Serik Zhumagazy

Serik Zhumagazy, 21 years old, had a chance to undertake the internship at Professor Steven Bull laboratory thanks to his victory in a competition organized by the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation. The student of al-Farabi KazNU was able to make his own modest contribution to the development of organic chemistry during the three months of his internship.

How did your interest in chemistry appear?
In the 7th grade I was interested in the rocket construction, that’s when I began to read about how to make fuel for a homemade rocket. Clearly, it was all about chemistry. That’s where my passion for chemistry appeared and rocket construction took a back seat. I liked this science at once. Unlike mathematics or physics, in chemistry, there are no strict rules and laws, or at least very few of them. Chemistry, especially organic chemistry, is a vast and infinite science, and I think it’s fascinating. (laughing)

What interesting experience did you have during the grant competition of the Foundation?
Collection and submission of documents is something I will remember for a long time. I literally applied at the last minute. Of course, I will remember our favorite (second) round that was also interesting. Worthy opponents and interesting tasks piqued my excitement. After the second round, I discovered some features in my character, that I previously didn’t know about. And, in the end, we all just had an interesting time during the final round of the competition.

Tell us about the internship?
A research project I participated in involved attempts to discover a new method of synthesis of a whole class of organic molecules. They are very useful, but they are difficult to obtain. These molecules are of great practical importance, they are used everywhere from medicine and pharmaceuticals to agriculture.

 What did you personally achieve?
Despite the fact that only few experiments were successful and we were not able to complete the project by the end of my three-month internship, my colleagues and I found optimal conditions for carrying out all chemical reactions. With a larger amount of time, it would be possible to obtain all the targeted products from the respective initial reagents. In general, the method can be called successfully tested, although there were problems at certain stages. At the end of my internship, I learned to work with modern devices that are now used in synthetic organic chemistry and interpret the obtained data. I improved my experimental skills, learned to find quickly and work effectively with scientific articles. I think I advanced as a researcher and future scientist. There is a probability that my name will be included in the list of authors of a scientific article that will be published in a scientific magazine upon completion of the project.

 What’s next, Serik?
As for my personal priorities, my main goal is to enroll in master’s and doctoral programs. And the rest remains to be seen. In the future I plan to investigate the phenomenon of asymmetric catalysis. In simple words, many complex organic compounds are, like people,  “righty” or “lefty”, and in consequence, the molecules of these compounds have completely different properties. Optimal ways of obtaining such molecules are of great importance. Thanks to the achievements in this field of chemistry, modern pharmaceutical industry and then some exist in our world today.

 

 

25.01.18, Success stories

Seen by: 318

Серик Жумагазы

В лабораторию профессора Стивена Булла Серик Жумагазы (21 год) попал, выиграв конкурс научно-образовательного фонда им. академика Шахмардана Есенова. За 3 месяца стажировки студенту КазНУ им. аль-Фараби удалось внести свой скромный вклад в развитие органической химии.

Как Вы пришли к изучению химии?
В 7 классе я увлекался ракетостроением, и тогда же начал читать про то, как сделать топливо для самодельной ракеты. Ясное дело, что там была сплошная химия. Так во мне проявилась страсть к химии, а ракеты ушли на второй план. Химия понравилась мне сразу. В отличие от математики или физики, в химии нет строгих правил и законов, или по крайней мере их очень мало. Химия, особенно органическая – наука необъятная и безграничная, по мне так она обворожительна. (смеется)

Что интересного для Вас произошло во время грантового конкурса фонда?
Сбор и подача документов мне запомнятся надолго. Я буквально в самый последний момент выслал весь пакет документов. И конечно, всеми нами любимый очный (второй) тур также был интересен. Достойнейшие соперники и интересные задания пробудили во мне азарт. После 2 тура я открыл в себе некоторые черты, о которых раньше не подозревал. И, в конце концов, мы все просто интересно провели время во время финального тура конкурса.

В чем заключалась Ваша стажировка?
Исследовательский проект, в котором я участвовал, состоял в открытии нового метода синтеза целого класса органических молекул. Они очень полезны, но их сложно получить. Молекулы эти имеют большое прикладное значение, начиная с медицины и фармацевтики и заканчивая сельским хозяйством. Эти соединения широко используются для синтеза некоторых биологически активных веществ, удобрений и т.д.

Чего Вы добились?
Несмотря на то, что не многие опыты прошли успешно, а завершить проект к концу моей трехмесячной стажировки не удалось, мы с моими коллегами нашли оптимальные условия проведения всех химических реакций. С большим количеством времени, можно было бы получить все целевые продукты из соответствующих исходных реагентов. В целом, результаты апробирования метода можно назвать успешными, хотя на определенных этапах были проблемы. По окончанию стажировки, я научился работать на современных приборах, которые используются сейчас в  синтетической органической химии и интерпретировать полученные данные. Я улучшил свои экспериментальные навыки, научился быстро искать и эффективно работать с научными статьями. Думаю, что я вырос как исследователь, будущий ученый. Велика вероятность, что мое имя будет включено в список авторов научной статьи, которая выйдет в научном журнале по завершению проекта.

Что дальше, Серик?
Что до моих личных приоритетов, то главный вот: я сейчас стараюсь поступить и в магистерские, и в докторские программы. Дальше будет видно. В будущем планирую исследовать феномен асимметрического катализа. Простыми словами, как и люди, многие сложные органические соединения являются «правшами» или «левшами», и вследствие этого, молекулы этих соединений имеют абсолютно разные свойства. Оптимальные пути получения таких молекул имеют большую важность. Именно благодаря достижениям в этой области химии, существует современная фарминдустрия и не только она.

 

 

25.01.18, Истории успеха

Просмотров: 743