Lyazzat Zhanshayeva

The student of 22 y.o., she was born in Atyrau and, graduated from the Zhautykov  National physics and mathematics school. She studies at Nazarbayev University. Thanks to the Foundation’s grant in the summer of 2015 she undertook a research internship at the University of California in the School of Engineering and Applied Science by Department of  Mechanical Engineering and Astronautics.

1. Why did you choose this field as your speciality in the University?

At school I was passionate about exact sciences — mathematics and physics especially. Then I  was accepted in KBTU in Oil and Gas and Nazarbayev University at the same time. And I entered the latter university because I was more interested in the engineering profession. Moreover, the specialty covers the whole production cycle — from design to quality management. Later I had to choose between chemical, electrical, civil and mechanical engineering and realized that I prefer mechanical engineering.

2. What was most difficult part in grant competition?

To find a professor with the topic suitable to mine. I probably wrote over 100 emails, 80% of which left unanswered. Also, at first I was invited to the California Institute of Technology, but later because of internal problems in the University, they informed me that Caltech is not able to accept me. Therefore, at the end of April I had to start my search for the US laboratory virtually from scratch. Fortunately, I received 3 invitations (not without the help of a member of the Board of Trustees Eldar Akhmetgaliev), including an invitation from Caltech, again.

3. Any memorable experience that happened during internship in America?

Certainly I was interested in everything: people, culture, country, city, University and, of course, an internship itself. I studied the subject that occupied me in the past: mechanics of deformable solids. The practical significance of this theme is in the possibility of applying the results of its study in defectoscopy/nondestructive testing. In personal terms, of course, the cities and places I visited left a lasting impression.

4. How would you describe the impact of the internship to you personally?

The experience gained and the results achieved during the internship helped me to better understand what I would like to study after getting the bachelor’s degree. I will continue to study the mechanics of deformable solids. I think, those good relationships with Professor Azhit Small, University staff and students from different countries will between all of us during the internship in America — they all will stand me in a good stead.

20.10.17, Success stories

Seen by: 256

Ляззат Жаншаева

Студентке 22, она родилась в Атырау, закончила республиканскую физико-математическую школу им. Жаутыкова и учится в Nazarbayev University. Летом 2015 года она по гранту фонда осуществила научную стажировку в Калифорнийском университете в Лос-Анжелесе в Школе инженерии и прикладной науки департамента механической инженерии и космонавтики.

1. Почему Вы выбрали именно эту специальность в вузе?

Cо школы я была увлечена точными науками — математикой и физикой. Поступила в КБТУ на нефтегазовое дело и Nazarbayev University. Поскольку меня больше заинтересовала инженерная специальность, я начала учиться в последнем. Тем более, что специальность эта охватывает весь цикл от проектирования  до управления качеством. Позже я выбирала между химической, электрической, гражданской и механической инженерией и поняла, что мне по душе механическая инженерия  – машиностроение.

2. Что было для Вас самым сложным в конкурсе на стажировку?

Самым сложным было найти профессора с подходящей для меня темой. Я, наверное, написала более 100 имейлов, 80% которых остались без ответа. Также, был момент: сначала меня пригласили в Калифорнийский технологический институт, но потом из-за внутренних проблем в самом университете, сообщили, что не могут меня принять. Поэтому, в конце апреля мне пришлось начать поиск лаборатории в США фактически с нуля. К счастью, мне пришло 3 приглашения (не без помощи члена Попечительского совета фонда Эльдара Ахметгалиева), включая и приглашение от Калифорнийского технологического, который вновь меня пригласил.

3. Что интересного происходило во время стажировки в Америке?

Мне, разумеется, было интересно все: люди, культура, страна, город, университет и, собственно, стажировка. Во время стажировки, я изучала тему, которая занимала меня  и ранее: механика деформируемого твердого тела. Практическое значение этой темы в возможности применения результатов ее изучения в дефектоскопии. В личном плане, конечно, неизгладимое впечатление оставили путешествия по городам США.

4. Итоги стажировки для Вас лично?

Полученный опыт и достигнутые результаты в ходе стажировки помогли мне лучше понять, что я хочу изучать после получения степени бакалавра. Я буду и дальше изучать механику деформируемого твердого тела. Считаю, не лишними будут и те хорошие отношения с профессором Ажитом Малом, сотрудниками университета и студентами разных стран, которые установились между всеми нами во время стажировки в Америке.

20.10.17, Истории успеха

Просмотров: 209