Dinmukhamed Shakhman

Specialty: Chemistry. Yessenov Scholarship Recipient.

The hero of our story is a 21-year-old from Almaty. He often plays table tennis, does jogging and fitness, and is fond of anime. This helps him to relax between studying chemistry and working in the laboratory. In 2018 Dinmukhamed won a scholarship from the Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation, and in early 2019 he was among the winners in the foundation’s Research Internships Program. This summer he will have two interesting internships: in Canada and in France.

Why is chemistry so interesting to You?
All those things that surround us and significantly improve our quality of life (medicine, food industry, perfumes, cosmetics, etc.), were developed largely because of chemistry. Since my early childhood, I have been interested in how different substances are synthesized: medicines, sweets, cosmetic products. For this reason, I started studying chemistry and participating in various competitions at the age of 12. Over the years, this science has become more interesting to me, and now I am focused on organic chemistry.

What advice would you give to a participant in a Yessenov Foundation competition?
When I went to university, I asked myself: “What do you need to get from university, in addition to a good GPA, to have an advantage in your future career?” I realized that doing scientific internships plays a key role in successful employment or getting onto masters- and doctoral programs. I applied for the Yessenov Foundation’s summer internship program and won the grant. I would advise future participants to plan their way to the goal. For example, if you want to win in any competition, take steps to improve your resume in advance (and actively participate in academic and volunteer activities), raise your GPA, consult with more experienced colleagues.

How did the Foundation scholarship help you?
It allowed me to spend more time on studies and research, as I did not have to earn extra money, and made it easier to pay for expenses during the summer internship in South Korea in 2018.

What do you expect from the internship?
In Canada, I will continue with the project which I have been working on for several months in the laboratory at Nazarbayev University. This topic (optimization of conditions for the use of a new catalyst) is very interesting to me, and it is for this reason that I decided to continue my scientific work under the guidance of one of the world’s strongest professors in this field – Georgy Nikonov. As for the internship at the Institute of Chemistry in Nice — this is my childhood dream. I was interested in the chemistry of fragrances — it’s about the synthesis of new perfumes, cosmetics, etc. I’m also interested to know why different people and animals “interpret” smells differently. And chemistry explains that too.

12.04.19, Success stories

Seen by: 638

Динмухамед Шахман

Специальность: химия. Обладатель стипендии Есенова.

Герою материала 21, он из Алматы. Он часто играет в настольный теннис, занимается бегом и фитнесом, увлекается аниме. Это помогает ему отдыхать в перерывах между изучением химии и работой в лаборатории. В 2018 году Динмухамед выиграл стипендиальный конкурс фонда им. академика Ш.Есенова, а в начале 2019 оказался в числе победителей программы научных стажировок фонда. Этим летом его ждут сразу две интересные стажировки: в Канаде и во Франции.

Почему именно химия Вам так интересна?
Все те вещи, которые нас окружают и значительно улучшают качество жизни (медицина, пищевая промышленность, парфюмерия, косметика и т.д.), развивались в большей степени благодаря химии. Еще с раннего детства мне было интересно, каким образом синтезируются различные вещества: лекарства, сладости, косметические продукты. По этой причине я начал заниматься химией и участвовать в различных олимпиадах с 12 лет. С годами, эта наука становится для меня все более интересной, сейчас я сфокусировался на органической химии.

Что можете посоветовать тем, кто хочет участвовать в конкурсах фонда?
Поступив в университет, я задался вопросом: «Что нужно получить в университете, помимо хорошего GPA, чтобы иметь преимущество в дальнейшей карьере?». Я понял, что для успешного трудоустройства или поступления на магистратуру и докторантуру ключевую роль играет наличие научных стажировок. Я подал на программу летних стажировок фонда им. Есенова и выиграл грант. Будущим участникам я бы хотел посоветовать планировать свой путь к цели. Например, если решили выиграть в каком-либо конкурсе, начинайте заранее готовить резюме (активно участвуйте в академических и волонтерных активностях), поднимайте свой GPA, советуйтесь с более опытными коллегами.

Чем помогла Вам стипендия фонда?
Она позволила мне тратить больше времени на учебу и научную деятельность, так как не приходилось подрабатывать, и облегчила оплату расходов во время летней стажировки в Южной Корее в 2018 году.

Что ожидаете от стажировки? Расскажите, пожалуйста, почему именно этой темой Вы будете заниматься?
В Канаде я продолжу проект, над которым работаю на протяжении нескольких месяцев в лаборатории Назарбаев Университета. Данная тема (оптимизация условий для применения нового катализатора) мне очень интересна, и именно по этой причине я решил продолжить научную работу под руководством одного из сильнейших в мире профессоров в данной сфере Георгия Никонова. Что касается стажировки в институте Химии в Ницце — это моя детская мечта. Я интересовался химией ароматизаторов — речь о синтезе новых парфюмов, косметики и т.д. Мне также интересно узнать, почему разные люди и животные «слышат» запахи по-разному. И это тоже объясняет химия.

12.04.19, Истории успеха

Просмотров: 859