Kulyash Zhumadilova

A 22-year-old Nazarbayev University graduate, originally from Shymkent, Kulyash is studying molecular and structural biology. She performed her research during summer of 2014 at the Center for Structural Biology, Lawrence Berkley National Laboratory. This summer, as a recipient of Philips Kazakhstan LLP scholarship, Kulyash joined the EIT summer school in Digital High Tech Campus (Eindhoven, The Netherlands), where she will learn how to create startups in the field of healthcare.

1. Why did you choose Molecular Biology as your major in the University?

I was always attracted to science for its ability to explain the world. However, I did not realize the focus of my work until after studying anatomy and physiology in school. That is when I began a more thorough study of biology and participate in the Olympiads. At Nazarbayev University I focused on molecular biology. Today in biology the whole emphasis is on understanding the molecular processes of cell and how these processes affect cell growth, development or its illness. The specialty requires an interdisciplinary approach, so I started to study physics and mathematics. Structural biology – the scope of my project – studies the structure of molecules and their functions accordingly, which is the synthesis of biology, physics and mathematics.

2. What was the most difficult part in the competition?

Waiting for the results, I guess. As we were given an explanation at the beginning of the qualifying stage, the Foundation has its own understanding of which candidate should be on board, and which not. So I decided to just be myself. For the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation it was the first cohort of the Research Internships program participants.

3. Can you recall any memorable experience that happened during the internships?

There are just so many! I was lucky enough to be in the campus of the University of California at Berkeley. I attended various seminars and was fortunate to attend the lectures of Nobel laureates in physics – Saul Perlmutter and George Smoot. I loved the atmosphere in the laboratory, the new knowledge, experimentation, and most importantly, the people. It was very interesting to chat with scientists, researchers, and local students. Also we were pleasantly surprised by San Francisco that is just across the Bay. We went on a small tour with the fellow students of the University of California, visiting Stanford and Caltech.

4. How would you describe the impact of the internship on you personally?

I think I grew up personally and professionally. I understand now what it means to work in a laboratory not only during the working day but as long as it is required by the experiment. Learning how to plan my time, work in a team, and to navigate quickly in an unfamiliar space are other lessons that I have learned in the States. The very dynamics in the Berkeley sets the right mood. Culture wise I also acquired a lot: made new friends and even a little got infected by the freedom of Californians.

23.10.17, Success stories

Seen by: 335

Куляш Жумадилова

22-летняя выпускница Nazarbayev University родом из Шымкента изучает молекулярную и структурную биологию. Научную стажировку прошла летом 2014 года в Центре cтруктурной биологии при Lawrence National Laboratory в Беркли. Этим летом, как получатель стипендии от Philips Kazakhstan LLP, Куляш присоединилась к летней школе EIT Digital в High Tech Campus Eindhoven (Нидерланды), где будет учиться создавать стартапы в сфере здравоохранения.

1. Почему Вы выбрали именно эту специальность в вузе?

Меня всегда привлекали естественные науки своей способностью объяснить мир вокруг. Но на чем сфокусироваться, я поняла лишь после изучения анатомии и физиологии в школе. И тогда я стала изучать биологию более глубоко, участвовать в олимпиадах. В Nazarbayev University сосредоточилась на молекулярной биологии. Сегодня в биологии весь упор идет на понимание молекулярных процессов клетки и как это влияет на ее рост, развитие или болезнь. Специальность требует междисциплинарного подхода, поэтому я стала изучать также физику и математику. Структурная биология – сфера проекта моей стажировки – изучает структуру молекул и соответсвенно их функции, это как раз синтез биологии, физики и математики.

2. Что было самым сложным в конкурсе на стажировку?

Наверное, ожидание результатов. Как нам пояснили в начале отборочного этапа, фонд имеет свое понимание того, какой кандидат проходит дальше, какой — нет. Для фонда это был первый отбор стажировщиков. Поэтому я решила быть просто самой собой.

3. Что интересного происходило во время стажировки в Америке?

О, очень много всего! Мне повезло находиться в кампусе Университета Калифорнии в Беркли. Я посещала различные семинары и лекции, посчастливилось побывать на лекциях Нобелевских лауреатов по физике Саула Перлмуттера и Джорджа Смута. Очень понравилась атмосфера в самой лаборатории. Новые знания, эксперименты, а главное люди. Было очень интересно общаться с учеными, исследователями и местными студентами. В свободное время я гуляла по эвкалиптовой роще  университета, посаженной еще в начале прошлого века. Приятно удивил и Сан-Франциско, находящийся через залив. С ребятами мы совершили маленький тур по университетам Калифорнии, посетив Стэнфорд и Калифорнийский политехнический.

4. Итоги стажировки для Вас лично?

Мне кажется, я выросла в личностном и профессиональном плане. Поняла, что значит работать в лаборатории не только в течении рабочего дня, а столько, сколько того требует эксперимент. Как планировать время, работать к команде, и при этом быстро ориентироваться в незнакомом пространстве, обстановке — этому я тоже научилась в Штатах. Сама динамика университета в Беркли настраивает на нужный лад. В  культурном плане я тоже очень много приобрела: завела новых друзей и немножко заразилась свободолюбием калифорнийцев.

23.10.17, Истории успеха

Просмотров: 172