithms and data structures. Now I understand startups as businesses much better, and got experience in  analytics and management.  I communicated well with the cool professionals. Almost every week I went to meetups and major conferences that are organized for developers like Google, Lyft, Uber, Amazon. Of course, I improved my English and traveled a lot in Sunny California :). As a result, my desire to grow and develop professionally has only increased. Now I’ve added to that the desire to share what I’ve learned with my colleagues in Kazakhstan. I maintain good relations with the developers of Arka to this day, and sometimes I still help them.

What are your plans?
To learn more and develop my skills. At the moment I work in a large company – PayPal, where many processes are very different from those that take place in a small startup. To me it’s a completely new experience and new knowledge. In the future, I would like to be in management or in the role of CEO of my own company. I want to share my experience and knowledge with developers from Kazakhstan. The potential of our guys is huge, and they are in no way inferior to the best developers in America and the world, I was convinced of that during the internship.

21.06.19, Success stories

Seen by: 908

Олжас Айтбеков

Специализация: компьютерная инженерия. Стажировка: стартап Arka, США.

Сразу после того, как окончил МУИТ, Олжас успел поработать в австрийской Axess AG, казахстанской Chocolife.me… Услышав в свое время о конкурсе стажировок в американских стартапах фонда им. Ш.Есенова, он подал заявку и стал одним из 43 претендентов на право поработать в Долине. Как складывается судьба 23-летнего казахстанца сейчас после победы в конкурсе и полугода, проведенного в Калифорнии?

Когда и как решили стать разработчиком? Чем увлечены кроме IT?
У меня всегда были хорошие математические способности, но пришел я к программированию относительно поздно, начал активно изучать это дело только в 11 классе школы. До этого даже думал серьезно заняться кулинарией! Но решил оставить ее как хобби, о чем ни капли не жалею. В программировании мне нравились нестандартные пути решения самых разных задач и использование элементов математики и логики. Я люблю создавать что-то новое и изучать технологии, поэтому и решил связать свою жизнь именно с этой сферой.

Расскажите о стартапе, где стажировались?
Arka
занимается кастомизацией посылок и коробок для малого и среднего бизнеса. Наши клиенты занимаются электронной коммерцией и продают товары онлайн. Чтобы как следует забрендировать и украсить коробку, в которой их товар будет доставляться, они и приходят к нам. С помощью 3D конструктора на нашей платформе они могут изменить размер, материал, количество, дизайн и добавить нужную надпись за пару минут.  Стартап небольшой, в штате всего 7 человек, а офис — большая квартира в центре Сан-Франциско. Там очень дружная команда и самое главное в ней — дух развивающегося стартапа.

Олжас, а чем конкретно Вы занимались в Arka?
Буквально всем. Разработкой сайта и платформы для пользователей, оптимизацией алгоритмов для сортировки и доставки упаковки покупателям, серверной частью, тесно работал с дизайнерами над моделями и основным сайтом, разработка админпанели тоже была на мне. Временами мы ходили на митапы и конференции, показывая наш продукт и привлекая инвесторов. Частенько приходилось выступать в роли менеджера и, конечно, общаться с людьми, которые могут позитивно повлиять на развитие стартапа.

С какими результатами пришли к концу стажировки?
Вырос как профессионал. Укрепил свои знания в разработке проектов, обучился работе с AWS (Amazon Web Services), Unity, GraphQL, Docker и поднял уровень алгоритмов и структур данных. Теперь я гораздо лучше понимаю стартап как бизнес, получил опыт в аналитике его работы и менеджменте.  У меня появились хорошие связи с крутыми профессионалами. Чуть ли не каждую неделю я бывал на митапах и крупных конференциях, которые организуют для разработчиков Google, Lyft, Uber, Amazon. Разумеется, улучшил свой английский и хорошо попутешествовал по солнечной Калифорнии :). По итогам, желание расти и развиваться профессионально у меня только выросло. Теперь к нему добавилось и желание делиться тем, что узнал, с моими коллегами в Казахстане. Я поддерживаю хорошие отношения с разработчиками из Arka и по сей день, временами помогая им.

Какие планы?
Учиться дальше и развивать навыки. В данный момент работаю в крупной компании PayPal, где многие процессы сильно отличаются от тех, что происходили в маленьком стартапе. Совершенно новый опыт и знания. В будущем хотел бы попробовать себя в менеджменте или в роли СЕО своей личной компании. Хочу параллельно делиться опытом и знаниями с разработчиками из Казахстана. Потенциал наших ребят огромен, и они ничем не уступают лучшим разработчикам Америки и мира, в этом я убедился во время стажировки.

21.06.19, Истории успеха

Просмотров: 416