SCHOOL FOR DATA SCIENTISTS LAUNCHED IN ALMATY

On June 11, a free school for data analysts — Yessenov Data Lab — was launched in Almaty. 21 students, winners of the competition held in Spring, are its first scholars.

Data Analyst— a profession that school graduates will receive — is one of the demanded and highly paid in the world today. The shortage of professionals in this specialty in the US alone is estimated at 180 thousand people. The demand for data analysts in Kazakhstan is growing every day. According to the initiators of the project, during 8 weeks the participants will be learning how to collect, process and visualize data, studying large amounts of data and optimizing existing business processes. At the classes, participants will be recognizing images, working with neural networks, solving problems on the Kaggle. The last two weeks of the school, her students will devote to solving project problems, real business cases, that will become a kind of exam.

— About 120 people competed for a place at Yessenov Data Lab. This profession in our country is getting more and more of important. We cover all expenses for lecturers and students. Disciples who successfully complete the course will receive a certificate of data analysis specialist. We are sure that none of the graduates will be left unemployed, — told Ilzira Aldagarova, Program Manager of the Yessenov Foundation, initiated the school.

Among the winners are representatives of 8 cities of Kazakhstan, seven participants of Yessenov Data Lab are females. The aim of the project is to train analysts, promote the use of data analysis in science and stimulate research activities in this field and the use of data analysis skills in Kazakhstan organizations and companies. The leading experts in this field will be lecturing at the school. Among them are Dmitry Kotovenko (AGT International, Frankfurt) and Marina Gorlova (Yandex.Money, St. Petersburg), Professors of AlmaU Kuanysh Abeshev and Timur Bakibayev, obtained doctoral degree in the United States and Germany, as well as Mikhail Lipkovich and Dmitry Russanov (EPAM Systems, St.Petersburg).

— We will devote most of the time to solving applied problems using state-of-the-art machine learning technologies. Data science requires a lot of skills and extensive knowledge, and it’s not always easy for beginners to understand where to start. The topics of my introductory week will be: to remove such fears, to describe the general structure of questions and problems of data analysis, to give an opportunity to try basic algorithms on real data and to explain the importance of these algorithms, that have not received such a “hype” as, say, neural networks,— said Dmitry Russanov.

The need for the profession is dictated by the fact that today we are talking about too large amounts of data that need to be processed, with which the standard means of mathematical statistics are not able to cope.

— The demand for specialists in the country is much higher than supply, so such schools should be held regularly. In addition, for many mathematicians and programmers it is a good chance to retrain and try something new. During the selection, the applicants showed an incredible interest in this area. I am sure that the participants of our school will learn a lot and will be able to raise the overall level of the country in the field of data analysis, — Timur Bakibayev expressed his hope.

The profession “Data Scientist ” (data analyst) is officially registered as an academic and cross-sectoral discipline in early 2010, and the associated term “Big Data” appeared in 2008.

18.06.18, Foundation's news

Seen by: 2,282

Другие новости

СТАРТОВАЛА ЛЕТНЯЯ ШКОЛА ДЛЯ АНАЛИТИКОВ

11 июня в Алматы открылась бесплатная школа для аналитиков данных Yessenov Data Lab. Ее первыми учащимися стал 21 студент, прошедший этой весной конкурс.

Специалист по анализу данных – профессия, которую получат выпускники школы — сегодня одна из самых востребованных и высокооплачиваемых в мире. Нехватка профессионалов этой специальности только в США оценивается в 180 тысяч человек. С каждым днем растет спрос на аналитиков данных и в Казахстане. По словам инициаторов проекта, за 8 недель участники научатся собирать, обрабатывать и визуализировать данные, изучать большие массивы данных и оптимизировать существующие бизнес-процессы. Во время занятий участники будут распознавать образы, работать с нейронными сетями, решать задачи на портале Kaggle. Последние 2 недели школы ее студенты посвятят решению проектных задач, реальных бизнес-кейсов, что будет своего рода экзаменом.

— За место в школе боролось около 120 человек. Эта профессия в нашей стране становится все актуальнее. Мы покрываем все расходы преподавателей и учащихся школы. Студенты, успешно завершившие курс, получат сертификат специалиста по анализу данных. Мы уверены, что ни один из выпускников не останется без работы, — рассказала Ильзира Алдагарова, менеджер программ фонда им. академика Ш.Есенова, инициировавшего проведение школы.

Среди победителей представители 8 городов Казахстана, семь участниц Yessenov Data Lab девушки. Цель проекта – подготовка аналитиков, содействие применению анализа данных в науке и стимулирование исследовательской деятельности в этой сфере, применение навыков анализа данных в казахстанских организациях и компаниях. Лекторами школы станут ведущие специалисты в этой области. Среди них Дмитрий Котовенко (AGT International, Frankfurt) и Марина Горлова (Яндекс.Деньги, Санкт-Петербург), профессора AlmaU Куаныш Абешев и Тимур Бакибаев, получившие докторские степени в США и Германии, а также Михаил Липкович и Дмитрий Русанов (EPAM Systems, Санкт-Петербург).

— Большую часть времени мы посвятим именно решению прикладных задач используя state-of-the-art технологии машинного обучения. Наука о данных требует множество навыков и обширных познаний, и новичкам не всегда легко понять, с чего стоит начать. Темами моей вводной недели будут: снять подобные страхи, описать общую структуру вопросов и проблем анализа данных, дать возможность испробовать базовые алгоритмы на реальных данных и обьяснить, чем важны эти алгоритмы, которые не получили такого «хайпа» как, скажем, нейронные сети,— рассказал Дмитрий Русанов.

Необходимость возникновения профессии продиктована тем, что сегодня речь уже идет о слишком больших массивах данных, которые необходимо обрабатывать, с чем стандартные средства математической статистики не справляются.

— Спрос на специалистов в стране намного выше предложения, поэтому такие школы необходимо проводить регулярно. Кроме того, для многих математиков и программистов это хороший шанс переквалифицироваться и попробовать себя в чём-то новом. Во время отбора претенденты проявили невероятный интерес к данной области. Я уверен, участники нашей школы многому научатся и смогут вместе поднять общий уровень страны в области анализа данных,  — выразил надежду Тимур Бакибаев.

Профессия «Data Scientist» (специалист по анализу данных) официально зарегистрирована как академическая и межотраслевая дисциплина в начале 2010, а связанный с ней термин «Big Data» появился в 2008 году.

18.06.18, Новости фонда

Просмотров: 2 280

Другие новости