THE FOURTH SEASON CAME TO AN END

The fourth season of “Yessenov Lectures” — guest lectures of Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation — has passed away. About 1300 students from 9 universities of Almaty and Astana met with leading experts in their fields during this academic year. On 13 lectures 15 speakers shared their professional and personal secrets with the audience.

We addressed our questions regarding the outcomes of the season to the coordinator of the Foundation’s projects – Grigory Lee.

Do you think it is possible to call the season successful and why?
Yes, absolutely. For the first time within the framework of “Yessenov Lectures” we cooperated with such universities as KIMEP and the Eurasian National University named after Gumilev in Astana that are interesting from the audience and geography point of view to us. Two more lectures were held in the Kazakh language. In one case, it was Lyailya Sultanqyzy, a TV presenter and producer who is very popular with the audience (especially female). More than 140 listeners came to see her. And when the question-and-answer session started, I’d realised we’d be there for at least two hours. The performance of Zhalgas Serimbetov, a biologist and a PhD candidate from the University of Manchester was brilliant as well. He spoke about the role of enzymes in the production of medicines before students of KazNMU named after Asfendiyarov. Two more lectures were held in English. In one case it was Madeleine Celander, a Sales Manager from Sweden, in another one — a PhD candidate in chemistry Almagul Zhanaidarova.

The audience of 1300 listeners is not a bad indicator, but what about those who could not come to the lectures?
The value of lectures is really high, because we always invite high-level professionals who share their experience, the latest news and life hacks in their field. Therefore, a long time ago we have decided that all the “Yessenov Lectures” will be recorded, edited and posted on the Internet. As soon as a lecture is ready, we issue a teaser, and then provide the audience with a link to the full lecture. All “Lectures” are stored on our YouTube channel. Everyone has the opportunity at any time to go and see the material he or she is interested in.

How come that you held 13 lectures, but the number of lecturers is 15? Meaning, that more than one expert took part in some of “Yessenov Lectures”?
Right. Educational center InterTest invited us to speak at the KIMEP in the “Find Your Way” project. The audience was mostly 9-11 graders. We thought that it would be interesting for them to see that success can be achieved regardless the discipline chosen as specialization. Therefore, we offered five participants of our research internships in the world laboratories and represented different fields of study to act as motivators, to inspire high school students to achieve more. Each speaker presented for 10 minutes, and in the end the schoolchildren received much more information than if they had to listen to one speaker from one field for the whole hour. There were a lot of questions at the end, and we realized that the guys lit in the audience and the desire to do something with their lives, not to sit idly and not to let the grass grow under their feet. This is important.

Whose lectures of this season would you recommend both — those who are planning to work in the same field as the lecturer does and those who are just trying to find their way in life?
Of course, it is difficult to single out anyone. But, for example, I learned a lot from the speech of Deputy Chairman of the Management Board of “ATF Bank” – Sergey Kovalenko. His topic was “What kind of people business is looking for?” But behind this lies everything you need to know to, firstly, not to be left without work in the near future, and secondly, to choose a favorite thing to do and enjoy life. And, if you’re talking about passionate people, during the season in their speeches their passion was clearly demonstrated by the Deputy Chief of Design Bureau of space technology “Galam” Arman Bekembayev, co-founder of “Zero To One Labs” Arman Suleimenov and Zhalgas Serimbetov already mentioned above. We have already summed up the results, and immediately after a short holiday with my family, I plan to think about the season 2018-2019, because for the “Yessenov Lectures” it will be the fifth anniversary.

11.05.18, Foundation's news

Seen by: 112

Другие новости

ЧЕТВЕРТЫЙ СЕЗОН «ЕСЕНОВСКИХ…» ПОЗАДИ

Отгремел четвертый сезон «Есеновских чтений» — гостевых лекций научно-образовательного фонда им. академика Ш.Есенова. Около 1300 учащихся 9 вузов Алматы и Астаны повстречались за этот академический год с ведущими экспертами в своих областях. 15 лекторов на 13 лекциях поделились со слушателями своими профессиональными и человеческими секретами.

С вопросами об итогах сезона мы обратились к координатору проектов фонда Григорию Ли.

Как считаете, можно ли назвать сезон успешным и почему?
Да, безусловно. Мы впервые сотрудничали в рамках «Есеновских чтений» с такими интересными для нас с точки зрения аудитории и географии университетами, как КИМЭП и Евразийский национальный им. Л.Гумилева в Астане. Еще две лекции прошли на государственном языке. Причем, в одном случае это была весьма востребованная аудиторией (в особенности женской) телеведущая и продюсер Ляйля Султанкызы. Ее пришло послушать более 140 человек. А когда началась секция вопросов-ответов, я понял, что мы задержимся здесь минимум на два часа. Блестяще выступил и биолог Жалгас Серимбетов, PhD кандидат из Манчестерского университета. Слушателям в КазНМУ им. Асфендиярова он рассказал о роли ферментов в производстве лекарств. Еще две встречи прошли на английском. В одном случае это была Мадлен Селандер, менеджер по продажам из Швеции, в другом – PhD кандидат по химии Алмагуль Жанайдарова.

Аудитория в 1300 слушателей — неплохой показатель, но как быть тем, кто не смог прийти на встречи?
Ценность лекций действительно высока, т.к. мы приглашаем всегда профессионалов высокого уровня, которые делятся своим опытом, самыми последними новостями и лайфхаками из своей сферы. Поэтому мы давно уже решили, что все лекции «Есеновских чтений» будем записывать на видео, монтировать и выкладывать в интернете. Как только лекции готовы, мы выдаем тизер, а после и ссылки на них. Все «Чтения» хранятся на нашем YouTube-канале. У всех есть возможность в любое время зайти и просмотреть заинтересовавший его или ее материал.

Как так: встреч у вас прошло 13, а лекторов 15? Значит, в каких-то «Чтениях» выступал больше чем 1 профессионал?
Так и было. Образовательный центр InterTest нас пригласили выступить в КИМЭПе в проекте Find Your Way. Аудиторией были школьники 9-11 классов. Мы, подумав, решили, что им будет интересно увидеть, что успеха можно добиться вне зависимости от того, какую дисциплину они выбрали в качестве основной. Поэтому предложили сразу пятерым участникам нашей программы научных стажировок в мировых лабораториях выступить мотиваторами, вдохновить старшеклассников на большее. Каждому выделили 10 минут, и в итоге школьники получили за все выступление гораздо больше информации, чем, если бы перед ними целый час выступал представитель одной профессии. Вопросов по завершению было много, и мы поняли, что ребята зажгли в слушателях желание что-то предпринять со своей жизнью, не сидеть, сложа руки и не ждать у моря погоды. А это главное.

Чьи лекции этого сезона Вы бы рекомендовали посмотреть, как тем, кто планирует работать в той же сфере, что и лектор, так и тем, кто просто ищет себя в этой жизни?
Разумеется, выделить кого-либо сложно. Но, к примеру, для себя я почерпнул много из выступлений заместителя Председателя правления АО «АТФ Банк» Сергея Коваленко. Его тема — «Каких людей ищет бизнес?». Но за ней скрывается все, что нужно знать, чтобы, во-первых, в принципе не остаться без работы в недалеком будущем, во-вторых, выбрать любимое дело и получать удовольствие от жизни. И, если уж говорить об увлеченных людях, то в этом сезоне ярче всего свою увлеченность во время своих выступлений продемонстрировали заместитель начальника конструкторского бюро космической техники «Галам» Арман Бекембаев, со-основатель Zero To One Labs Арман Сулейменов и уже упомянутый выше Жалгас Серимбетов. Итоги мы уже подвели, а сразу после небольшого отпуска с семьей, я планирую обдумать сезон 2018-2019 гг, ведь, он будет для «Есеновских чтений» пятым, юбилейным.

11.05.18, Новости фонда

Просмотров: 113

Другие новости