17 GRANTS INSTEAD OF 10!

November 5 is a start date of a competition for research internships programs in laboratories of the world. This year, Shakhmardan Yessenov Foundation provides an opportunity to 17 undergraduate students, graduate students and current research workers instead of 10 to spend quality summer at the world’s best universities.

We talked to the Foundation’s program manager, Roumisa Bashaeva, to ask several questions.

— First of all, how did the Foundation come to increase the number of scholarships, given the fact that on average one scholarship costs it about 7 thousand dollars, which means you faced a significant increase in the budget?

— This became possible because we decided to combine our three research scholarship programs in laboratories – for undergraduate students (10 grants), for specialists (2 grants) and the UK (5 grants). The selection process and goals of all these programs are identical, only the target audience differed. Therefore, we decided that it would make sense to combine them into one program.

— Do you have an internal breakdown of these 17 grants, or may it become that all of them will go, for example, to undergraduate students?

— We decided that 10 scholarships should be allocated to 2-3 year undergraduate students, while the other 7 grants should be given to senior undergraduate students, graduate students and current researchers. In the selection process, we will not compare graduate candidates with bachelors, and vice versa. Each candidate will be evaluated under their scholarship category. But we reserve the right to redistribute scholarships, depending on the results, which participants will demonstrate at the second stage of selection (selection through training). So it may well be that 11 bachelors and 6 undergraduates or researchers will be the winners. Participants at both stages will be evaluated by an expert council led by a member of the board of trustees, Eldar Akhmetgaliyev, a graduate of the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology and Caltech, a doctor of science and a startupper working in the USA.

It should be noted that from 2013 through 2018 the competition of the research scholarship program of Yessenov Foundation was attended by 529 applicants. For 5 years, 49 contestants became winners of the program, they all had the opportunity to work in the best laboratories and with the best professors of universities in Japan and the USA, Switzerland and the United Kingdom, Sweden and Korea, Australia and Singapore.

24.10.18, Foundation's news

Seen by: 834

Другие новости

17 ГРАНТОВ ВМЕСТО 10!

5 ноября стартует конкурс программы научных стажировок в лабораториях мира. В этом году  научно-образовательный фонд им. академика Шахмардана Есенова предоставляет возможность уже не 10, а 17 студентам бакалавриата, магистратуры и действующим научным сотрудникам провести лето с пользой в лучших университетах мира.

С несколькими вопросами по конкурсу мы обратились к менеджеру программ фонда Роумисе Башаевой.

— Прежде всего, как фонду удалось увеличить число грантов, ведь в среднем одна стажировка обходится ему в сумму порядка 7 тысяч долларов, а значит речь шла о значительном увеличении бюджета?

— Это стало возможным, потому что мы приняли решение объединить три наши программы научных стажировок в лабораториях — для студентов бакалавриата (10 грантов), для специалистов (2 гранта) и Великобритании (5 грантов). Процесс отбора и цели всех этих программ идентичны,  различалась лишь целевая аудитория. Поэтому мы посчитали, что целесообразным будет объединить их в одну программу.

— Есть ли внутреннее распределение среди этих 17 грантов, или может так оказаться, что все они достанутся, к примеру, студентам бакалавриата?

— Мы решили, что 10 грантов должны предназначаться студентам 2-3 курсов бакалавриата, тогда как 7 остальных грантов— студентам последних курсов бакалавриата, магистрантам и действующим научным сотрудникам. В процессе отбора мы не будем сравнивать кандидатов магистратуры с бакалаврами, и наоборот. Каждый кандидат будет оцениваться  в рамках его грантовой  категории. Но мы сохраняем за собой право перераспределить гранты в зависимости от результатов, которые продемонстрируют конкурсанты на втором этапе отбора (отбор через тренинг). Так что вполне может оказаться, что победителями у нас станут 11 бакалавров и 6 магистрантов или научных сотрудников. Оценивать участников на обоих этапах будет экспертный совет во главе с членом попечительского совета фонда Эльдаром Ахметгалиевым, выпускником МФТИ и Калтеха, доктором наук и стартапером, работающим в США.

Напомним, в конкурсе программы научных стажировок фонда им. Ш.Есенова с 2013 по 2018 год приняло участие 529 человек. За 5 лет победителями программы становились 49 человек, все они получили возможность работать в лучших лабораториях и с лучшими профессорами университетов Японии и США, Швейцарии и Великобритании, Швеции и Кореи, Австралии и Сингапура.

24.10.18, Новости фонда

Просмотров: 832

Другие новости