Laura Kaliyeva

Laura is 23, she is from Aktobe. Even during the Bachelor’ studies, she was engaged in scientific research. The future chemist won our competition for research internship in the UK and spent it from June to September of 2017 at the Open University.

When was your first interest in chemistry born? When did you decide that you would be a chemist?
I can’t say exactly when, but maybe it began at school. For me, much more of the flip was the emergence of interest in scientific researches. In the summer preceded my final year, my professor invited me to work on the some project. By that time I had already decided that after graduation I would go to work in the oil and gas sector, that the research is not mine, it’s boring and only for some geniuses. However the professor proved that research is not difficult and even entertaining to some extent, and most importantly, he inspired me to such an extent that now I don’t see myself in any other field except science.

How difficult was a contest for you? And why?
On the one hand a program I applied for was just launched for the first time, and the selection process was not carried out in the usual way — without an interview and business games. The documents sent have been considered by the Fund and the in the Open University. On the other hand, it is not easy for the one to impress others only by Application, without the possibility to demonstrate himself personally.

What were you doing at the internship in Milton Keynes?
I did my research at the Smart Materials Group, at the Department of Engineering and Innovation of the Open University. The project which I worked on was associated with the use of graphene oxide in perovskite solar cells. It was about efficiency. Perovskites are very popular research topic in the field of solar energy. My task was to identify the pattern of influence of nitrogen impurities on the electronic properties of graphene oxide. Towards the end of the internship I made a presentation on the outcomes for all the employees of the laboratory. And in the end of the internship my supervisor – Dr Satheesh Krishnamurthy invited me to join a group of three students at a seminar at University College London, where I was able to learn about the latest innovations and solar energy projects.

What have you achieved during the internship?
The results of the experiments could not be considered as definitely positive. We observed a clear influence of nitrogen on the properties of graphene oxide, but we did not reveal a clear improvement or deterioration of the material properties. In order to publish the results of the project, it is necessary to obtain a certain pattern. The influence of our graphene oxide on the efficiency of the batteries should be checked on special solar simulators after the whole battery will be fully assembled, but this is a topic for a separate scientific project.

What’s next?
Now I communicate with American professors, under whose supervision I would like to work. I plan to get a PhD in the States, I want to become an expert in this field. I would like to continue working with graphene, Rice University and Georgia Tech actively carry out researches of the material at the moment. This internship helped me a lot, it is not just a line in my CV; I got an experience and gained skills of work with equipment, which I had not before. The internship is very valuable and may be the decisive factor for accepting me as a PhD student. Moreover the internship helped me to understand my own interests and goals and to become more confident.

 

 

 

15.12.17, Success stories

Seen by: 665

Лаура Калиева

Лауре 23, она из Актобе,  и еще во время бакалавриата девушка занималась научными исследованиями. Будущий химик выиграла в конкурсе научных стажировок в Великобритании фонда им. Ш.Есенова и с июня по сентябрь 2017 года провела в The Open University.

Когда в Вас проснулся первый интерес к химии и когда решили, что будете химиком?
Точно сказать не могу, но возможно он начался в школе. Для меня куда более переворотным было появление интереса к науке, исследованиям. Летом перед последним курсом мой профессор пригласил меня поработать над одним проектом. К тому времени я уже решила, что после учёбы непременно пойду работать в нефтегазовую сферу, что исследования – это не моё, это скучно и по плечу только каким-то гениям. Но профессор мне показал, что исследования – это не сложно и очень занимательно, а главное, он вдохновил меня до такой степени, что сейчас я не вижу себя ни в какой другой сфере, кроме науки.

Сложным ли был для Вас конкурс? Почему?
С одной стороны программа, по которой я ездила, открылась в этом году впервые, и отбор проходил не так, как обычно: без интервью и без деловых игр. Пакет документов рассматривали в фонде и после в The Open University. С другой стороны, не так легко произвести впечатление на людей одной только заявкой, без возможности показать себя.

Чем Вы занимались на стажировке в английском Милтон Кинзе?
Я стажировалась в Smart  Materials  group,  на факультете инжиниринга и инноваций The Open University. Проект, над которым я работала, был связан с применением оксида графена в перовскитных солнечных батареях. Речь шла о повышении их эффективности. Перовскиты сейчас очень популярная тема исследований в сфере солнечной энергетики. Моей задачей было выявить закономерность влияния азотных примисей на электронные свойства оксида графена. Ближе к концу стажировки я сделала презентацию о результатах работы для всех сотрудников лаборатории. А в конце стажировки мой куратор профессор Сатиш Кришнамурти пригласил меня в составе группы из трех студентов на семинар  в University College London, где мне удалось узнать о последних инновациях и проектах по солнечной энергетике.

Чего Вы добились за время стажировки?
Результаты экспериментов нельзя однозначно назвать положительными, мы наблюдали явное влияние азота на свойства оксида графена, но мы так и не выявили четкого улучшения или ухудшения свойств материала. Чтобы результаты проекта можно было  опубликовать, необходимо получить некую закономерность. Влияние нашего оксида графена на эффективность батареек необходимо проверить на специальных солнечных симуляторах после того, как вся батарея будет собрана полностью, но это уже задача для отдельного проекта.

Что дальше?
Сейчас я общаюсь с американскими профессорами, под руководством которых хотела бы работать. Планирую получить степень PhD в Штатах, хочу стать экспертом в этой области. Хотелось бы продолжить работать с графеном, а в этой сфере активно ведутся исследования в Rice University и Georgia Tech. Мне помогла эта стажировка, она не просто стоит строчкой в моём резюме, я получила хороший опыт и обрела навыки работы на оборудовании, которых у меня не было. А это очень ценно и их наличие, возможно, станет решающим фактором для принятия меня на позицию студента-докторанта. А еще стажировка помогла мне понять свои интересы и цели, стать увереннее.

 

 

15.12.17, Истории успеха

Просмотров: 424