Saken Sydykov

Specialization: Information Systems. Training: Make School, USA.

Saken is from Kyzylorda, he is 24, and in the winter of 2017 he won the competition nFactorial Challenge, that Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation carried out jointly with Arman Suleimenov’s Zero II One Labs. 8-weeks training at one of the best schools for developers in the World — Make School in San Francisco — became the award for Saken. But before that, there were study at Republican school of physics and mathematics and study and work at the Kazakh-British Technical University, where he developed his first application.

How did you win the contest?
The competition was held in two stages in three cities — Astana, Almaty and Karaganda. We had to present the project (problem-solution-market-monetization) and tell a few words about ourselves in just 2 minutes. I presented “Four” — the game I developed. As a result, the jury chose me as the winner in Almaty.

How and what were you taught in the US?
The school had three areas: games, apps and VR (virtual reality). I chose the mobile games section. The training was online based and if there were questions we could always press the instructor’s call button. Every day we have cloned such popular games as Flappy Bird, Angry Birds, Timberman, etc. Training was pretty easy, the tasks were constructed with increasing levels of complexity.  In the beginning, we created the simplest games, and in the end we made games using artificial intelligence. Another interesting element of the training was the daily “Stand up’s”.  Every morning we were in a circle, and the instructor asked us three simple questions: what did we do yesterday, what do we plan for today, and the third question was random, it changed every time. In addition to studying on the online platform, we had open lectures and events.  The lectures were not boring at all, all had their practical sense. For example, they could distribute stationery and ask us to come up with a game using them. I want to note the attitude of our mentors towards us – students: they always listened carefully to the question and clearly answered. We developed mobile applications, games and applications based on virtual reality. My choice fell on the development of games.

What did you learn there?
We were taught not only to code, but also to work in a team. I remember one day we were all asked to close our laptops, and we were divided into groups. The task for each was to copy what was in the next room. Only one member of a team could enter this room, and based on his/her description, we had to recreate what was seen there. I was surprised at how much learning can be fun and funny. I didn’t become a super coder after school, but I realized that it was not only about cool ability to code, but about loving what you do. Love what you do, do what you love. One more simple skill that I learned there, I find particularly valuable. We were taught how to properly formulate search requests on the Internet. Before you contact the instructor, you need to correctly ask the network, and if there is no answer, contact him. Also I consolidated my independence and learned to ask the right questions.

What are your achievements at the end of training?
At the end, I finalized and launched my mobile game “Round the World” for iOS with more than 2000 downloads from China. I understood how you can develop games locally for the foreign market, you need only a computer and the Internet. On arrival, I gathered the team “Fade in”, where we are already working with the game Animja.  I learned how to make games for iPhone and run them in the App Store.

17.04.18, Success stories

Seen by: 989

Сакен Сыдыков

Специализация: информационные системы. Обучение: Make School, США.

Сакен из Кызылорды, ему 24, и зимой 2017 года он выиграл конкурс nFactorial Challenge, который научно-образовательный фонд им. Ш.Есенова провел вместе с Zero II One Labs Армана Сулейменова. Наградой для Сакена стало 8-недельное обучение в одной из лучших школ для разработчиков в мире — Make School, что находится в Сан-Франциско. Но до этого в его жизни была республиканская физико-математическая школа, учеба и работа в Казахстанско-Британском техническом университете, в котором он создал свое первое приложение.

Как Вы выиграли конкурс?
Конкурс проходил в два этапа и в трех городах: Астана,  Алматы и Караганда. За 2 минуты нам нужно было представить проект (проблема-решение-рынок-монетизация) и рассказать пару слов о себе. Моим проектом была игра “Four”. По итогам члены жюри выбрали меня победителем в Алматы.

Как и чему Вас обучали в США?
В школе было три направления: игры, приложения и VR (виртуальная реальность). Я выбрал секцию мобильных игр. Обучение шло онлайн на их платформе, и если были вопросы, мы всегда могли нажать кнопку вызова инструктора. Ежедневно мы клонировали такие популярные игры, как Flappy Bird, Angry Birds, Timberman и др. Обучение шло довольно легко, задания были построены с возрастающим уровнем сложности.  В начале мы создавали самые простые игры, а в конце уже делали игры с использованием искусственного интеллекта. Еще одним любопытным элементом обучения были ежедневные «Stand Up’s».  Каждое утро мы становились в круг, и инструктор задавал нам три простых вопроса:  что делали вчера, что планируем на сегодня  и третий вопрос, который каждый раз менялся, он мог быть о чем угодно. Кроме обучения на онлайн платформе, у нас были открытые лекции и мероприятия.  Лекции были не скучными, все имели свой практический смысл. Например, нам могли раздать канцелярские предметы и попросить придумать игру. Отдельно хочется отметить отношение преподавателя к ученику: они всегда внимательно слушали вопрос и доходчиво на него отвечали. Мы разрабатывали мобильные приложения, игры и приложения на основе виртуальной реальности. Мой выбор пал на разработку игр.

Чему Вы там научились? Нас обучали не только программировать, но и  работать в команде. Я помню, в один день нас всех попросили закрыть ноутбуки, и разделили нас на группы. Задачей каждой было скопировать то, что находилось в соседней комнате. В эту комнату мог зайти только один участник из команды, и основываясь на его описании, мы должны были воссоздать увиденное им. Я удивился тому, насколько обучение может быть забавным и веселым. Программировать “бомбически” после школы я не стал, но понял, что в создании проекта важно не только умение круто кодить, но и любить то, что ты делаешь. Люби то, что делаешь, делай то, что любишь. Один простой навык, которому я там обучился, я считаю особо ценным. Нас научили правильно формулировать запросы в интернете. Прежде, чем обратиться к инструктору, нужно правильно спросить сеть, а уже, если ответа там не найдется, обращаться к нему. Так я закрепил свою самостоятельность и научился задавать правильные вопросы.

Что, считаете, можно назвать Вашими достижениями по итогам обучения? Я разработал и запустил свою мобильную игру “Round the World” для iOS. Собрал более 2000 загрузок с Китая. Я понял, как можно разрабатывать игры локально для зарубежного рынка, нужен лишь компьютер и интернет. По приезду я собрал команду “Fade In”, в ней мы работаем уже с запущенной игрой Animja.  Я научился делать игры для iPhone и запускать их в App Store.

 

17.04.18, Истории успеха

Просмотров: 994